We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get the Mussels!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cru - A Wine Bar

Cru - A Wine Bar
Ranked #44 of 213 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Get the Mussels!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We were relocated for about 15 months to The Woodlands for work. During that time Cru was our favorite place! The food is delicious, especially the mussels. The cheese board is really awesome, too! They have a great wine selection and the staff is always knowledgable and friendly! Thanks for the good times!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    37
    19
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss This...In The Woodlands Tx”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Cru Wine Bar - Market Street on Six Pines Drive - Visit with Chadillac the Wine Tender - for those who cannot sample the wineries of the world. Menu compliments the wine palettes in an admirable way.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank huzurlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good as usual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our family enjoyed visiting Cru many many times and this was no exception. Great service and atmosphere. Love the chocolate fondue.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jcp001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place for a pre-concert get together!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We met some friends at Cru in the Woodlands before the James Taylor concert Saturday night and it was a great choice! The wine flights were awesome and our waitress recommended the perfect cheese combos to complement the wine! In addition to cheese trays, there were a lot of interesting things on the menu including appetizers, salads, entrees, and stone oven pizzas that looked delicious!

The atmosphere was great too; the walls are lined with wine bottles and a "library-style" sliding ladder helps the wait staff reach the bottles up top. Outdoor seating is available, but Houston can be a little muggy in June so we sat inside and enjoyed the AC.

We thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience at Cru and will definitely return next time we're in the Woodlands!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessTripBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Out of cheese….”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We frequent Cru a lot since we live walking distance to the restaurant…our last visit was not so great! Our waiter was really great…manager and chef not so great.

We ordered a starter that had gorgonzola cheese with it. The waiter advised us that they were out of the cheese but could replace the cheese with one of the other cheeses on their menu but had to charge us an additional $6!! Now wait a minute…let me get this straight…you are out of the cheese that is on the menu and want to charge us $6 MORE for a different cheese! Uhhhhh…I don't think so! The manager came over and said that he had no control over the chef…plus there is a HEB walking distance from the restaurant! Send a bus boy over or don't charge us extra!

The waiter was very sorry and could not believe what she had to tell us and went over board to make us happy!

We will not be back to Cru anytime soon….maybe never again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Asia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cru - A Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Cru - A Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing