We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Before the Concert”
Review of Kim Son Cafe - CLOSED

Kim Son Cafe
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: "This is part of the chain of Kim Son restaurants in Houston, TX. This place just opened a few weeks ago".
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
“Great Before the Concert”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is a great place to eat before going to a concert at Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion. Food is very good, and they know you have time constraints. Will definately visit here again the next time I'm in the Woodlands or close by.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    9
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food & service”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This place might actually survive in what has been a loser location for every other restaurant so far.

Food quality and price are about on par with the entire Kim Son enterprise (which we like although the east side original remains my fav in spite of their health dept issues). We went with a Groupon but would go back at full price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
156 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lots of good Asian choices”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Kim Son started as a Vietnamese restaurant downtown. It has continued to expand over the years. When it got to the Woodlands it started featuring all kinds of food. Generally well prepared and reasonable priced. We love the dim sum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank haveenjoyedtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
186 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“It's better...and good”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here twice in the past 3 days. Truly very good. We had eaten here 4 months ago and it was just average. But at my wifes insistence we tried it again, and I'm glad we did. Food was definelity a measurable step better. Service was incredible - both times. Food very flavorful and hot. Kim Son is back on our freqent eat list

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daveHou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not real Vietnamese food, but Americanised”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Had a lunch here expecting some up market Vietnamese food given its location and decor.
However despite the high quality of the fit out, the food was a disappointment.
It was all very nicely presented but seemed more like fusion style cooking rather than Vietnamese.
Perhaps for those looking for that style its a good restaurant but if you are used to real Vietnamese this is not the place. [We have traveled extensively in Vietnam and know our food.]
Also we ordered Cafe Sua Da and questioned the server about the coffee as it did not taste like beans from Vietnam, but of ordinary filter coffee.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kim Son Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing