We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good Customer Interest”
Review of Benihana

Benihana
Reserve with OpenTable
Benihana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #132 of 218 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Six Pines Drive
The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not Good Customer Interest”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I'm not certain how long the air conditioning system was absolutely out in this establishment but assume it is repaired now. During the absolutely sweltering days of August, no air at all. Can you imagine how it was in the kitchen, much less at the hibachi tables? Management would only offer a soft drink. No notice was given to customers when making reservations nor any signage that the system was down. Speaking to someone there, I was told that upper management only wanted to repair the system but the restaurant was going to require new equipment. As it was the corporate office making these decisions, not only did it take an inordinate amount of time to repair and replace, but it seemed corporate wanted the least expensive solution. The worst part was not notifying customers with signage and absolutely no real offer to alleviate the discomfort, which was a serious situation--very, very hot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    17
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
548 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Good Sushi”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We didn't eat in the main dining area but had a quick meal of sushi. It was very good - nothing out of the ordinary, but just right! I always enjoy the fruity, tropical drinks as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 860SusanB860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
552 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Very Good....Great Presentation”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

When you go to Benihana you go for the food preparation show....ours was very good! We had the special....for the majority....filet and chicken. We had a party of seven....the service and food was very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drlehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worst Dining Experience in Years!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We went there for a family celebration on a Saturday about 6:30 p.m. and the restaurant was not crowded at all. We've visited this location several times over the years for special occasions and we've noticed the service and food have been inconsistent, but not bad enough to complain. This visit was exceptionally bad and the worst we've had anywhere in years. The waitress was slow to get our drinks and take our order. Other tables were getting better service. The chef put on a lousy "show" which was disappointing. However, the worst part of our dinner was the food... it had no flavor. The soup tasted like water. The chicken fried rice also had no flavor so we added soy sauce... lots of soy sauce. Even though we watched it being grilled, the zucchini tasted like it was boiled. Our group ordered a variety of main courses. The only one that had any flavor at all was the chateaubriand. Also, our portions were inconsistent. I tried to think of something positive to share and could only think of one thing: the host was very quick to get us our check when they realized we were unhappy with our food and even faster to take our money and get us out of the door. Speaking to the manager was a waste of time, as he offered us more food as we were leaving. That was a solution I hadn't thought of - offering us more flavorless food. A sincere apology showing concern would have gone alot further. We stopped at Sonic on our way home. One more thing - when our chef first came to our table, he asked, "You all ordered cheeseburgers? Is that right?" It was an attempt at humor, but looking back, I wish we had chosen to dine on cheeseburgers elsewhere. For what we paid for our meals, we could have ordered 50 gourmet cheeseburgers at a local diner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom23TeenBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ate like queen.”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My chef was In Lee and my waitress was Nancy. Both did a great job and worked to ensure we had a lovely time there with another couple. Great job as always, everything was tasty.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel2MuchMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Benihana also viewed

 
The Woodlands, TX
The Woodlands, TX
 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing