We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome park” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Mitchell Nature Preserve

George Mitchell Nature Preserve
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The park is beautiful,the bike trails are fun, but I've also experienced unleashed dogs. They actually chased after me on my bike as well and I had to kick one of them.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    36
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“trails thru the woods, nothing exciting except for the dogs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was on my bike and encountered 2 wonderful dog owners that evidently thought they owned they owned the place because their dogs were unleashed - guess I need to start carrying my mace...just in case! Also - why are dogs even allowed here - take them to the million dollar dog parks they built in the Woodlands! I don't mind dogs - its the inconsiderate owners that irritate me!

It would be nice if the trails were marked better - I had to look at my phone to see exactly where I was and still managed to find a trail that took me all the way back to Kuykendahl/Woodlands Parkway.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank expert007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It's the woods, breathe easy and don't be uptight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I live within walking distance to the preserve and go there almost daily, and I would just like to say that I have never experienced an aggressive dog, or an "inconsiderate" dog walker. It's the woods, dogs like the woods. People bike on the pedestrian trails quite often, I guess that is also inconsiderate. There are lots of small divergent trails to get lost on and areas where you can find yourself completely secluded if you choose to go off the main path. Anyway, it's a great place and I find all people and animals back there to be friendly, happy, and understanding and appreciative of nature.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank isingsongs9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Hiking fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

If you are looking for a fun hike this is a place to go. We went on a girl scout outing which was fun. They have a map at the entrance and you can decide on which route to take. You can also jog or just walk the path. It also a small pond which has a sign" Beware of Alligator" which we didn't see any.It is something to see if you like hiking and nature.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank thelma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Time to do something about dogs not on leashes.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Still enjoying the trails, both biking and running. Inconsiderate dog walkers are becoming an issue. For the safety of every person and animal, dogs must be on leashes. It is a shame that some people are potentially ruining this park for others. Hopefully signs will be posted soon reminding everyone about both this courtesy and law.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank VWGTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George Mitchell Nature Preserve also viewed

 

Been to George Mitchell Nature Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing