We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa: Terrible Experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in The Woodlands
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spa: Terrible Experience!!!”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I want to share my terrible experience at the spa in The Woodlands waterway Marriott Hotel. My husband gave me a Facial in the Spa at the woodlands waterway for valentine's day. I filled out my medical history where I specified I was under Retin A. Amanada was the person who did my facial, 5 minutes after she started my facial my face was burning and I let her know, she ran to look for my medical history form and stated " Crap you are under Retin A and I didn't read it"
to make long story shortly, my face was burned, I have to go to the dermatologist to get treatment for a terrible burn, it was very painful and I look like a monster for 2 weeks. I contacted the spa manager that somehow was helpful, she returned my facial spa services, gave me a rfund fpr the money I had to spend at the doctor, I think that is the least they could do, she offered me a free facial, but seriously?? after this experience who wants to get a facial done there. I wanted them to offer another free service but manager refused to do it.
I just want to share my experience so it does not happen again to anyone, and share my dermathologist recommendation, if you need or want a facial go to your dermathologist.

Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank loveamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    186
    76
    28
    15
See reviews for
63
148
21
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

after having a few days at the Hilton Americas in downtown Houston (***), I was pleasantly surprised at coming up to the Mariott for 7 nights for a series of meetings. Seven nights is a long stay, so I got them to give me a good room (king size with water view) which was spacious, quiet and pleasant. The hotel is modern, clean and fresh facilities. The pool was good, the surroundings pleasant for walking with lots of nearby dining and shopping options (walking distance). There were a few minor service slip ups and there ever present problem of doonas (duvets) which were way to hot. I had trouble getting the room temp right for sleeping, balancing the air con and doona. I had 7 nights to experiment and still couldnt get it right!
Wifi (at a cost) supports 3 devices.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guaymas,Sonora
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I went to The Woodlands for a wedding so we stayed at this nice hotel facility for weddings and conventions. The rooms are nice and spacious and with a nice view to the channel. The service very good. We were very pleased to stay at this hotel because the wedding was also celebrated here, so it made it very confortable for the guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the channel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clau M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The Marriott did everything a full service hotel is supposed to do very well. From the moment the valet took our car and the bellman took our bags until we left, we encountered friendly service and first rate accommodations. The room was comfortable (especially the bed and super soft linens) and we had a nice view of the Waterway. The front desk was helpful the next day with getting our marriage license mailed out. I had high expectations of this hotel and they met them. In addition to what's inside the hotel, there's several places to eat and drink within walking distance along the Waterway, plus the water taxi can take you up to the mall. We live nearby, but we plan to return for a weekend getaway. I had been a little nervous with some of the negative reviews on here, but we've always wanted to stay here and it was close to the church so I went for it. I'm glad I did.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and waterway view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSnarkyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

there are way to many people crammed into this woodlands area, our room was nothing great, there was somones hair in the bath tub and on the pillows, the exhaust fan in bathroon did not work, and they want to charge $20 per night for internet service in ur room, and u can either pay $10 to park in the close garage or u can park for free in the garage 1/2 mile away.......only thing good about this place was that there is a chick fil a down the road,,,,,,we will never stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southbound35w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I've stayed at the Marriott in the Woodlands on and off over the last 10 years and it still rates as the best for location and amenities.
Often mega busy over weekends with multiple weddings and functions means that the regular guests can feel swamped by non residents but during week days, it is somewhat quieter and less over crowded ,
Staff are great and do their best to please.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with a balcony above floor 6 are quieter -especially when the weekend wedding parties a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The Woodlands Waterway Marriot Hotel and Convention Center has a perfect location, directly on the Waterway, as the name suggests. The hotel is always fresh and updated, and the Management and Staff work to make every guest enjoy their stay. The lounge has a great breakfast and the large spa is a benefit for a traditional business hotel. The shoe sign service is one of the best that I have enjoyed in the USA. I highly recomend this property.

Room Tip: Concierge level, balcony rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GREEKMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Woodlands hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin at The Woodlands
The Westin at The Woodlands
#8 of 18 in The Woodlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton The Woodlands at Hughes Landing
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
#5 of 18 in The Woodlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston / The Woodlands
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston/The Woodlands
0.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Houston The Woodlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center

Property: The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center
Address: 1601 Lake Robbins Dr, The Woodlands, TX 77380-1162
Region: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in The Woodlands
#5 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
#5 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel The Woodlands
Marriott Woodlands Waterway
Marriott The Woodlands
The Woodlands Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing