We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, but could've been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in The Woodlands
Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Ok, but could've been better”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

First, this was a business trip, and I needed to stay in this hotel for the convention that was taking place here. The room was adequate but not up to the standards of your typical Marriott. The room staff had not provided many of the complimentary items. I called 3 different times to get bath towel, coffee cups, etc. Rather strange if you ask me. The cold water facet runs hot all day no matter if you let it run to see if it will get cooler. The ice machine is in a hot room, so the ice is melting before you add it to a bucket, and therefore melts rapidly afterward. The noise level between the bathroom and the room is paper thin, so if you are sharing, as I was, the person's conversation on their phone is as if they are in the room with you.
No selection of complimentary teas or other amenities. Only 2: English Breakfast, or Chamomile, and that was after I called to have coffee and tea in my room, after noticing that it was not provided, though it came with a coffee maker. This just felt so substandard comparably to other Marriott stays, especially for the price of these rooms.
Cons: No printing in the business center. No accessible computer to use for airline tickets. No water in lobby except at minimal times. No coffee whatsoever in lobby. 2 sandwiches from take out restaurant in lobby cost $35!!! Crazy prices!
Pros: Ate at the Baker's Street Pub around the corner from the hotel, which had a great chicken avocado sandwich for less than $10!! Band plays there on Thurs and Friday nights at 10pm. And had shopping Mall within walking distance. Unfortunately, these were not due to the hotel so were not factored in on the grade.

Room Tip: Go to Baker's Street Pub, 25 Waterway Ave. Just walk out the door and turn right, go one block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHappynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    186
    76
    28
    15
See reviews for
63
148
21
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This hotel is situated in a wonderful place which is Woodlands in Houston surrounding area but in my point of view it's too expensive considering the room facilities offering. My questionable items were: no refrigerator and nor safe box in the room which i consider fundamental in hotel rooms nowadays.

Room Tip: do not choose rooms located near to elevators areas, too noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlsachser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My wife and I have stayed here many times and will continue to do so. We have traveled all over the U.S for years and this is one of the finest places for comfort, location, restaurants and staff you will find. A most delightful Restaurant Server Glenda in the Tuscany, Andre Mgmt, David front desk,Diego bellman.and many more provide outstanding service. You will love it here.

Don Wilson

Room Tip: The Waterway side provides a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Loved the place and the bartenders were great, especially Erica and Rob. The one small item, and it's not a big deal, is that some of the employees, even Managers, would walk right over pieces of trash left on the ground and wouldn't pick them up. Also, the pool tiles were mucky, but that's it. The best part of the hotel is it's location, right on the river and right by the mall. While you're there you should ask Rob or Erica to make you a Frozen Mojito and a Frozen Mojito with Mango, it's definitely their specialty. Also, the lady up on the 14 floor for the VIP breakfast was awesome. I forgot her name but she's from California and she worked on Sat., June 23rd.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Neches, TX
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here every summer for the past 3 yrs CKC Scrapbook Convention and it just keeps getting better. The rooms are clean. The service is fabulous and this stay was no exception. Can't wait till next summer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chasnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastrop, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location in the Woodlands. The Convention Center is attached to the hotel. Walking distance to the mall, Market Street shopping, movie theaters and many restaurants. The hotel is right on the waterway. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. The staff is very friendly and personable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahitiancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Located at walking distance from the mall, movie theatres, fine dine restaurants, pubs and a beautiful walk along the river. Though this property is slightly smaller than other Marriotts that I've visited, it has its unique splendour. All facilities like gym, pool and jacuzzi are available and well maintained. For the price I paid per night, I expected complimentary breakfast and some important services like free wifi in rooms (there was free wifi only in lobby). However, these were not included. The staff was courteous and service was good. Food was good- I only had lunch and some snacks. I stayed 2 nights here and the stay was indeed memorable.

Room Tip: Rooma overlooking the river have a pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Woodlands hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin at The Woodlands
The Westin at The Woodlands
#8 of 18 in The Woodlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton The Woodlands at Hughes Landing
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
#5 of 18 in The Woodlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston / The Woodlands
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston/The Woodlands
0.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Houston The Woodlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center

Property: The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center
Address: 1601 Lake Robbins Dr, The Woodlands, TX 77380-1162
Region: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in The Woodlands
#5 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
#5 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel The Woodlands
Marriott Woodlands Waterway
Marriott The Woodlands
The Woodlands Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing