We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst Marriot yet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in The Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Nine nights spent here during a recent business trip. Despite being + Usd 300 per night, some very basics were not available, mini bar, Iron, complimentary water. An up-selling culture exists in all regards, from the moments you check in, at breakfast where an espresso is charged as extra, parking, and so on. Food was average and again overpriced for what it was. The room cleanliness was questionable and one every occasion I did laundry (six out of nine nights) the bag was never once replaced, I had to g down to reception for replacements. Over the weekend and without notice, extensive renovations were carried out, it was so loud that I could not relax or even listen to music or TV in my room. Imagine industrial style heavy tools two floors below, and over a weekend. This contradicts the most basic principle of a hotel, in my view a place to relax and rest in comfort. Overall a very bad experience and one that has indeed put me off what is normally an excellent hotel chain. Complaints were met with indifference and although some staff appeared sorry, nothing was done, I mean come on now, heavy industrial style renovations done over a weekend! To top it, when you got out the lift on my floor, there was a large signboard asking guests to be considerate to other guests and keep the noise down, Irony eh….

The breakfast that was included in the rate was charge every day, despite four visits to the front desk to get this orated out, when I finally did check out it was charged for al nine days. Overall a terrible experience from a hotel not worthy to carry the good Mariott name.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement002, Manager at The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your at our hotel. I'm sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Management is in the process of reviewing your comments and concerns and will be addressing all with involved departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a great hotel...convenient to Woodland's mall and the interstate. Great service, nice lounge on top floor. Rooms clean, but some in need of mechanical work. Ours had a squeaking air conditioner, and random reception problems on TV. Rates are high for the area, and there is an $11 a day charge to park your car, which seems high for the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the canal rather than the mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel from service to food and rooms we highly recommended for a weekend get away or to stay around the woodlands for shopping, great restaurants around and great people you can meet on the street also movie theaters across the street.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryanmantezoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great hotel, located in the heart of Woodland town centre, well maintained, free laundry, situated along the river, great for jogging in the morning. Service is great. Dislike: pricey, no free parking, no free Wifi, no breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitomi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I realize this location is prime (The Woodlands) but seriously...... $189.00 a night Convention Rate for a "Good" room that is nothing special. The SERIOUSLY aggravating thing is the CHARGE for Wi Fi access. Then $10.00 a night for parking WOW! All I can say is I'm glad it wasn't MY Money paying for the weekend, if it was I would be seriously unhappy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Van P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed just one night and chose it for the location close to a race I was running the net morning. I had checked in via the mobile app and a lady was there to meet me when I arrived and sent me straight to my room. The room was very comfortable, well equipped and spacious but why no bath robe? Maybe that's normal for these type of hotels in the US and I just need to remember ot pack one in future but its surprising to me. Staff all nice and helpful, friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJF209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Good:

The location of the hotel is perfect if you are attending anything at the Cynthia Mithcell Pavillion. Literally a 5 minute walk from my hotel room to the gate.Movie theatre directly across from the hotel and plenty of dining/entertainment options within a short walking distance. Zach at check-in was extremely helpful, courteous and efficient. Gave us the room we asked for with no problem, even though it was a busy weekend(700 guest wedding, 2 big concerts) Loved having the balcony to get fresh air. The hotel itself is quiet, even with so much activity going on.

The Bad:
For what you get room-wise, this hotel is way overpriced($229 is what we paid for 1 night). We had a room with two doubles and the full-sized beds were so uncomfortable it made it very difficult to get a good night's sleep. They charge for everything. Parking in the garage is $11/day, valet is $17) There is a free lot across the street but being there for a concert we didn't even bother and just self-parked in the garage. Wifi should be free in the room, not just the public areas. The bathtub didn't have "grips" so it was really slippery. The coffeemaker needed to be cleaned. Just wasn't what you'd expect out of a $200 room.

I'd stay again if they ever drop their rates to something reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrianna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Woodlands hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin at The Woodlands
The Westin at The Woodlands
#8 of 18 in The Woodlands
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
#4 of 18 in The Woodlands
434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton The Woodlands at Hughes Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston/The Woodlands
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston / The Woodlands
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Houston The Woodlands/Market Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center

Address: 1601 Lake Robbins Dr, The Woodlands, TX 77380-1162
Region: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in The Woodlands
#5 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
#5 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range: £160 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy distinctive accommodations in a superior setting at The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center. Set near shops, restaurants and the Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion, our hotel in The Woodlands, Texas offers an ideal location for business and leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel The Woodlands
Marriott Woodlands Waterway
Marriott The Woodlands
The Woodlands Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing