We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible choice. Problems, comments blown off by GM at front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Woodlands
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in The Woodlands
Highland Village, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Terrible choice. Problems, comments blown off by GM at front desk”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Go anywhere else. An event in town had all the other hotels nearby completely booked. I should have wondered why this hotel had empty rooms available. For $118 a night it was cheaper than others on se night yet overall worse than tent life in Iraq.

The checkin staff on Wednesday March 5th was great, helpful and friendly. They should be commended as near perfect. After a great business dinner all was fine until bed time.

- Road noise is louder than usual.
- Inconsistent beeping sound interrupted any chance of sleep.
- With beep at odd times nobody on staff resolved our complaint.
- At checkout the hotel GM Luis Castro himself said he was sorry its too bad we should have done something ourselves. (We did change hotels to nearby Fairfield) As a USMC veteran he exceeded my measure of sarcastic disrespect. Once again my comments were blown off without regard. When I mentioned I was hoping not to file a complaint he didn't care.

There is zero reason to ever stay here again. When management fails to care or even be curious as to "why" their customers were unhappy it is obvious the choice to stay here should be "no".

If you read my other reviews I have praise for most places, especially good people especially if they at least try to help their clients.

Please stay where ever you wish. In my charity role as fundraising convention planner I will suggest this location be blacklisted as unacceptable to others needing accommodations in the area. So sad a good chain with decent property is being run by the wrong person for the job. Maybe one day Mr. Castro will move on elsewhere.

Semper fidelis,
Dave

"Change is inevitable, Progress is optional."

Attn: Tripadvisor. Some properties do not deserve a star at all. This location is an example deserving of none. I will recognize the checking staff with one star, a minus everything score is hereby awared to GM Mr. Luis Castro for bad attitude. Please update Tripadvisor to allow reviews with no stars in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank davecannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    58
    41
    21
    22
See reviews for
82
43
18
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have stayed at The Woodlands Best Western PLUS many times and each time I was more than happy. The staff has always been kind and helpful and the property is clean and well maintained. I would highly recommend this location and will always stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank gordonk825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Enjoyed our stay on our family vacation. I don't remember the Comfort Suites in Houston but they were doing some remodling on the motel. We are retired and my husband like to travel and see parts of the country he had not seen before. We usually trave a a couple several time a year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

One night business stay. Great access off highway. No issues to report. Room/hotel was clean and comfortable at good price. Some wear but was safe. Was next door to gas station with convience store and McD's.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel is in a good location, and is clean. But lacks in the the breakfast and the bed. The room is clean but the bed is not comfortable at all. The breakfast was limited and not very tasty. The eggs were runny and tasted awful. But the hotel is good for a one night stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gabriela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

When I need to spend a night or two in The Woodlands, TX, I always stay at the Best Western Plus at IH-45 and 242. The location is great for The Woodlands, TX as well as Conroe, TX.. I have always been greeted with a friendly smile and never have had a a problem with the rooms or facilities.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank gordonk825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Only negative I have on this property is that it is right next to I 45 so if you stay ask for a back side room. Although we did not have that it is a fantastic property for that area.

The hotel itself is inviting the minute you walk in. The General Manager is very helpful and accommodating. The breakfast we did not partake in as we left early to beat the traffic. Definitely in you are in this area and flying in fly into Main airport not Hobby. Our mistake. That way you avoid the deathly traffic through downtown Houston. It took us 2 hours in rush hour to get through it.

The room itself was beautiful and clean. Baths needed new calking but was clean anyway. No complaints about this hotel. It is all that the Best Westerns are known for.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Woodlands hotels
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston The Woodlands
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands
Candlewood Suites Houston, The W...
#14 of 18 in The Woodlands
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston The Woodlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston / The Woodlands
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston/The Woodlands
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton The Woodlands at Hughes Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Woodlands

Property: Best Western Plus The Woodlands
Address: 17081 Interstate 45 S, The Woodlands, TX 77385-3302 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Woodlands)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus The Woodlands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in The Woodlands, Texas, the Best Western The Woodlands offers a wooded, serene location just minutes away from world renowned golfing, fine dining and first class hospital care. The Woodlands is home to many global companies including Anadarko Petroleum, Chevron Phillips and Hewitt Associates. The Best Western The Woodlands offers genuine Texas hospitality with a smile. Customer service is our forte. Cool off in our sparkling pool, exercise in our fitness center, work in our business center or enjoy a hearty breakfast. We have it all. We look forward to taking excellent care of you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus The Woodlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands
The Woodlands Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing