We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasantly surprised...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar

Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 204 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$45
Cuisines: American, Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lake Woodlands Dr
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

My past experiences here were less-than-pleasant, because their menu had, at one time, been terribly one-dimensional. I was pleasantly surprised to see that they had finally added a real steak to their menu: bone-in ribeye. My friends know how picky I am about steak, and when I sank my teeth into the first bite, I literally moaned, it was so good. What put it over the top was the amazing bacon/shallot butter on top - WOW! The flavors were stunning.

The others at the table (there were 5 of us girls) enjoyed their meals as well, and apparently the favorite drink of the evening was the Cucumber Smash - they raved about it. I stuck to my wine.

Our server was very professional and cordial throughout the evening. Overall, we had quite an enjoyable experience. My only complaint (and the reason for the 4 instead of 5 stars) is that it was very warm in the dining room. We asked if there was something wrong with the a/c, and our server stated that they were getting a lot of complaints, and they were addressing it. The room was still uncomfortably hot when we left, so I hope they've fixed it since.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M_in_The_Woodlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    158
    68
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Tropical paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Consistent delicious food and great service in a tropical setting. Always enjoyable. Favorites include fish tacos, coconut shrimp and don't forget the coconut cloud martinis!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MustTravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“For a clothes store ... You can cook!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I visited 3 times in the last couple of months, 1s time sat outside on the terrace there was live music food service was good. 2 other times was entertaining friends , it was all very good on every visits. Love the fish tacos and key lime pie. But all dishes ordered prove to be a hit with my frends.
They stock one of my favorite wines from Alsace ( France) Gewürztraminer and ave ordered it every single time.
I wear the clothes and eat the food... But i must say.... For a clothes store you can cook!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank herve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Lively atmosphere. choice of eating inside, outside and kind of semi outside. Can view the dancing fountains from the outside seating. Everything tasted good. our server was very sweet. food was served quickly, right temperature. definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmeenaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Woodlands Location, Fun Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

I stopped by Tommy Bahama's for lunch on a pretty sunny afternoon. I ordered the fish tacos off the appetizer menu and a cool glass of iced tea. The service was excellent. The fish tacos were cooked perfectly and seasoned very well. I was pleasantly surprised when my fish tacos came with delicious grilled plantain bananas in a luscious sauce. It was such a treat! I ordered this same dish at the Laguna Beach, CA location, and it did not include this side. The restaurant location is fantastic, right on The Woodlands' Central Park near the theatre. I would recommend this restaurant for just about any occasion. The TB clothing store is very nice as well.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing