We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a resort over priced hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in The Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Nrh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a resort over priced hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for the weekend of Ironman and I have to say I was so excited to go after reading the reviews. However after our trip we would not return. We went with friends and their room was a newly remodeled room- ours was not- AND we paid more than they did. That was not a big deal but it seemed like there were empty remodeled rooms so why did we get an older one? Our fridge didn't work which they did fix- after I called them from my cell
Phone to report it!!! The phone in our room had a front desk button but when you hit the button it sent you to a directory- I hit the number to speak to a manager and the guy who answered told me to call this number....not very professional not did it seem to right.... So I did from my cell phone- the pool staff was awesome and very clean facilities. We made the track into our room
From the parking lot with our kids and luggage- no one offered to help and each time we went to our car or back to the room no golf cart ride was offered so please
Plan on walking!!!!! Over all the place was clean but way over priced and not resort quality-

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayvito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Kayvito,

Congrats to your Ironman competitor!! Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear your stay was less than stellar. Our current Fairway Pines rooms are being renovated in groups and we aren't able to offer all the newly renovated rooms at once. We do apologize you had an issue with your frig and telephone. Please know the information was passed along to the proper department to be addressed. As you mentioned we have a large property and try to offer golf cart rides to everyone when possible. We hate to hear your stay didn't meet your expectations, but hope you will give us another opportunity and visit us again after the renovation is complete this fall!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    281
    131
    51
    44
See reviews for
508
187
17
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LOUISIANA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My childhood BFF and I have been coming here every year for the past 5-6 years and have truly enjoyed it. We were a bit disappointed this time-We always stay in the rooms by the lake and they are looking run-down and old. The room was very pricey for such an old looking room. Also, beware of what we found were hidden prices-we bought the bed and breakfast package but they tack on a $20 per day resort fee (what the heck is that??) and with all the taxes they add on our total bill for 2 nights was very expensive. That being said, it is still a wonderful place-the food in the restaurant is excellent-the breakfast buffet one of the best we ever ate-the service was excellent and the oasis pool is fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kakiLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
kakiLouisiana,

So glad you and your BFF joined us again this summer! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, Forest Oasis Waterscape and exceptional customer service. Our $60 million renovation is currently underway which will add 184 new sleeping rooms along with updating our current Waterscape rooms as well. The Resort fee was recently added to enhance our guest's experience which includes internet access in guest room; access to Forest Oasis Waterscape, fitness center, whirlpool,suana, hot tub; bike rentals; and complimentary transportation to the mall and Market Street. Look forward to having you and your BFF stay with us again soon to continue the fun tradition!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Upon driving up to the resort the first thing you see are the old exteriors and new construction - thankfully we had a room in the newly renovated building...or so we thought. Many of the fixtures and features must be from the old, the room decor and setup looked very inexpensive (euphemism) and the bathroom lighting was horribly dark...couldn't find any electrical outlets easily....they're weren't enough...having said all that the service was very good, the room service was superior and the pool area was very nice although it's off season now.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BotRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
BotRoad,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. As you mentioned our $60 million renovation is currently underway and will be completed this fall. We are renovating our current Waterscape sleeping rooms as well as adding 184 new guest rooms, new Lazy River and new steakhouse at this time. Once renovations are complete we hope you will return and enjoy all the new we have to offer!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our stay was nice. Took my son and friends for a getaway. As 1 reviewer mentioned it is a bit difficult to locate the resort once your in the area. Also we was given an outdated room, stayed in the BIRCH (may have been given outdated room due to price paid) however it was very clean. I suggest if resort is not sold out, offer the renovated rooms so guest can have an awesome experience. The Oasis Pool was quit nice. Staff walk around offering complimentry cold frozen fruits which was great to cool you down while the sun was blazing. Our experience was great, however a nicer room would have made it AWESOME!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank realtalk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
realtalk24,

Thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Due to similar feedback as yours we are currently undergoing a $60 million renovation which will include 184 new sleeping rooms, new steakhouse restaurant and new Lazy River! The Forest Lake lodges that you stayed in will become unavailable at the beginning of 2015 and all 406 of our rooms will be updated. We hope you will give us the opportunity to host your family again soon and see all the changes after our renovation is complete this fall!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I want to start off by saying this... WOW! This resort is awesome! I came and stayed here with my 2 kids and husband on early May. They have 2 giant pools, a golf course (nice), a full spa and don't mention the beautiful sophisticated rooms! But going back to the pool, one is huge and it has 2 - 2 story water slides a basketball court and a volleyball area and the pool is not heated. Now the other pool is heated. It has a waterfall and it's beautiful! Hot tub is nice as well. There's a nice bar outside in the pool area where you can order any kind of mixed drink as well as a good variety of snacks.
The rooms are nicely decorated and any room you get is guaranteed to have a spectacular view! Golf course or pool area.
The food is delicious and the breakfast is made to order. All around is a great place to get away with your family and simply relax... We loved it so much that we are already making plans for this summer! I hope my review helped.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie_sassy_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
jackie_sassy_28,

We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and kind words about our property. Glad you were able to enjoy all we have to offer for the entire family. When you are ready to book another stay with us this summer please contact me directly at leeann.sullinger@woodlandsresort.com so I can help make your reservation. Look forward to seeing you all again this summer and you getting to enjoy our Lazy River!

Best regards,
Leeann Sullinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I needed a short getaway without the kids. This was the perfect staycation for us and now we can't wait to take the kids back sometime after all the improvements are finished. Even though they are under construction we could not have had a better time.
We had a newly renovated room that was beautiful and clean.
The pool was amazing, quiet, relaxing, although I am sure that changes during the summer when it is full of families, but there is a splash pad and water slides for the kids and they are putting in a lazy river, so that is sure to add some fun!
We ate dinner and breakfast at the main dining room and both were very good. We were able to sit out on the patio for both and it was a gorgeous view.
The entire staff was friendly and ready to serve the entire time.
If I had one complaint it would be that it is a little pricey and I hope that the rates do not go up tremendously after the renovations, because we would love to go back!

Room Tip: The rooms by the waterscape are the newer, nicer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haley20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Haley20,

We are so glad you had a great staycation with your husband! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to having you visit us again with your whole family this summer once the Lazy River is complete! So glad you were able to enjoy the few perfect weather days we have in Houston and just enjoy your getaway. Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We haven't stayed at the Woodlands since last summer, but we have been going to the Woodlands for the last 25 years or so. Yes, maybe things seem outdated to some but our favorite places to stay are in the older part,( Elm, Gum, Hickory) overlooking the lake. The hospitality, amenities, hike and bike trails and overall experience for us has always been great. In fact, one stay when it was raining, was even a great experience. I always tell people that the Woodlands is a great, relaxing place to be. When I think of a great vacation, I always think of the Woodlands and its only 2 hours away. I'm so excited to hear they will have a lazy river this summer. I love lazy rivers!!!

Room Tip: The older part....Elm, Gum Hickory
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RVaughn1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
RVaughn1951,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so glad to hear what a great time you have had with us over the past 25 years and all the fun you're looking forward to this summer. We appreciate your continued support and spreading the good news about our staycation destination. Look forward to seeing you again this summer when the Lazy River opens in July!!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Woodlands hotels
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton The Woodlands at Hughes Landing
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston / The Woodlands
1.5 mi away
The Westin at The Woodlands
The Westin at The Woodlands
#8 of 18 in The Woodlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
#5 of 18 in The Woodlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston/The Woodlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Property: The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center
Address: 2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
#3 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
#6 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 28,000 acres of forest north of Houston, the newly renovated Woodlands Resort is a destination of fun and relaxation. Just steps from 406 deluxe guest rooms are two championship golf courses and the Forest Oasis Waterscape™ with 1,000 foot lazy river. Guests enjoy seasonal poolside dining, dive-in movies and family-friendly entertainment. Other resort amenities include a full-service spa and fitness facility, 190 miles of trails, and tennis courts. Explore the property's three restaurants or lounge, plus nearby shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands
The Woodlands Resort And Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing