We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in The Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Escape”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

My family stayed here for a get away for a 12th birthday. The staff is friendly, the facilities are well maintained and updated. The pool is great, and the pool staff is great. The golf course is a 7 of 10. I have used the conference rooms several times over the last few years. The rooms are large, well lit, and have windows. Overall, very good place.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ragarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
So glad you celebrated the 12th birthday with us! We appreciate your kind words about our staff, property, meeting facility and pool waterscape (we're a fan of it all too). Look forward to having you stay with us again soon for another getaway!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    307
    141
    58
    45
See reviews for
582
197
18
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fenton, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed for two nights in the Forest area at one of the remote buildings - I didn't feel unsafe at all but was surprised that there was water on the covered outside concrete areas that seemed to have leaked through from above. Had to drag my suitcase through it. I had a suite room with a large sitting area with a separate bathroom which would be good if you used the pull out sofa - but I was surprised to find no little fridge in the room. Just about every mid-priced motel room offers that amenity now. Since it's about a 5 minute walk up to the main conference center - it would have been handy. Service was excellent everywhere - we had breakfast buffet both days and found it excellent at a reasonable price. Walked across the street passed the major construction to the large pool area. It is wonderful - should be even better when the river pool is finished. Pool service was excellent also. The major construction everywhere on the grounds and the road leading to the resort was a turn off for sure. I'm going back in the Fall - so hope it is more together then.

Room Tip: If you are going for family vacation - pool, relaxation - I suggest paying the extra for the pool sc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suhoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Suhoz,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed your getaway and were able to experience all the fun in the sun we have to offer! We do apologize for the wet covered sidewalks and have reviewed with appropriate department for resolution. Please note we do currently offer mini frigs in the rooms by request and all our new guest rooms will have mini frigs post renovation. We appreciate your understanding during our time of renovation and look forward to having you stay with us again soon to enjoy the Lazy River opening this summer and completed renovation projects this fall!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Went with family and friends for a weekend getaway for the second year. We stayed at the rooms near the pool (waterscape). Great ,clean,modern,spacious rooms. Great and friendly service from the moment we checked in to bellhops, golf cart drivers , restaurant staff and pool side staff. Pool side service outstanding . We got the breakfast package which was outstanding . Staff was friendly and attentive. Only negative was that our room was not cleaned till late afternoon. With toddlers it was difficult to put them down for a nap. Our room was never cleaned but we got fresh towels upon request. Can't wait to come back once renovations are completed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Jayarx,

So glad to have you stay with us again this summer! Thanks for sharing your great feedback with us and ways to improve our housekeeping schedule. We can't wait to have you back again to enjoy the Lazy River!!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

From the moment you walk through the door, you'll realize this place is top-notch. Service is excellent. There is so much to do with the golfing, water park etc and on-site resturants Great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDutch_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
BigDutch_27,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We couldn't agree more that we are a great place to stay and play will all the fun we have to offer! Hope you will visit us again this summer once the Lazy River opens in July and all the new renovation is complete this fall. Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel has apparently recently been taken over by Marriott and is confusingly named (I suspect intentionally) with the much better Marriott near the mall. There is construction all over the grounds, and it is not scenic, to say the least. There are very few guests here--I only saw 1 when I checked in and 1 when I left. My room was in a remote building that felt quite desolate and unsafe, particularly since I never heard any indication there was anyone else around. I almost decided to just leave instead of staying there, but the long drive home, while it would have been preferable, didn't seem like a good idea. The air conditioning seemed to cycle over a wide range, and made a weird and loud double click every time it cycled. This place would be way overpriced even if it wasn't torn up and scary, but the price is appalling given the realities of this place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Mike L,

We hate to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are an independent property and are not associated with any other hotel chains. As you mentioned we are currently undergoing a $60 million renovation and apologize for any construction disturbances you experienced during your visit. We are excited for the new and updated guest rooms, steak house, and Lazy River additions. We hope you give us another opportunity to host you at our one-of-a-kind resort once our renovation is complete this fall.

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We got very lucky to book this resort for our second stay during the Ironman Woodlands competition this year and we now know where we will continue to stay when we return for years to come. We stayed in one of the renovated rooms and it had a simple elegance, the decor somewhat matches the beauty of the outdoors with uses of natural wood and colors. Although the hotel is under construction, the team (and yes I said "team") of professionals here did their best to keep all guests content.

Our group enjoyed sitting out by the beautiful pool while we waited for results to be fed back to us from the Ironman app. We would then have time to hop in the car and go see our athletes finish the separate events. The location is just minutes from the Woodlands center where all the activity is focused.

On occasion when you are laying in your chair thinking "I am getting a little hot and I need to hop in to cool off", someone will come by with fresh fruit (strawberries and oranges), this is such a nice touch. The Woodlands dining room was great for brunch. The staff was attentive and the food was very good. We sat outside and the views from the patio are simply serene.

We did have one small "altercation" with a bit of construction noise while there and the manager handled the situation much to our satisfaction with quick resolve.

We told our kids that we would like to take them back to have a "staycation" even though they are teens we feel like they would enjoy the water slide & lazy river (coming soon). I am dying to try out the golf and spa ; - )

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebrahD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
DebrahD,

Congrats to your Ironman athlete! So glad you choose to stay with us this year for the competition weekend. Thank you for all the kind words regarding our staff, pool, dining and guest room experience. Glad you were able to enjoy our beautiful property and see the Ironman along the way! Sorry about the construction noise and thank you for being understanding as it was quickly resolved. We look forward to having your family stay with us again soon for a "staycation" and enjoy the new Lazy River, spa and golf this summer!!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nrh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for the weekend of Ironman and I have to say I was so excited to go after reading the reviews. However after our trip we would not return. We went with friends and their room was a newly remodeled room- ours was not- AND we paid more than they did. That was not a big deal but it seemed like there were empty remodeled rooms so why did we get an older one? Our fridge didn't work which they did fix- after I called them from my cell
Phone to report it!!! The phone in our room had a front desk button but when you hit the button it sent you to a directory- I hit the number to speak to a manager and the guy who answered told me to call this number....not very professional not did it seem to right.... So I did from my cell phone- the pool staff was awesome and very clean facilities. We made the track into our room
From the parking lot with our kids and luggage- no one offered to help and each time we went to our car or back to the room no golf cart ride was offered so please
Plan on walking!!!!! Over all the place was clean but way over priced and not resort quality-

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayvito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Kayvito,

Congrats to your Ironman competitor!! Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear your stay was less than stellar. Our current Fairway Pines rooms are being renovated in groups and we aren't able to offer all the newly renovated rooms at once. We do apologize you had an issue with your frig and telephone. Please know the information was passed along to the proper department to be addressed. As you mentioned we have a large property and try to offer golf cart rides to everyone when possible. We hate to hear your stay didn't meet your expectations, but hope you will give us another opportunity and visit us again after the renovation is complete this fall!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Woodlands hotels
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton The Woodlands at Hughes Landing
1.3 mi away
The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center
1.4 mi away
The Westin at The Woodlands
The Westin at The Woodlands
#8 of 18 in The Woodlands
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
#5 of 18 in The Woodlands
416 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston / The Woodlands
5.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston The Woodlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Property: The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center
Address: 2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in The Woodlands
#3 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
#3 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
#6 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 28,000 acres of forest north of Houston, the newly renovated Woodlands Resort is a destination of fun and relaxation. Just steps from 406 deluxe guest rooms are two championship golf courses and the Forest Oasis Waterscape™ with 1,000 foot lazy river. Guests enjoy seasonal poolside dining, dive-in movies and family-friendly entertainment. Other resort amenities include a full-service spa and fitness facility, 190 miles of trails, and tennis courts. Explore the property's three restaurants or lounge, plus nearby shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Resort And Conference Center
The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing