We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Under construction. Room smelled of mold. Was probably great in the 80's” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in The Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Under construction. Room smelled of mold. Was probably great in the 80's”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stay all over the world and travel for business and this is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. Room was not updated and smelled of mold, tiny bathroom, and had to call a golf cart to get to main lobby. (I’ve had to do that at other large hotels but for this one the ride was through a long dusty construction zone).

The dining room was the one shining spot as the buffet price was reasonable ($18) for the quality of the food and service.

Wiifi was in and out and very slow...not great for business.

To top it off, I had a housekeeper walk into my room without knocking first while changing clothes…

I would avoid this place until construction is complete and then see if hotel has improved but for now it’s on the do not stay list, especially if you like contemporary amenities offered by most other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoolTuneLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
FrequentTraveler057,

We appreciate your feedback and take your comments seriously. Please accept our apology for the issue with housekeeping. We have taken many of our guests comments similar to yours into account and are currently undergoing a $60 million renovation which began in April, 2013. The renovation will include 184 new guestrooms, the refurbishment of our Fairway Pines complex, the addition of a 1,000 foot lazy river and a steakhouse. With these improvements we hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest once again.

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    281
    131
    51
    44
See reviews for
508
187
17
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We recently stayed at The Woodlands Resort and even though there was lots of construction going on, the place was lovely! We chose a suite in the Forest area (Aspen building) which was pleasant and comfortable. They sent a golf-cart to pick us up to go to the pool and took us back when done. The breakfast buffet was excellent - lots of choices, fresh and delicious! We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: We didn't see the rooms other than our own suite, which was lovely. Probably a lower floor woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Diane S.,
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Forest Lake Lodges. They're a nice retreat for a relaxing getaway. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay. Staff was very friendly and went out of their way to help. New construction made parking a little difficult, but it will be nice once complete. If you have kids, I would recommend paying a little extra for a room leading to the pool. You will regret it when you get there. Other rooms are nice, but very convenient.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 982petep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Pete P.,
Thanks for sharing your great advice from your recent stay! Glad to hear you had a great time. We appreciate your understanding during our time of renovation. Look forward to you staying with us again once it's all complete this fall.

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was my third time to The Woodlands Resort and Conference Center but the first for my girlfriend and her daughter. I was very pleased with the day-long list of activities for kids. The resort is under-going both a major facelift and adding new attractions but despite that, the service was still top-notch. Restaurants are clean and the food is well prepared - their breakfast buffet is second to none. I appreciate their golf cart transportation service - no matter where you are, if you want a ride to anywhere on the grounds, the resort has a great staff of friendly attendants who will pick you up and drive you. I'm looking forward to returning when their building project is complete.

Room Tip: The Forest Oasis rooms (Gum building) are farthest away from main pool area but the quietest. For o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkincaid0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Jkincaid0427,

What a great tradition you have started with staying us for the past few years! We are pleased to hear what a great staycation you all had with us. Thank you for the kind words about our excellent staff and top-notch service. We look forward to you all staying with us again soon to see all the new fun we have to offer!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
252 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was the second time I stayed here and while it was ok for a one night stop-over in The Woodlands, a 3 day business stay was rather strenuous.

I mentioned it in my last review that there is no minibar or any sort of drinks in the room, but I forget all about it until I woke up in the middle of the night...

The breakfast is good and the staff very friendly but having to take the car from the room to the breakfast room is for sure not ideal and not what a business travel is looking for.

All in all, if you are not a golfer you may be better of staying more closer to Market Street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sascha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Sascha K,

Glad to hear we were able to host you for a second time visit. Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding a mini bar option in the rooms. We are always looking for ways to enhance our guest's stay so will take your recommendation into consideration. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed our plentiful breakfast buffet. We offer golf cart rides throughout property to help get you from guest rooms to our main conference center. Look forward to hosting you again when you're in the Houston area for business or pleasure.

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We went to the Woodlands resort for the first time for Fourth of July weekend. I can see why people complain about the rooms but we were ok with it. Since it was a last minute trip I didn't arrive with huge expectations. Anywhere would have been fine with me. We were in the older rooms but they weren't THAT bad. But I can see where people would be mad if they expected more of a hotel atmosphere. These are more like cabin in the woods atmosphere. The maid service was not that great. Example: we found an old sippy cup underneath the edge of the bed. If we saw it, they should see it. Also, they didn't replenish toiletry items. The biggest complaint , although I knew it when I booked so I cant' complain to much, is the DOUBLE BEDS. And there is plenty of room for bigger beds. I don't know why any hotel/resort would do that these days. The main pool was super nice but only 4 ft deep. We like a deeper pool and discovered one on our side of the resort. Our room had a balcony and we enjoyed the view of the lake and ducks. One nice thing, they offered a shuttle to go see the fireworks. That was a HUGE pkus not having to bother with parking. We ordered room service once. Took about 40 minutes to get and it was just ok. I can say that I probably will go back next 4th of July. I look forward to their new lazy river and would like to see their new rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JENTRULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
JENTRULL,

We are so glad you celebrated your Fourth of July holiday weekend with us for the first time! Thank you for sharing your feedback about our Forest Lake lodges. We appreciate you bringing the housekeeping issue to our attention so it can be addressed. Please know that rooms with 2 queen beds will be available in our new and renovated Fairway Pines room products once renovation is complete this fall. We look forward to having your family stay with us again next year and get to enjoy the new lazy river!!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
191 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have stayed here on two separate occasions. A Staycation with my family in a pool front room, enjoyed the fun pool area and the movies at the pool nights. Lots of walking trails and even fast food restaurants and a Starbucks next door less than a 3 minute drive away. Recently attended a conference there and there is a lot of construction but lots of friendly employees in golf carts to hep you. The conference area is very nice, great rooms with lovely lake views and THE BEST breaks with morning and afternoon snacks. The restaurant is great too, the breakfast is amazing especially the made to order omelets and waffles. Lunch buffet is something different everyday and everything was great! A great nature oasis in Houston with a fun pool zone. Remember to bring bug spray!!!!

Room Tip: Quiet side by the Lake...With kids stay by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prissywanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
prissyshay,

So glad to hear you have stayed with us on multiple occasions! Glad you got to experience the fun in the sun and the productive meeting environment we have to offer - the best of both worlds. Thanks for the kind words about all the delicious food options and terrific staff. We look forward to hosting you again soon!!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Woodlands hotels
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton The Woodlands at Hughes Landing
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston / The Woodlands
1.5 mi away
The Westin at The Woodlands
The Westin at The Woodlands
#8 of 18 in The Woodlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
#5 of 18 in The Woodlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston/The Woodlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Property: The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center
Address: 2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
#3 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
#6 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 28,000 acres of forest north of Houston, the newly renovated Woodlands Resort is a destination of fun and relaxation. Just steps from 406 deluxe guest rooms are two championship golf courses and the Forest Oasis Waterscape™ with 1,000 foot lazy river. Guests enjoy seasonal poolside dining, dive-in movies and family-friendly entertainment. Other resort amenities include a full-service spa and fitness facility, 190 miles of trails, and tennis courts. Explore the property's three restaurants or lounge, plus nearby shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands
The Woodlands Resort And Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing