We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Stay-cation at WRCC.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in The Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible Stay-cation at WRCC.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

When we went to check in our room it was incorrect. We were supposed to be pool side with 2 double beds, we have 3 kids. They gave us a king sized bed. For $280 a night, they wanted to put our kids on air mattress because they screwed up. We left at 10:30 at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
J R,

We are sorry to hear your staycation with us didn't go as planned. We do our best to accommodate all our guest room requests based upon availability and apologize we didn't have the correct room available for you. Hope you will choose to stay with us again once our new 184 guest rooms are available this fall.

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    311
    144
    59
    48
See reviews for
597
204
19
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

..i have reservations for next week.because i would like to celebrate my first anniversary and my husband birthday..And I was reading some reviews and change my mind..so.I just call and a really bad customer service lady,,,answer ,I ask her "its the forest lake room under construction? SHE SAID "YES" (THEN SILENCE.....) ME:..because I WAS READING SOME REVIEWS ABOUT THE ROOM SMELLS OF MOLD,,NOT PARKING SPACE...DUST EVERYWHERE AND WE WANT A NICE ROOM DO YOU HAVE SOMETHING UPGRADED? she said "yes"..(silence) do you have an other options on room w/o the ones under construction? she said yes, then (silence)....WE HAVE A LOT..SILENCE ..(HORRIBLE)...Im not going there..I cant imagine if you request something up there...no thanks.thanks. I'm going to cancel...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MARCE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
MARCE R,

We apologize for the customer service experience you had when booking your reservation. We would like to have you and your husband stay to celebrate your anniversary and his birthday. Please call us directly at 281-367-1100 so we assist in making your reservation.

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

They are doing major renovations this summer and it does affect your stay. Workers everywhere and improvements (much needed) in progress. We stayed away from the construction area to have peace and quiet. This worked out well. But these other buildings are very old. I'm sure they will be updated next but for now, beware if you stay here where you are situated. Our rooms were somewhat dark but if you get a second floor (2 story buildings) then you get high ceilings and some high windows which is really nice. We got room service multiple times and it was very good! It's nice to park right by your building in these older buildings.
Workout gym pretty sad - minimal variety and outdated. Plenty of treadmills and elliptical machines and they are pretty decent. But no great weight equipment or workout accessories. The room just does not get you motivated to do anything. The hotel us located five minutes from a very nice district of restaurants and shopping so that was really awesome. Go to Market Street and the Woodlands Mall area. The hotel is very convenient to the Houston Intercontinental Airport by toll road - 25 minutes max. Very easy. I think this place will be great once renovations are done. They do a lot of meetings and conferences here. We did not use the new pool area that seemed very popular with new water features.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 360pas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
360pas,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding our Forest Lake lodges. These are an older room product and will no longer be available at the end of this year. We are excited our $60 million renovation project will be complete this fall with new steakhouse, 184 new guest rooms, and updates to existing guest rooms. We appreciate your feedback on our fitness center and ways we can continue to improve. Glad you enjoyed all the local amenities in The Woodlands and look forward to you staying with us again to experience the complete renovations.

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stay all over the world and travel for business and this is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. Room was not updated and smelled of mold, tiny bathroom, and had to call a golf cart to get to main lobby. (I’ve had to do that at other large hotels but for this one the ride was through a long dusty construction zone).

The dining room was the one shining spot as the buffet price was reasonable ($18) for the quality of the food and service.

Wiifi was in and out and very slow...not great for business.

To top it off, I had a housekeeper walk into my room without knocking first while changing clothes…

I would avoid this place until construction is complete and then see if hotel has improved but for now it’s on the do not stay list, especially if you like contemporary amenities offered by most other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoolTuneLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
FrequentTraveler057,

We appreciate your feedback and take your comments seriously. Please accept our apology for the issue with housekeeping. We have taken many of our guests comments similar to yours into account and are currently undergoing a $60 million renovation which began in April, 2013. The renovation will include 184 new guestrooms, the refurbishment of our Fairway Pines complex, the addition of a 1,000 foot lazy river and a steakhouse. With these improvements we hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest once again.

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We recently stayed at The Woodlands Resort and even though there was lots of construction going on, the place was lovely! We chose a suite in the Forest area (Aspen building) which was pleasant and comfortable. They sent a golf-cart to pick us up to go to the pool and took us back when done. The breakfast buffet was excellent - lots of choices, fresh and delicious! We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: We didn't see the rooms other than our own suite, which was lovely. Probably a lower floor woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Diane S.,
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Forest Lake Lodges. They're a nice retreat for a relaxing getaway. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay. Staff was very friendly and went out of their way to help. New construction made parking a little difficult, but it will be nice once complete. If you have kids, I would recommend paying a little extra for a room leading to the pool. You will regret it when you get there. Other rooms are nice, but very convenient.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 982petep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Pete P.,
Thanks for sharing your great advice from your recent stay! Glad to hear you had a great time. We appreciate your understanding during our time of renovation. Look forward to you staying with us again once it's all complete this fall.

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was my third time to The Woodlands Resort and Conference Center but the first for my girlfriend and her daughter. I was very pleased with the day-long list of activities for kids. The resort is under-going both a major facelift and adding new attractions but despite that, the service was still top-notch. Restaurants are clean and the food is well prepared - their breakfast buffet is second to none. I appreciate their golf cart transportation service - no matter where you are, if you want a ride to anywhere on the grounds, the resort has a great staff of friendly attendants who will pick you up and drive you. I'm looking forward to returning when their building project is complete.

Room Tip: The Forest Oasis rooms (Gum building) are farthest away from main pool area but the quietest. For o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkincaid0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Jkincaid0427,

What a great tradition you have started with staying us for the past few years! We are pleased to hear what a great staycation you all had with us. Thank you for the kind words about our excellent staff and top-notch service. We look forward to you all staying with us again soon to see all the new fun we have to offer!

Best regards,
Jasmine Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Woodlands hotels
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton The Woodlands at Hughes Landing
1.3 mi away
The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center
1.4 mi away
The Westin at The Woodlands
The Westin at The Woodlands
#8 of 18 in The Woodlands
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
#5 of 18 in The Woodlands
420 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston / The Woodlands
5.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston The Woodlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Property: The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center
Address: 2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in The Woodlands
#3 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
#3 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
#6 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 28,000 acres of forest north of Houston, the newly renovated Woodlands Resort is a destination of fun and relaxation. Just steps from 406 deluxe guest rooms are two championship golf courses and the Forest Oasis Waterscape™ with 1,000 foot lazy river. Guests enjoy seasonal poolside dining, dive-in movies and family-friendly entertainment. Other resort amenities include a full-service spa and fitness facility, 190 miles of trails, and tennis courts. Explore the property's three restaurants or lounge, plus nearby shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Resort And Conference Center
The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing