We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST Location to Stay for the Springs!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Toyahvale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Solomon Spring Courts
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toyahvale
Austin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“BEST Location to Stay for the Springs!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Deduct a point for the uninspired housekeeping, deduct a point for no wi-fi, but then add all the points back in and then some because you're staying IN the park right across from one of the biggest, cleanest, clearest, and finest spring fed swimming pools on Earth.

Now on to the lodging: The Courts are actually old "motor courts" from the '30's or '40's. If you've ever stayed there note that if your room has a kitchen or second bedroom that these were originally garages. The architecture is original tile roofs, plaster walls, and exposed beam ceilings. Most of them have barn swallows nesting under the eaves of the porch, too.

The rooms have been updated over time with good cold A/C, bathrooms with tubs and instant hot water, and some with basic kitchenette units with compact refrigerators and electric cooktops. The rooms also have a microwave, cable TV and a charcoal grill out front. The rooms are dated, furnishings well used and carpeting a little threadbare, but everything works as intended and the park staff do their best to keep the place up.

Balmorhea State Park has become a very popular destination over the years, and there are lots of kids and families that stay in the courts and in the campground. Anytime a ton of people are having a blast things just get noisy! If this sort of thing annoys you, visit during the week after Labor Day when you'll have the place to yourself. But no matter what, just get in there, swim, and enjoy this very special place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are adjacent to the lovely canal that carries spring water from the pool to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    11
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

My three kids and I stayed here for one night on our way to Colorado from Texas. We stayed in one of the three-bed, two-room suites for about $85. The rooms were far from luxurious but clean and comfortable and walking distance from the spring, as well as the creek where the kids could see turtles, fish, etc. The only problem was that I could not lock the back door to the room, and had we been there for more than one night, I would have raised that issue with the staff. Despite that, for that price, I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KLWHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is a beautiful state park. The rooms are in dire need of renovation. Due to budget restraints and the state of Texas not prioritizing where they spend available funds the rooms here go lacking. The last time we stayed there was a problem with mice climbing into the bed in the middle of the night. Sorry I can not say anything better about the rooms at this time. This is one of the best destinations in Texas with a lack of decent lodging for now.

Room Tip: Go ahead and visit the park. Just stay somewhere else until the rooms here undergo major renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SCJJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toyahvale hotels

Dallas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Just spent the weekend here at the San Soloman Courts in Balmorhea State Park. Got a room with two beds and kitchenette. I was told they don't supply anything, so we packed in what we needed. The rooms are older and worn, but were very clean and comfortable. The grounds were very quiet and relaxing. This is the most convenient place to stay if you plan to spend time in the park. The park rangers were very friendly and appreciative of us supporting the State Park (of which all State Parks are in need of support right now). I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jebbpra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Just spent the weekend diving at Balmorhea. Loved the water! Got a room with two beds and kitchenette. I was told they don't supply anything, so I packed in what I needed. I think 'jbza' must have been expecting special treatment. The rooms are older and worn, but were clean. I expected to need bug spray based on all the bug comments, didn't see even one bug in my room! Staff was really nice. Grounds were clean. The place could definitely use some updating! But I wasn't expecting a Marriott. I expected a clean, warm place to shower and sleep and visit with my dive friends after a great day of diving and that is what I had.

Room Tip: Room 7 had a lovely view of the stream behind the motor court and the sun rose over it...lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiveChick630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

The spring fed pool is wonderful and would recommend visiting it, but the attached state park motel is awful. For our party of 4, we had 2 towels, one soap and absolutely nothing is supplied in the so called kitchenette, rooms are dark and dingy. Our neighbors violated all state park/camping rules by smoking, drinking openly on their patio attached to ours, cursing, throwing things into the wee hours of the morning. One cannot call the office to complain, because there are no phones and the rangers all leave the office for the night, so you would have to find and walk to the ranger's home at 3AM to file a complaint. In the morning we did complain, and the ranger talked to the neighbors, but they loudly commented that would be doing it all again the next night (the ranger had said this group were "regulars". Scary, very scary. We left after one night (had planned to spend 3) and luckily got into the Indian Lodge in Ft. Davis. Unless you like staying near obscenity screaming drunks throwing footballs on your window--stay far far away from this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jbza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

The motel at Balmorhea State Park is cute at first glance, but ill maintained. The only advantage of staying there is its proximity to the pool and the low price.
The grounds, though recently planted with native buffalo grass, were overgrown, but beautiful native shrubs were flowering profusely. The entry of the adobe style room is spacious, with room to hang dive gear.
Double beds weren't too bad, but one of the headboards was broken and the only chairs in the room were hard Adirondacks with no cushions.
The kitchen was outfitted with a range and half-refrigerator, but there was only one knob for the two burners and the on-light was erratic. The stove burner was on when we arrived but the refrigerator was turned off so we had to ice down our coolers until late that night.
The tiny bathroom smelled like mildew and urine and there was no counter space, only a pedastal sink. Though the shower provided ample hot water, there was very low water pressure or poorly maintained shower heads.
Staff, though friendly, failed to advise us that sprinklers behind the units would be run every few hours but we found out right after we lit our grill for dinner. There were broken plastic adirondack deck chairs on the small patios.
My fiance likes the proximity of the motel to the pool, but I heard a few pool visitors suggest a couple of nearby motels, including the Eleven Inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank longsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to San Solomon Spring Courts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Solomon Spring Courts

Property: San Solomon Spring Courts
Address: Balmorhea State Park, Toyahvale, TX 79786
Region: United States > Texas > Toyahvale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toyahvale
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
San Solomon Spring Courts Hotel Toyahvale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing