We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Marriott property I have ever stayed in and I stay in them on a weekly basis!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tyler
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Tyler
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worst Marriott property I have ever stayed in and I stay in them on a weekly basis!”
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Stay away, the new courtyard is the place to stay at. This place is like the Bates motel. Likes flicker in the hallway and you just get the feeling that you are being watched. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mybagsarepacked21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    109
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
143
54
24
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

I travel to Tyler 6 -8 times a year on business and have yet to find a decent hotel here. This visit I went for the Fairfield as it was part of the Marriott group with whom I am an elite member cardholder with.
This has to be the worst experience of a Marriott I have stayed in - the front desk staff need to at least acknowledge guests, so many days we didnt even get a greeting.
The worst part was the room cleaning - on one day the cleaners didn’t even bother after my partner and I passed them in the corridor and said our room was ready as we went late to breakfast. We were out all day in meetings and came back late that night to find no-one had been in - the bed was unmade, the towels not changed and still on the floor damp where we had left them after showering.
The supplies were not re-stocked everyday also - I never take shampoo with me as is standard in any hotel, but this place never restocked any of this stuff or the coffee sachets regularly.
We also had an overnight stay on a weekend night where some collage kids stayed to go to a prom - they were noisy and apparently took everything out of the rooms - the refrigerators, microwaves etc - the woman on the desk said it was because they had no security at the hotel - a lady next to us said she was travelling alone and didn’t want to hear this.
Wont be coming back here in a hurry!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnytraveler2
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

I always keep this reservation for reference so I do not make this mistake again. It was the noisest room I have ever spent a night in. The windows might as well been glad wrap. The bathroom was nasty nice. Very suprising quality for a fairfield inn. I book alot of Marriott properties and I am always contient if not very pleased with all qualities including location but this hotel fails on all aspects.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnytraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

This Fairfied came through for us as we had not made reservations and needed a hotel. The front desk staff were very helpful and were the best part of the stay. Their dinner suggestion was very good. The rooms are overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechnicalTraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandria, LA
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

This is not a great hotel. It seems to have been something else (a cheaper chain) before becoming a Fairfield. The location is odd. As a woman traveling on business, I will not stay here again. It just was not safe feeling, and seemed old and unkept.

  • Liked — Fairfield-part of the chain. Thought that guaranteed a certain level of cleanliness and comfort
  • Disliked — It was not very clean and seemed not very safe.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelingcircus38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2005

I have stayed at this hotel several times now. Each time I have found the hotel and rooms to be very clean and the staff friendly and capable. The rooms are not fancy but are clean and nicely furnished for this category of hotel. The room rate includes a continental breakfast that is very good. There is an indoor pool and spa. The hotel is close to many area restaurants. A good value for the area and for the quality of the accomodations.

  • Stayed July 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 July 2005

Nothing fancy here, but for a good nights rest and a good bed, this is a good place to stay.

I travel to Tyler, Texas about every other month and almost always stay here. Staff members are very nice and the free breakfast in the morning is pretty good.

  • Stayed June 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tyler hotels
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tyler - South
1.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Tyler South
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tyler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Southpark Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites at So. Broadway Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Tyler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Tyler

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Tyler
Address: 1945 W Southwest Loop 323, Tyler, TX 75701-8428 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Tyler)
Region: United States > Texas > Tyler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tyler
#3 Business Hotel in Tyler
#4 Family Hotel in Tyler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Tyler 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated hotel in Tyler, TX offers modern amenities and a great location near the Broadway Square Mall. The Fairfield Inn & Suites Tyler is also an easy commute to the Canton Trade Days and Lake Palestine. The hotel is located minutes from many colleges including Texas College, University of Texas at Tyler and Tyler Junior College. Also minutes from the hotel are many local businesses like Trinity Mother Frances, East Texas Medical Center, Ingersoll Rand/Trane, Brookshire Grocery and Suddenlink. Local attractions near the hotel include Caldwell Zoo, Cowan Center, Tyler Rose Garden, East Texas State Fair and Faulkner Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Tyler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Tyler Hotel Tyler
Fairfield Tyler
Tyler Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing