We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“house” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The McClendon House

The McClendon House
Ranked #23 of 37 things to do in Tyler
Attraction details
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“house”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

It was a house in Texas, I guess it was just too hot that day to enjoy much of anything. Fifty words required so I guess that should about do it then.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Leone656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lindale
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing history!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

This 130+ year old victorian mansion is an amazing hidden gem in Tyler. The history behind it will surprise you. Yes, it was the birth place of Sarah McClendon but it was also the center of many happenings that made Tyler grow. The living history tours are top notch and the murder mysteries are a hoot. The night of Jazz music in November was phenomenal and the arts and crafts faire was great! Definitely put this place on your list of stops.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What A House!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

It is a great use of your time to see a Quality house like this one. I recommend it for the history value. I was in awe!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank talltexanfromnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Completely Restored”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Beautiful with a rich history. Almost lost with neglect. But now she is a shinning charm.

Helpful?
1 Thank valval2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“old house”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

I didn't really see anything special about this place, just went because we didn't have anything better to do,

Helpful?
Thank bherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The McClendon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing