We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old school still the rule”
Review of Loggins

Loggins
Ranked #86 of 364 Restaurants in Tyler
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lindale
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Old school still the rule”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This restaraunt has been in business since before most of us were born. It's down home country cooking at its best. No frills, no flash, just good cooking. My only complaint is that their hours are limited and I would like to be able to go there any time. If you catch them open, don't hesitate to give it a go.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tyler, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Must try!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

If you haven't eaten here- GO ALREADY! They are only open for lunch-- and they are busy. When you take your first bite you will know why! Buffett! But save room for dessert cuz you aint seen nothing like it!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kandas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I eat at restaurants a lot, both in Tyler and out of town, and I have to say that Loggins is by far the best American-style buffet I have ever had. The outside of the building (and even the inside) are not fancy by any means, and it is they type of place that I might normally pass up, just based on appearance. Fortunately, my husband convinced me to try it and now it is one of those places in Tyler where we go when we really want a treat (and can afford the calories!) We have brought our families and friends there, and everyone loves it. My favorite is the fried catfish, with candied sweet potatoes (like none other you will ever have), macaroni and cheese, and black-eyed peas. But, of course, there are tons of other options that are great, so I always to back to get a little of this and a little of that. They always have an assortment of pies, which are included with the buffet, and it's best to get their early to pick out the pie that you want because it's first come, first served. Go to Loggins if you want delicious, downhome food that you will not find anywhere else!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GringaLoca_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“True Downhome Cookin!”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Now this is the place to eat if you want real "home cookin". They only serve buffet style but you have a humongous selection of homestyle cooked eats that are to die for. Remember back when, your momma or granny on a Sunday would put out a spread of food including several desserts? This is that kind of place. And, the owner(s) both come around to make sure you have enough and to see if everything is the way you like it. Not many places left like this one for sure. Super fantastic! A "must eat there place"!
ps. Just remember you're in "Aggie Country".

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RICHRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An old tradition”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Loggins is full of regulars who appear to have been going there for decades.
For a new visitor, the buffet was passable, but not great. I have to pass on usual favorites like chicken fried steak and mashed potatoes, but the vegetable were just okay, nothing memorable.

Can't say I have any complaints, but can't say I remember much about what I ate, either.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trialdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Loggins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing