We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful getaway at Utopia on the River!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Utopia on the River
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Utopia
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A wonderful getaway at Utopia on the River!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

My friend and I stayed at Utopia on the River for a girls weekend getaway from the hustle and bustle of the big city. What a perfect choice! The lodge was so peaceful and relaxing. We sat out on the front porch and enjoyed watching the deer feed in the a.m. and p.m. when the feeder was timed to feed the deer. We also saw wild turkeys. What a lovely country setting and such a beautiful property too. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The pool area was nice with a pool that resembled a lagoon and a hot tub that felt good after a hike in the park! There was a river on the back of the property that you could get in, but be sure to have water shoes if you do as there are stones on the bottom that make it challenging to walk. The room was comfortable and spacious. The breakfasts varied each day and were yummy! Delicious home cooking. There aren't too many restaurants in the area so be sure to have that figured out before you go.

Some sites to take in while you are in the area are: Garner State Park, Lost Maples State Park, Frio Bat Flight, the Apple Orchard in Medina. Be sure to take the scenic drive on road 337 to Medina and Leakey as it is breathtaking. You can skip driving road 336, it's lengthy and not very scenic at all. Good places to eat are the Apple Store in Medina - their hamburgers are delicious as are their apple turnovers and apple pie! Neals Restaurant in Concan was also very good. Not so good is Lost Maples Cafe.

The only cell phone service is AT&T so be sure to keep this in mind when you travel to Utopia. The lodge has wi-fi service that you can access.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itsallgood4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utopialodge, Social Media Manager at Utopia on the River, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
What a great "girls weekend" you had! Your visitor tips are appreciated too and thanks for taking the time to write a review for us on Trip Advisor. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    30
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
67
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Having had a wonderful wedding weekend at the Inn a few years back, when thinking about where to have our family reunion for this year, we decided to return to Utopia and last weekend
the family gathered at Utopia on the River for three nights. The family came from California, Florida, Michigan and south and central Texas. It is about 1 and 3/4 hours driving distance from the San Antonio airport. We had the best time and I would thoroughly recommend this fine spot for a laid back and relaxing time. The breakfasts were delicious with lots of food and variety and the dinner prepared for us by Cheryl and her daughter Karen was spectacular. Utopia is a unique slice of rural Texas and located in one of the prettiest areas in the state. The personalized help and warmth of the owners is the icing on the cake. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ladybug1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We took a quick 2-day trip to Utopia after seeing the movie "Seven Days in Utopia" and it was heaven! Times stood still in the most beautiful way! ...the town is just precious with not even a stoplight! The people and so friendly and kind! Out stay at Utopia on the River was First Class! ...the best breakfast ever and praline pancakes! The owners and staff are so genuine and helpful in every way!!! ...put this trip and stay at Utopia on the River on your to-do list! We will be going back for sure :-)!!! My husband and I went to celebrate our pregnancy...but use this place for friends, family retreats, corporate retreats, etc...it was PERFECT :-)!!!

Room Tip: Every room is great :-)!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CedesBenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This charming retreat is the perfect place for a getaway. I spent the weekend at Utopia on the River and enjoyed the hotel and the town. Make sure to take a walk along the river and spend some time at night staring up at the stars. My favorite aspect of my stay was the very friendly and helpful staff. A very close second is the cooked to order breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedondoSurferDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I surprised my husband with a trip to Utopia for his birthday. We recently watched Seven Days in Utopia (Recent Robert Duvall movie), and being that my husband is a golfer, and a devout Christian man, I thought it would be fun for him to play the golf course featured in the movie. I inviting two other couples to join us as a surprise to my husband and we all had a wonderful time. We LOVED the hotel. Our room was very spacious and the king size bed was nice. The hard wood floors were great too...very rustic, and they creaked when we walked across the floor...something we like, but might have kept the neighbors awake...? The grounds around the inn were fantastic with lots of huge, old cypress trees. They have the third largest balled cypress tree in the state of Texas - it's a sight to see, and a definite photo opportunity! The river was way down and barely running, but we enjoyed walking along the banks anyway. The pool and hot tub looked inviting, however, it was the first weekend of February when we stayed so we didn't use them! Karyn, the inn keeper, was VERY friendly and we enjoyed talking with her and her family quite a bit. She made a very nice, delicious southern breakfast for us, and then the guys went to play golf and me and the girls just hung out around the hotel in the main house living/dining area.

The town of Utopia is a gem...very small but full of extremely friendly people! We ate dinner on Friday night in Tarpley (another VERY small town!) at a place called Mac & Ernies-Fantastic food-worth every penny! Friday night, we stopped by the Lost Maples Cafe in Utopia for some to die for chocolate pie-made specially for my husband at our inn keeper's request! Saturday, we went back into town (a 1-2 minute drive, if that!) and enjoyed lunch back at the cafe...everything was very good, including their buttermilk pie! YUM!!!

If the hustle and bustle of a resort and large town are your thing, then Utopia and the places I've mentioned are not for you. But if you sincerely enjoy a GETAWAY away from cell phones and computers, this is the place for you! I highly recommend Utopia on the River as your place to stay. You won't regret it! We plan to go back with the kids in the spring as the hotel grounds have a LOT to offer families with kids!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 12 with a queen bed...it was upstairs all the way to the left if facing the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

Utopia on the River was a great place to take our teenagers for a long weekend. They are home schooled so we were able to arrive on a Wednesday and stayed through Sunday. There was so much for the kids to do from swimming in the pool and river (although the river was pretty cold since it is spring fed) to lounging in the hot tub, floating down the local rivers, and horseback riding. We got a few side trips in to see the apple orchards in Medina and have some of their delicious apple ice cream and to tour the historic buildings in Uvalde. The evenings were peaceful as the kids piled onto the comfortable beds to watch movies on the TV in our room and my husband and I sat on the front porch in large wooden rockers and admired the huge number of stars in the Utopian sky. We would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scouter33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed for one night in late September. The lodge was almost completely filled with guests which created a shortage of parking spaces close to the rooms. The owner was very friendly and the cleanliness of the room was adequate but it still left a lot to be desired for the price we paid. The linens and furnishings of our room were old and worn out. The wooden floors looked to be original and are basically unfinished now. The bathroom fixtures are dated but at least they do function. There is a pool but it was not working and the grounds of the lodge need care. This good be a great spot again but it really needs some work done to bring in the rate they charge.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank er917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Utopia on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia on the River

Property: Utopia on the River
Address: 363 County Road 360, PO Box 847, Utopia, TX 78884
Region: United States > Texas > Utopia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Utopia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Utopia on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Years ago, there were places you could visit in the Texas hill country and feel like you had stepped back in time to a simpler, quieter era. Places where you could let your body relax as you sat on the banks of a cool, spring-fed stream listening to the water rush over the smooth river rocks or sit in a comfortable lounge chair at night, gazing at more stars than you have seen since you were six! Did you ever wonder if such a place still exists? Well it does, and it is called Utopia on the River! Located near the little town of Utopia, Texas, Utopia on the River is a year-round vacation destination with mild winters and plenty of sunshine. Nestled on the banks of the Sabinal River, Utopia on the River has 700 feet of river frontage with a swimming pool and hot tub for your enjoyment. With a variety of activities in the area, Utopia on the River is the perfect launching point for both outdoor excursions and relaxation. Visit us today a unplug and rejuvenate in our peaceful space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Utopia on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utopia On The River Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing