We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing get-a-way at Utopia on the River” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Utopia on the River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Utopia on the River
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Utopia
Certificate of Excellence
Bulverde
2 reviews
“Relaxing get-a-way at Utopia on the River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

My husband and I just had a wonderful weekend at Utopia on the River for a weekend get a way from the kids. The place is WONDERFUL. Cheryl is a great hostess. It's more like going and staying with friends than staying at an Inn. Plus you get a great home cooked breakfast every morning. It feels more like you are staying in a bedroom in a home than in a motel/hotel room. Had a relaxing evening with a bottle of wine watching the Sabinal river among the gorgeous cypress trees. With all the deer and hummingbirds, it's a little piece of paradise. Thanks you so much Cheryl!! Hope to get back there one of these days! I will definitely spread the word!

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room. Even though they have nice wooden floors, noticed they creaked really bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utopialodge, Social Media Manager at Utopia on the River, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thanks for the great review on TA! We love to hear when our guests had a nice stay and were able to get some much needed relaxation! Your feedback is appreciated. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    30
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
67
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Just what the Doctor ordered--peace, quiet, and tranquility--next to the gentle flowing, crystal clear Sabinal River.

The family at Utopia on the River were extremely hospitable. Cheryl took my reservation, and made me feel like she was my favorite aunt when I checked in, explaining where to eat, and suggestions on where to visit. Cindy, a receptionist and breakfast cook. prepared and served a delicious breakfast, went out of her way to allow me to carry meal to my wife, a late sleeper, upstairs. One of the housekeeping workers, a very interesting man with a weathered face and steel blue eyes, explained the story of the movie and people of " 7 days in Utopia". (find it on Netflix--just viewed it--surprise ending),. I thought people like these were no more, but they exist here, in this secluded piece of heaven.

We just arrived home, in San Antonio, and already miss the stress-free atmosphere of Utopia on the River. My wife wants me to schedule plans for a future trip.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the lodge area are quieter and more private...We enjoyed upstairs to prevent noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Utrera123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utopialodge, Social Media Manager at Utopia on the River, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear your stay was exactly what you had hoped (and needed)! We love our guests and it was a pleasure to meet you. We hope you will come back again soon for some more R & R!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Quite peaceful getaway on beautiful section of Sabinal river. The staff treats you like family. This is a bed and breakfast not a big chain hotel, don't come here expecting midnight room service and 24 hr gyms. Come here to slow down relax and unwind.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ffjohn2818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utopialodge, Social Media Manager at Utopia on the River, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you for your review! WE are glad you got away from it all and were able to enjoy our "peaceful" location and accommodations! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a mini vacation. It was so relaxing right on the river. The room was cozy and comfortable. We had 2 double beds in our room with 2 rocking chairs. they have a pool and hot tub. We loved it!! The staff was amazing! Not only were they helpful, but so nice. The breakfast was the best home cooking I've ever had. I can not wait to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmickleklan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utopialodge, Social Media Manager at Utopia on the River, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thanks so much for your review! We are glad to hear you feel this is your "home away from home"...that is what we want everyone to feel like! Perfect. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Very friendly hosts and employees, in tranquil and unassuming - yet welcoming - lodge and guest rooms, and lovely grounds along the river with plentiful deer, squirrels, and songbirds. Unbelievable giant cypress trees! Yummy, hearty, home style breakfasts, and if you go hungry it's your own fault! Menu varies by day, but we enjoyed fried eggs/patty sausage/biscuits/hot spiced peaches and scrambled eggs/link sausage/French toast plus juices & coffee/hot tea while there. We LOVED that breakfast is served come-and-go over a one-hour period and early enough to allow jumpstarts on day trips to Garner or Lost Maples parks or a golf outing. Rooms are spacious and spic 'n span. We had two rocking chairs plus a nice table, and all rooms have a small fridge & microwave. Decor is somewhat dated, but that adds to a "cabin/lodge" feel...if you're looking for upscale lodging, you're probably not the right guest for Utopia on the River Lodge. This would be a great place for a family reunion stay (wish we'd had family along), and it's ideally located as base for easy access to popular parks and sights in the area. Wifi & 4 TV channels (2 network plus Fox & Hallmark) for the less adventurous. :-)

Room Tip: We liked upstairs over the pool but with a great view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherylynn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utopialodge, Social Media Manager at Utopia on the River, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
What a nice review you gave us on Trip Advisor! We are so glad to hear your stay in the was everything you expected and that you found our breakfasts so yummy. We do work hard to make sure everyone has a nice meal! and are glad you noticed! Please come back again for another quiet getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beeville, tx
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

This was my fourth stay over the last ten years and stayed one night January 26, 2013. The scenery continues to be incredible, with state record cypress trees and a beautiful river along side, but the room furnishings were lacking. The bed was an old spring bed , sagging in the middle, quite squeaky, there were no throw rugs on the bare concrete floor. The walls were thin and you could hear the neighbors talking . The continental breakfast had good food , but the room had no background music and was quiet as a morgue and the patrons were uncomfortably speaking in whispers. The kitchen staff were attentive and friendly. The younger woman behind the computer was distracted, never looking up while I stood there waiting to just ask her a question even though she could see me in her peripheral vision and was clearly irritated to finally have to talk to me. I get the impression they are letting things go downhill.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank semmes1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utopialodge, Social Media Manager at Utopia on the River, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
We are sorry your stay was not what it has been in the past. We did quite a few improvements in 2012 and we have more scheduled for this year. We take pride in the staff we have here that they take the time to make you feel at home. We are looking into what happened with your experience with the staff at the front desk. That is not acceptable to us. We hope you come again soon to see more of our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimberley, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

Really clean, quiet (except for the wood floors in bedroom suite), and gorgeous views of Sabinal River. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Utopia on the River. Nice and relaxing. Breakfast was absolutely wonderful as well! Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utopialodge, Social Media Manager at Utopia on the River, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Thank you for your kind words on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear you found your accommodations clean and comfortable! Please come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utopia
15.8 mi away
River Bluff Cabins
River Bluff Cabins
#1 of 3 in Rio Frio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Utopia on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia on the River

Property: Utopia on the River
Address: 363 County Road 360, PO Box 847, Utopia, TX 78884
Region: United States > Texas > Utopia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Utopia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Utopia on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Years ago, there were places you could visit in the Texas hill country and feel like you had stepped back in time to a simpler, quieter era. Places where you could let your body relax as you sat on the banks of a cool, spring-fed stream listening to the water rush over the smooth river rocks or sit in a comfortable lounge chair at night, gazing at more stars than you have seen since you were six! Did you ever wonder if such a place still exists? Well it does, and it is called Utopia on the River! Located near the little town of Utopia, Texas, Utopia on the River is a year-round vacation destination with mild winters and plenty of sunshine. Nestled on the banks of the Sabinal River, Utopia on the River has 700 feet of river frontage with a swimming pool and hot tub for your enjoyment. With a variety of activities in the area, Utopia on the River is the perfect launching point for both outdoor excursions and relaxation. Visit us today a unplug and rejuvenate in our peaceful space. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Utopia On The River Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing