We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sabinal River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$112
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bandera Lodge(Bandera)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
7
4
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
4
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Great place to stay!. Nice roomy lodge. What I love the most about this place is the fact that the 4 units available are elevated. In other words on the 2nd floor. The bottom part or 1st floor is open to the outdoors and they have lounge chairs, barbeque pits etc., perfect area for enjoying the outdoors. Owners are very nice and helpful. They even let us borrow some mattressess for our extra guests. Another great feature is the balcony facing the Sabinal river. Also equiped with great comfy furniture. Definately our place of choice. Beautiful.

Room Tip: if you have a big family or several families going, book the 4 units and you share the the balcony and the outdoor area. more privacy.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veronica c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

Great room, kitchenet , dining table, fridge, nice linens. Close to camp lonehollow. Owners live on site. The river is 50 feet out back and deer sleep outside the cabin. Not that you need a tv, but it could be larger or closer to the bed so you can actually see it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank acwb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Stayed in the Sabinal River Lodge for one night while we were visiting the Lost Maples and Garner State Park. The owners (Gary and Sandy Morris) live on the property and met us when we arrived. Their pride of ownership was obvious as they showed us to our room. They wanted us to see all the features in the room as well as on the property. The room was very comfortable and the kitchenette was very well equipped - even including coffee grounds for the coffee-maker. We would definitely want to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MemphisBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

This is a great place to stay close to the "action" in Utopia. Everything is within strolling distance, if you don't mind enjoying fresh country air and small town scenery. The cabins are high enough you can enjoy the views and the patio feeders are frequented by a huge variety of birds and hummingbirds. Each cabin has comfy beds, a kitchenette and a table, plus Satellite TV. The river rolls through the corner of the yard and there's a large grassy area for the kids to run and catch fireflies at night. Just up the way you will find a couple of restaurants, a park, antique shops, the general store, and a coffee house. Loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MommyHowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2007

My husband and I took the family to Utopia,Texas for a last family vacation before summer break was officially over. We booked a two night stay at the Sabinal River Lodge, which was a 4 unit cabin along the Sabinal River in Utopia,Tx (80 miles west of San Antonio). Thankfully, it was only after we arrived at the lodge that the car decided it no longer wanted to start. Luckily, Utopia is full of kind people. One of the fellow vacationers found a mechanic and sent him our way. The mechanic confirmed it was the starter that failed. The lodge owners offered my husband their car to Uvalde (about 45 miles away) to pick up the part and the upon his return immediately fixed the car. This gave us the excuse to extend our vacation and enjoy the beautiful scenery. The Sabinal River runs right behind the lodge with natural springs feeding it off the property.It makes summer in Texas pleasant.

The lodge has many modern ammenities with satellite tv,dvd player, wireless internet, a fully stocked kitchenette and comfortable beds. Stay in and make homecooked meals at one of many outdoor pits or eat out at the local cafes. Soak in the cool waters of the river or drive 20 minutes away to Lost Maples SP or Garner SP. Lots to see and enjoy. Gary and Sandy Morris are wonderful hosts. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jud7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews