We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury In West Texas”
Review of Hotel El Capitan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Capitan
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were traveling to New Mexico and needed a place for the night. This hotel was on our list of potentials and we were more than pleased. The courtyard with fountain and hummingbirds leading to the lobby was our first clue and it just kept getting better. Our room was pure luxury with a delightfully comfortable king bed and elegant bedding. The restaurant served excellent food and adult beverages. And the price could not be beat. We would have paid way more in another city.

Room Tip: The rooms in front are close to rail road tracks so choose a back room if you are a light sleeper. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brekal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband grew up in Van Horn. We went back there for a family reunion and a 50th wedding anniversary. We lived in Van Horn back in the mid-80s and return occasionally because we have family there. The El Capitan was originally a hotel. It was later turned into a bank and was such for many years. But it has been returned to it's past purpose and a wonderful job was done in it's renovation. The entrance is welcoming, the doors set off the street. There are tables and chairs set around a fountain in a courtyard type setting. The lobby has terracotta tile floors and a large desk. Comfortable leather furniture is placed for those that might be waiting on others in their group. Checking in was a breeze and the desk person was very helpful and my husband knew her. We got to our room and got settled in. It was a small room with a comfortable queen bed. A flat screen TV was mounted on the wall. A desk and chair were to one side of the bed but there wasn't room for any other seating. There was one bed stand next to the bed and the other was on the wall by the bathroom and the window. The bathroom was very small but well appointed. The towels were very thick and soft. And there were a few nice amenities. My main complaint with the room was there was no where to put our clothes. The one closet had a small fridge and a hanging bar but you really couldn't hang much there. Since the building was originally built in the 30s the rooms simply don't have much space to work with. There are suites but we were in a regular room.

They have a very nice breakfast bar that is free and it really has a good selection. They also serve dinner in the evening I believe although we didn't eat there. You walk through a sitting/reading room with a desk available for writing postcards or whatnot. There is also a room available for group meetings or parties. There is also a gift shop off the lobby situated in what used to be a bank vault. Our stay there was a good one. It is worth checking it out if you are passing through Van Horn, Texas.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet but if you want to make sure you have NO noise ask for a room on the inside of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Leigh155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We chose The El Capitan in Van Horn because it was a middle ground between the McDonald Observatory and Carlsbad Caverns. Such a lovely step back in time. The hotel has been lovingly restored with an attention to detail. Be sure to sink into a leather chair in the lobby and appreciate the fine details of the building's architecture. Choose a table in the courtyard to enjoy the free breakfast and the magnificent views. The front desk staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Can't wait to return!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Adventuregal890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A really nice place kinda like stepping back in time, it was built in the 30s or 40s I think, nice staff,nice bar onsite,staff was excellent and the food was tasty. I'm honestly not sure what there is to see around Van Horn but this was a nice place to stop while traveling I-10.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank worth57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were actually there in July of 2013, on a road trip from San Antonio to San Diego. We were originally supposed to camp, but before leaving, we decided it was going to be too hot and found this place online. I'm so glad we did. When we pulled in, it started pouring rain and the lightning was incredible.

We'd booked one of the "balcony rooms" that overlook the courtyard and it was so charming. The balcony might be a little small, but the room was plenty big and the tile in the bathroom was cool. The lobby is lovely.

And the restaurant was great. Pulling in, I was a little worried I'd have to eat Clif Bars or cold burritos from our travel bag because Texas is a land of steak and the restaurant looked a little too old school to accommodate a vegetarian. I was totally wrong. They whipped me up some pasta with a pile of veggies. The waitress was a great storyteller and the whole experience was quite relaxing.

The next morning the husband got a waffle shaped like Texas before we hit the road.

If we're ever in Van Horn again (which, we'd still like to explore the nearby Natl Parks some more), we'll stay here.

Room Tip: The "balcony" isn't big enough for a chair, but it's adorable and you could maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neliza D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Between San Antonio and points west, this is a great stopover. They have a small handicapped accessible room with a large roll-in shower. If you have a large power wheelchair, it's a little tight, but a manual chair would have no problem. The outdoor patio is great for morning coffee or to enjoy their breakfast offerings. The train makes it a little noisy so ask for a room at the back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel. Room 226 has a great roll-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScrappyTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Anna, front desk clerk, said the hotel had been all redone. Cute hotel, inside and out. Beautiful tile in the lobby area, patio has lovely fountain. AC and elevator. Rooms are quaint, keeping with the era it was built originally. All the normal amenities: fridge,microwave,coffee pot makes 4 cups not just one, room AC, ceiling fan. Lamps have outlets, nice for those using a CPAP.

Dinner was good. Mae Mae, our server, was super, helpful and friendly. Even allowed us to take our drinks to our room and re-glassed them for us so we wouldn't spill. It's fun to order chocolate martinis, they never come the same way twice.

The only downside, and not the hotel's fault, is the train goes by every couple of hours blowing its whistle. We were so tired though, we would just roll over and go back to sleep each time. From our balcony we could watch the trains while having drinks and or coffee.

Great place. Highly recommend it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GrammaRia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Van Horn hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Van Horn
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Van Horn
Hampton Inn Van Horn
#3 of 14 in Van Horn
646 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
#10 of 14 in Van Horn
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#6 of 14 in Van Horn
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Van Horn TX
Days Inn Van Horn TX
#12 of 14 in Van Horn
297 reviews
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 14 in Van Horn
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Capitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Capitan

Address: 100 E. Broadway, PO Box 667, Van Horn, TX 79855-0667
Region: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range: £57 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel El Capitan is the only historic hotel in Van Horn. The hotel was established in 1930 and built by the famous Trost & Trost architecture firm of Texas. The owners of the hotel are native born Texans and have established a reputation for buying and restoring historic inns in Far West Texas. The hotel is on the Texas Mountain Trail as well as the crossroads of the Guadalupe Mountains and the Big Bend National Parks off Interstate 10. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing