We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would NOT stay there again the place is in a good quiet place sorround by nature.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
2 reviews
“Would NOT stay there again the place is in a good quiet place sorround by nature.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Would NOT stay again there are Roaches in the rooms eeeewww i had to sleep with all the lights on so i didnt have nothing crawl on me or my kids.
The place is sorounded by nature but in the pictures it looks better.There is a tire shop on the side that is really usefull thats why we stayed there. The people in the lobby are nice but i would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    17
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
15
16
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wharton, Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Plus: very comfortable bed, nice sized room, interior fresh with seemingly new carpet, paint, furniture. Room rate was very reasonable.
Micro, fridge, coffee maker.

Minus: air conditioner was the kind that cut on and off all night., outside of hotel was not kept up as nice as interior.
Continental breakfast was the most meager I've ever seen. Very few choices. In room coffee maker sputtered but eventually finished the cycle but the coffee smelled so bad I didn't even try it.

This town has many motels to choose from.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontheroad
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

and good internet service. They've been re-doing the property and freshening it up. Not too many choices for breakfast but most should be able to make a lite breakfast of it. Smooth check-in and check-out. Could easily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsalotaplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pass Christian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

This is a very clean, comfortable motel. The bed was extremely comfortable. A bit of a problem upon arriving as we had requested a ground floor room and the owner said he had none available. We were early arriving and cancellation time was 4pm. My wife pulled out her phone and started calling Choice Hotels and immediately a ground floor room became available. The breakfast was warm colored water called coffee and watered down pitcher of orange juice. Big sign out front says HOT Breakfast. They did have bread and a toaster.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winder, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

This was a one night stay on a cross country trip driven by the availability of pet friendly hotels in select areas. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was nice. It appears to be run by a couple, as they sometime close the office to assist maid in room make up. Breakfast was a bit of a diaappointment in that some items were still a little frozen and they had fruit drink (like tang) instead of fruit juice.
This hotel was just one in a row of budget hotels on this street without much scenery and was good for a night or two.

Room Tip: Stay near the front. The rooms in the rear are closer to the expressway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Let me first say that the curb appeal is fine and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Although this property is not A+ for fit and finish, it is a B and is more than acceptable for an overnight, when passing through. It is a decent day's drive from Phoenix and my wife and I will most likely stay here again when we travel East.

The down side is the people that run it. They are obviously from India and they have no idea what American Hospitality is all about. The ice machine is outside and the morning was cold the day we left so the machine was frozen and non-operational. When I asked if it could be made functional, the answer was simply 'No'. When I asked if there was some other way to get ice for our travel cups, the answer was simply 'No' and the man behind the counter then turned and walked away into the back room leaving me standing there.

There is a Truck Stop at the East end of town where you can gas up and they were gracious enough to let us get the ice and water we needed for the day's drive and would not hear of letting us pay them for it.

All in all, we will probably stay here again for an overnight because it is convenient. This time, however, we will know what to expect from the people that run it. I can only hope that someday they will realize that they are in business for their guests and without us they will soon be doing something else. They cannot deal with the people of the United States like they may have dealt with the people in the country they come from and expect to be a success, especially if it comes across as rude.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mileaway_PHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

I booked a room at this Econo Lodge with Choice Rewards points and was expecting a horrible bed - a la most Econo Lodges - marginal cleanliness and a poor night's sleep. I was surprised. The bed was very comfortable, the room was exceptionally clean and it was a pleasant stay. I do have two complaints:
1. The wifi did not work till morning.
2. The breakfast consisted of old looking cereal a few kind of scary looking hard boiled eggs.

There were myriad choices at similar looking motels in town, all advertising rooms for under $30...Had I paid for a room in Van Horn, I would have chosen another property. Still, a pretty decent choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yakama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Van Horn hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Van Horn
Hampton Inn Van Horn
#2 of 14 in Van Horn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Van Horn TX
Days Inn Van Horn TX
#12 of 14 in Van Horn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
#10 of 14 in Van Horn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#5 of 14 in Van Horn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Van Horn
0.2 mi away
Whitten Inn
Whitten Inn
#13 of 14 in Van Horn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1601 W. Broadway St., Van Horn, TX 79855-0669 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Van Horn
Van Horn Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing