We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Traditions”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Von Ormy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hidden Valley RV Park
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
“Family Traditions”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I remember when I was younger, we used to go to Hidden Valley Park and camp out for Easter weekend. This was a family tradition that we did for many years. I have pics when I was an infant and into my teen years. There was a covered area where they had live music and even amusement rides. Is this the same location?

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teri B, family owned at Hidden Valley RV Park, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Sonia, thanks so much for remembering us and the Hidden Valley Recreation Park we used to be. Due mostly to nature, floods, tornadoes, etc., since the year 2000, Hidden Valley is only an RV Park. We fondly remember our years serving our loyal San Antonio families at countless family gatherings, fishing trips, BBQ's and picnics.
Currently, since our lakes no longer exist and the Medina River is no longer accessible, we serve a growing family or RVers, both travelers and local residents who want a peaceful getaway from the city yet only a few miles away. We also have RVs available for use as a weekend vacation or romantic trip away from the routine. We would be happy to have you stop by and let us show you the Hidden Valley we have become.
Our family has owned Hidden Valley for over 40 years and we greatly appreciate all our past current and future patrons and consider each of you part of our family.
Thanks again. Teri at Hidden Valley RV Park 210-623-6737
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    17
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
17
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smithville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We spent 1 week at Hidden Valley and absolutely loved our experience. It's a little remote but with a vehicle to explore, this isn't a problem. San Antonio is a 20-30 minute drive away. The owners are very friendly and willing to help in any way they can. Our site was large, level and all services worked great. There are 2 levels to this RV Park - the upper and lower levels. We were located in the lower level, which is indeed a hidden valley. The only downside was that communication wasn't the greatest (either with the RV WiFi or our own private WiFi). That being said, the upper level probably doesn't have this problem. Being a smaller RV Park, the laundry room is small and clean, the club house is quaint with kitchen facilities and the library is quite extensive. Overall we would definitely recommend Hidden Valley RV Park to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teri B, family operator at Hidden Valley RV Park, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Being a small family operated park we really appreciate your time and effort in helping us tell others about Hidden Valley with your reviews.

The fact that we are in a valley and in the country can, at times, have an impact on our wifi...as you mentioned. We are looking into making some changes to affect some changes to that situation. Thanks for letting us know.

We so enjoyed getting to meet and serve you and Peter and hope your next visit to the states will again include San Antonio and Hidden Valley RV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creswell, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

If you are looking for a quiet place to stay while visiting San Antonio or Lackland AFB, this is the place to stay! The owners are the friendliest hosts we have ever encountered! Teri arranged for us to take a tour of San Antonio. The bus was to pick us up at the campground but was delayed because of an accident. They invited us into their home while we waited and we had a very nice visit with them. Our family came to visit us and she gave them some bait to fish with in the river that runs through their property. They keep everything very clean and well groomed. They take pride in making their guests have the most enjoyable stay. We will be visiting them again when our other two gradsons go through basic training at the air force base.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teri B, family operator at Hidden Valley RV Park, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time with your review to put Hidden Valley on the map for other travelers. We enjoyed getting to know you and your family a little and are so glad you've become part of our Hidden Valley family. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We were very fortunate to be staying at Hidden Valley RV Park in February, when our pickup was stolen from downtown San Antonio. Terry helped us deal with our insurance claim and extended our stay at a discounted rate, and found someone to tow our 38' fifth wheel to Denton, TX, where we were going to stay several weeks after our San Antonio visit. She treated us like family. The park was a few miles off of the Interstate and very quiet. Everyone there was very nice and helpful during our stressful situation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harker Heights, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Very interesting place to stay just outside of San Antonio. Close to I-35, yet was very quiet and peaceful. Facilities were rustic and not "chain RV park like". Lots were level with hookups that worked. Small and friendly!

Medina River Recreation Area is a true gem in the woods. Just down the road it provided us an excellent place to ride bikes. The trail was paved and 6.5 miles long. Beautiful area to bike, walk, jog, and I suppose even skateboard!

Somewhat of drive back into San Antonio if you wanted to visit the main river walk area. Still it was all within a 15-20 minute drive.

Want a clean, well kept, quiet, and secluded park that doesn't cost an arm and leg to hook up and stay a few nights? This is it...you have arrived!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teri B, Owner at Hidden Valley RV Park, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in San Antonio and hope to serve you again if you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perry, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here for our granddaughter's graduation from basic at Lackland AFB. It was very convenient to the base and Sea World and only a short trip the River Walk. When they say valley they mean valley. It is very quiet, no road noise and has a creek running through it. Teri couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. They can give you directions to any where you want to go. There is washer and dryer available. If we are ever in the area this is where we will stay. Wish all of the camp grounds were like this one. While we were there Teri invited us to a cowboy breakfast. We were busy with graduation so didn't get to go. Hidden Valley is a gem and am so glad we found it. You will not come away disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teri B, Manager at Hidden Valley RV Park, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we're doing, Nan. We enjoyed meeting y'all and consider you part of our Hidden Valley family. Glad to have served you during the happy occasion of your granddaughter's graduation from Lackland. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

In Jan. 2014, 2 couples in 5th wheels spent 3 nights at Hidden Valley RV Park. Part of the park is located in a valley and that's where we stayed. There are not a large number of sites and they are all full service. The clubhouse, bathrooms, and shower are at the top of the hill so if you aren't self-contained this might not be the place for you. Also the roads are gravel but that did not bother us. It was a lovely, peaceful place to stay. We even heard coyotes at night. Teri, the manager is wonderful. She is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. It is not a long trip into San Antonio and for us the quiet more than compensated for the drive. Also we saw several other RV parks that were no closer to the city but right beside a highway. For young people or people with children there is not much to do but for more mature travellers who just want peace and quiet at night, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teri B, Owner at Hidden Valley RV Park, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback and for your kind words. We are happy to have had a part in making your stay memorable and look forward to your next trip through the San Antonio area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Von Ormy
Far West Side
Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites
Days Inn San Antonio at Palo Alt...
#233 of 356 in San Antonio
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alamo River RV Resort
#2 of 2 in Von Ormy
11 reviews
Far West Side
Blazing Star Luxury RV Resort
Blazing Star Luxury RV Resort
#5 of 24 in San Antonio
79 reviews
Travelers World
#3 of 24 in San Antonio
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley RV Park

Property: Hidden Valley RV Park
Address: 5706 Coleman Way, Von Ormy, TX 78073-3115
Region: United States > Texas > Von Ormy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Von Ormy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Valley RV Park is a family owned and operated RV Park. We strive to provide the best of customer service to travelers, weekenders, seasonal and long term guests. While we are a "no frills" park in that we do not have a pool or exercise room, we do have wifi, a concierge service to help you with touring guidance and reservations at nearby attractions as well as a virtual tour of our city at your convenience once you arrive. We also have a full suite of office tools, (print, copy, fax, scan)available. Our San Antonio RV park is close to the city (15 minutes) but you'll feel miles away in the quiet country atmosphere. We have walking trails, our own private fishing creek, full hook up RV sites, a clubhouse and periodic park social activities and potlucks.Remember that we are near the Alamo, the famous Riverwalk, the historic Missions, El Mercado (our own Mexican marketplace,) the Botanical Gardens, Seaworld, Fiesta Texas and much more.Come stay with us and become part of our family. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing