We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW this place is wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Great Room:  fireplace, leather couch and chairs, oriental rugs Gourmet Kitchen: gas range, microwave, copper cookware, nonstick cookware, full range of appliances
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
The Great Room:  fireplace, leather couch and chairs, oriental rugs
Gourmet Kitchen: gas range, microwave, copper cookware, nonstick cookware, full range of appliances
Dinning Area and Kitchen: 
table seats 6; counter seats 2
Great Room: TV & stereo cabinet; wine cabinet; entrance to Bedroom
Bedroom: queen size bed faces TV and book shelves
Bedroom: writing desk and chair; french doors open out to patio
Bedroom: ceiling fan; TV and books
1st floor Bath: vanity; 2 person shower; window seat
Great Room: 
stairway to Loft
View from Loft: Dinning Area; Kitchen; Great Room
Loft: 3 twin beds; 2 ceiling fans
2nd floor Bath: vanity and claw foot tub
Roof Porch: think morning coffee; evening wine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Waco, Texas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nyc15
Alamo, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WOW this place is wonderful”
Reviewed 3 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This place is so unique, it’s located about 10 miles north of Waco Texas in a rural setting. We saw deer in the yard and stars at night. Mark and Mary made our stay special from the moment we arrived until the time we left. The cottage has everything don’t worry if you forgot something they have it covered..Mark was great in assisting us with our tour to magnolia and had suggestions about fun things to do in filling our weekend. The breakfast Mary provided daily was so good and homemade. You can not go wrong here at the cottage it’s excellant. Thanks Mary and Mark

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2017
Vickie, Ann Marie, and Sara Beth,
The nicest thing about reading your review is that you took away so many good memories of our place. The country setting, the deer, the stars, and (best of all for Mary and me), the feeling of being taken care of. I've said it so many times, but it always bears repeating: Our guests make our time as inn keepers some of the best years of our lives. So, thank you again for coming, thank you for your kind thoughts, and thank you for letting us into your lives for a brief but treasured time. Mark and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S
Valdo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rejuvenate Your Soul”
Reviewed 2 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The Cottage At Tell Story Walk is soooo much more than a roof over your head. It’s therapy for your soul! The cottage and grounds are immaculate. The coziness and comfort of the cottage are unmatched. Our 3 night 4 day girls trip was priceless and our time spent at the cottage and visiting with the owners, Mike and Mary, will be forever remembered. If we ever find our way to Waco, there’s no question to where we will stay! Almost forgot to mention the breakfasts.......amazing, fresh each morning, delicious, and prepared with love ❤️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2017
"Oh, Wow! Wow!" Thus saith Mary. I love quoting her because her reactions are always so honest. Everything you express does us proud; it is deeply rewarding to learn how you took in everything. Not that many people walk the grounds and find the beauty and peace of nature. Your remark of "therapy for your soul," is something we pray for before each of our guests arrive. So it is that in your review we hear God's voice answer back, "Yes." And as for Mary, your last line went straight to her heart. This may sound a little schmaltzy, but she actually does try to prepare her breakfasts with love.
God bless you, Vickie. Our best to Ann Marie and Sara Beth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich M
Watertown, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage at Tell Story Walk was absolutely lovely! Mark and Mary were there to welcome us at 10:30pm and even carried in our luggage!
The cottage is somehow prettier than pictured and was very clean. We were welcomed with a bottle of our favorite wine. (Mark messaged us prior to our arrival, to find out our favorite.) And the fridge was stocked with bottled water, Perrier, soda, and sparkling cider, as well as fresh berries and homemade whipped cream. There were even little quiches for breakfast the next morning. On the counter, there was a heaping plate of the most delicious scones and a loaf of friendship bread and homemade granola too!
Because the cottage was so cozy, we decided to stay in and cook our own dinner one night. The kitchen was exceptionally well stocked with everything you could possibly need! Our dinner table looked so pretty with the beautiful fresh flowers that were there to welcome us, and we even found freshly pressed linen napkins to use!
The beds were super comfortable, and the sheets and towels smelled heavenly.
When I asked Mary, where I could find a mailbox, she cheerfully offered to take my letter to the post office!
This was a wonderful find! Everything about our stay was perfect! Thank you Mark and Mary!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2017
Becky,
You told us you are a pharmacist. You lied. You're the director of a public relations agency that specializes in rating members of the hospitality industry. And you just wrote your opus. Honestly, this is one of the nicest, most comprehensive reviews we're received. You covered everything. Even Mary's offer to post your mail. But what we, Mary and I, loved most, was how you captured what we strive most to be. We try to provide the things that will give our guests the best, most memorable experience they hope for. But at the end of the day, we never know how we fared until we hear from the people we serve. Your review is an answer to the question we will always ask: "Was your stay here at Tell Story Walk everything you hoped it would be?" Thank you for answering that question in such a descriptive, glowing way. All our best, Mark and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi H
1 review
“Tell Story Walk Cottage”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I can't say enough about our stay at the cottage. It was wonderful and I would highly recommend it. Mark and Mary are two of the most precious people you will ever meet. I will never forget our time with them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2017
Heidi,
Thank you for taking the time review us. Mary and I always enjoy reflecting on the conversation and little moments we share with our guests. You family of ladies especially touched us with how close you are; you enjoy each other so much. Keep singing. The Lord hears the heart.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rufus H
1 review
“What an opportunity to literally cleanse your soul and reconnect with your loved one.”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The location was so peaceful and quiet. The owners are two of the most amazing people that we have ever meet. The cottage was so warm and welcoming, it was like coming home. The breakfast was truly amazing. Every day was a new exciting menu. We absolutely loved visiting The Homestead which is 2 miles from the cottage. We look forward to visiting again and to seeing our new friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2017
Rufus,
This morning TripAdvisor released your review; the title says it all. We cannot think of a better reason to host our B&B than to provide our guests a setting in which they can "reconnect with (their) loved one." As I've said before, the two of you endeared yourselves to us. This has been the case with so many of our guests, I can only believe they find their way here by the hand of God. So, thank you for your gracious remarks. Thank you for coming. And thank you, that you regard Mary and me in the same light as we do you: New friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage - Wonderful Food - Tranquil Setting”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

An absolute gem in every respect. The cottage is conveniently designed, perfectly appointed, and impeccably maintained - and wheelchair accessible. The setting is on a large, beautifully maintained site with large oaks, multiple seating areas, and convenient parking. The cottage itself has seating on the front, to the side under an arbor, and by the chiminea. Bird feeders and fountains guarantee lots of feathered visitors (We saw a roadrunner in the yard). As charming as the cottage itself is, flower-filled and bright, the hospitality of the innkeepers, Mary and Mark, takes the experience to a completely different level! Upon arrival we found a well-stocked refrigerator: fruit and homemade whipped cream, juices, and yogurt. On the counter were a loaf of friendship bread, fresh scones, homemade granola, and wine chilling on ice. Breakfasts were large and varied.

This spot IS the destination. There are plenty of things to see and do in the Waco-Elm Mott area, but you'll be tempted to stay in and just luxuriate inside and out!!!!

We can't wait to try the fireplace and chiminea in cooler weather there!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Susan,
Mary and I laughed, sighed, and ahhhed through your glorious review. If I didn't know better, I'd swear you were head of marketing and advertising for a resort somewhere between the Appalachian Range and the Tetons. Simply put, you do us proud. Thank you for this wonderful affirmation. Your description is so comprehensive, it is a promotion in itself. Mary and I do, indeed, look forward to your return to try out the fireplace and chiminea. Especially the chiminea. Nothing much better in life than an outside fire, a starry night, and the sound of a hoot owl. God be with you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All based were covered, nothing was lacking and the place is beautiful!!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our first impression was "Wow". From that point on, it only got better! Actually, it started before we ever got there. Shortly after booking our stay, we were contacted by Mark and Mary. They asked a few simple questions to get a feel for our preferences. Based on that conversation, when we arrived, we found a welcome gift waiting for us. Mark and Mary are wonderful hosts and their only request is that you relax and enjoy yourself. They provided great food, fresh each day. While it was supposed to be for breakfast, it was enough to feed us all day. The actual accommodations are wonderful and make you feel like you are at home. Everything was clean and very well kept and the kitchen has everything you can imagine. There was absolutely nothing lacking, especially the hospitality. We will surely return there often. We recommend you do the same! You won't be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Ray,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your stay here in such glowing words. Yours was a "working" getaway, and to know that you were able to find some peace here amidst the demands of your job is a praise in itself. Mary and I had a rare and treasured connection with you and Martha. We particularly appreciated the tender memories you shared with us regarding your family.
At the ripe age of 71, perhaps my greatest experience in aging is how God continues to surprise us with the people He brings to our little place. Of all my years, none have been so consistently rewarding as these now, that we may host such folks as Martha and you. May God continue to be with you in all your days to come.
All my best, Mark (and Mary)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing