We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Great Room:  fireplace, leather couch and chairs, oriental rugs Gourmet Kitchen: gas range, microwave, copper cookware, nonstick cookware, full range of appliances
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
The Great Room:  fireplace, leather couch and chairs, oriental rugs
Gourmet Kitchen: gas range, microwave, copper cookware, nonstick cookware, full range of appliances
Dinning Area and Kitchen: 
table seats 6; counter seats 2
Great Room: TV & stereo cabinet; wine cabinet; entrance to Bedroom
Bedroom: queen size bed faces TV and book shelves
Bedroom: writing desk and chair; french doors open out to patio
Bedroom: ceiling fan; TV and books
1st floor Bath: vanity; 2 person shower; window seat
Great Room: 
stairway to Loft
View from Loft: Dinning Area; Kitchen; Great Room
Loft: 3 twin beds; 2 ceiling fans
2nd floor Bath: vanity and claw foot tub
Roof Porch: think morning coffee; evening wine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Waco, Texas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed 24 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We have enjoyed another return visit to the Cottage at Tell Story Walk. The pictures do not do this house justice. There are many details that have went into making this the Best place to stay when visiting Waco. The side yard has a nice patio and barbecue, so on this visit since the weather was cool we took the opportunity to roast some hot dogs and marsh-mellows one night and just made ourselves at home. Next I can’t say enough about our Special Hosts.Mark and Mary are like the story book Grandparents that you see on TV and can’t wait to go and visit. They are very attentive to all your needs plus Mary makes a Wonderful breakfast. I would recommend the Cottage to anyone, as it serves to be a great Home away from Home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2018
Gary,
We read your review with joy and laughs, particularly about the "Grandparents ...on TV." The American Gothic picture of the older couple, pitchfork in hand, comes to mind. Needless to say, Mary and I take a special pleasure in your family. We envision Nathan hoovering over a bowl with Candy at his elbow, mixing up a batch of Friendship muffins. Thank you for your gracious words. But thank you most for regarding Tell Story Walk in all the ways we pray it to be. This, our last run, is proving to be our best. The Lord willing, we've still got a distance to go.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristie P
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 22 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

My experience at Tell Story Walk was so great from booking. After booking I was contacted by Mark and he was so pleasant.They greeted me on arrival and were very sweet. The cottage was beautiful and was so relaxing. It was peaceful and quiet. The food was so tasty and there was so much of it. I would go stay again and would recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2018
Thank you Cristie. We appreciate your taking the time to review your stay here, especially knowing the deeply personal reasons for your getaway. You were a special presence. We were the one's most blessed.
Keep the faith,
Mark (and Mary)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BUBear85
Hernando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded all expectations!!!!”
Reviewed 26 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We've stayed in many B&B's and rentals throughout the world, but this cottage was beyond our experiences! The attention to detail throughout the cottage is incredible. It is obvious that our hosts take great pride in insuring their guests are welcomed and feel right at home. We came for the weekend to celebrate our son's graduation from college and feel we have made a lifetime memory. The food was fantastic and more than enough for our party of 5. We were welcomed with full flags flying (Baylor, Florida (our home state), and Texas) and fully stocked pantry with our favorite beverages. I only hope the cottage is available for our next son for his graduation!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2018
Scott and Ann,
Mary and I just read your review. Since Mary has the more down-to-earth way with words, I'll begin by quoting her: "How wonderful! (Long pause, punctuated with a sigh). Then, "How wonderful!" punctuated with a laugh of delight.
Now my turn. The pleasure we get from hosting appreciative people like you is beyond words. So often our guests become the beginning of a relationship seasoned with honest exchanges, substantive moments of laughter, and yes, even tears. Best of all, are those rare and memorable times when our faiths are mutually shared. Truly, these are the most enriching years of our lives, and we owe so much of that to people such as you.
So, thank you for your glowing review. Thank you for your warm and beautiful reflections. And thank you for the hope we share that we will see you again. And as to The Grad, tell him to "break a leg."
From the heart,
Mark and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc15
Alamo, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW this place is wonderful”
Reviewed 3 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This place is so unique, it’s located about 10 miles north of Waco Texas in a rural setting. We saw deer in the yard and stars at night. Mark and Mary made our stay special from the moment we arrived until the time we left. The cottage has everything don’t worry if you forgot something they have it covered..Mark was great in assisting us with our tour to magnolia and had suggestions about fun things to do in filling our weekend. The breakfast Mary provided daily was so good and homemade. You can not go wrong here at the cottage it’s excellant. Thanks Mary and Mark

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2017
Vickie, Ann Marie, and Sara Beth,
The nicest thing about reading your review is that you took away so many good memories of our place. The country setting, the deer, the stars, and (best of all for Mary and me), the feeling of being taken care of. I've said it so many times, but it always bears repeating: Our guests make our time as inn keepers some of the best years of our lives. So, thank you again for coming, thank you for your kind thoughts, and thank you for letting us into your lives for a brief but treasured time. Mark and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan S
Valdo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rejuvenate Your Soul”
Reviewed 2 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The Cottage At Tell Story Walk is soooo much more than a roof over your head. It’s therapy for your soul! The cottage and grounds are immaculate. The coziness and comfort of the cottage are unmatched. Our 3 night 4 day girls trip was priceless and our time spent at the cottage and visiting with the owners, Mike and Mary, will be forever remembered. If we ever find our way to Waco, there’s no question to where we will stay! Almost forgot to mention the breakfasts.......amazing, fresh each morning, delicious, and prepared with love ❤️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2017
"Oh, Wow! Wow!" Thus saith Mary. I love quoting her because her reactions are always so honest. Everything you express does us proud; it is deeply rewarding to learn how you took in everything. Not that many people walk the grounds and find the beauty and peace of nature. Your remark of "therapy for your soul," is something we pray for before each of our guests arrive. So it is that in your review we hear God's voice answer back, "Yes." And as for Mary, your last line went straight to her heart. This may sound a little schmaltzy, but she actually does try to prepare her breakfasts with love.
God bless you, Vickie. Our best to Ann Marie and Sara Beth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich M
Watertown, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage at Tell Story Walk was absolutely lovely! Mark and Mary were there to welcome us at 10:30pm and even carried in our luggage!
The cottage is somehow prettier than pictured and was very clean. We were welcomed with a bottle of our favorite wine. (Mark messaged us prior to our arrival, to find out our favorite.) And the fridge was stocked with bottled water, Perrier, soda, and sparkling cider, as well as fresh berries and homemade whipped cream. There were even little quiches for breakfast the next morning. On the counter, there was a heaping plate of the most delicious scones and a loaf of friendship bread and homemade granola too!
Because the cottage was so cozy, we decided to stay in and cook our own dinner one night. The kitchen was exceptionally well stocked with everything you could possibly need! Our dinner table looked so pretty with the beautiful fresh flowers that were there to welcome us, and we even found freshly pressed linen napkins to use!
The beds were super comfortable, and the sheets and towels smelled heavenly.
When I asked Mary, where I could find a mailbox, she cheerfully offered to take my letter to the post office!
This was a wonderful find! Everything about our stay was perfect! Thank you Mark and Mary!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2017
Becky,
You told us you are a pharmacist. You lied. You're the director of a public relations agency that specializes in rating members of the hospitality industry. And you just wrote your opus. Honestly, this is one of the nicest, most comprehensive reviews we're received. You covered everything. Even Mary's offer to post your mail. But what we, Mary and I, loved most, was how you captured what we strive most to be. We try to provide the things that will give our guests the best, most memorable experience they hope for. But at the end of the day, we never know how we fared until we hear from the people we serve. Your review is an answer to the question we will always ask: "Was your stay here at Tell Story Walk everything you hoped it would be?" Thank you for answering that question in such a descriptive, glowing way. All our best, Mark and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi H
1 review
“Tell Story Walk Cottage”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I can't say enough about our stay at the cottage. It was wonderful and I would highly recommend it. Mark and Mary are two of the most precious people you will ever meet. I will never forget our time with them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2017
Heidi,
Thank you for taking the time review us. Mary and I always enjoy reflecting on the conversation and little moments we share with our guests. You family of ladies especially touched us with how close you are; you enjoy each other so much. Keep singing. The Lord hears the heart.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing