We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You have to go here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cotton Palace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cotton Palace
Ranked #1 of 10 Waco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“You have to go here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed here whilst on a visit to Baylor University. I have never stayed in a nicer place. Everything and I mean everything was absolutely superb. There is simply no comparison between a soulless chain hotel and the wonderfully personal Cotton Palace. If it costs you a little more to stay here, it is absolutely worth it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb choose any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCottonPalace, Owner at The Cotton Palace, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
So glad you enjoyed your trip to Texas and The Cotton Palace. Will be thinking of you as I drink my "Oxford tea" this afternoon - what a thoughtful gift!!! Hope you might have had a chance to visit The Armstrong Browning Library (the stained glass windows are extraordinary) on the Baylor campus - but if you didn't, maybe you can see it next time you come to the states.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
71
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Best experience away from home we've ever had. Such a wonderful family, beautiful home, incredible heartfelt service surpassing anything anyone could teach an Inn Keeper. This kind of quality service only comes from within the fabric a very special family. We can't wait to go back! All of the rooms were beautifully decorated, men- don't worry- not over done, you will feel comfortable. Common area upstairs had delicious never- ending coffees, teas, waters and fresh cookies.. ( something that we took full advantage of). Breakfast was full service dining, delicious and homemade. Best part was the conversations with the hosts which were warm, gracious, humorous and loving. We stayed in the Attic, as we took our son to visit Baylor. Very roomy and comfortable. Host, Dutch, is a (somewhat retired) Baylor Baseball Coach. He had wonderful insights for us regarding Baylor which was very helpful. We miss this family already!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCottonPalace, Owner at The Cotton Palace, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Kathy~
Thank you for the nice comments! We have had a run of California guests these last few weeks - so happy they have all left central Texas with a favorable impression. Hope your son enjoyed his visit to the Baylor campus - we would love to see him choose Baylor to continue his education even though it is a little far from home. If he does - we would hope that he would do as our other guest's Baylor students have done - consider The Cotton Palace - their home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

My wife and I recently spent a relaxing weekend at the Cotton Palace. Becky is a wonderful host and you instantly feel that you are part of their home. It was nice to be able to sit around and relax with a well stocked video/book library. You are given a key to the door and can come and go as you please. We stayed in Amanda's room and found the bed to very comfortable and bathroom spacious. Only complaint was that the TV was located to the side of the bed.

The true charm of the Cotton Palace is your morning Waiter in Training Dutch. He has a magical ability to introduce complete strangers at the breakfast table and have you feeling like old friends by the end of it. It really provides a strong connection to the place and the people staying there. We were even able to meet Mrs. Dutch when she stopped by. A very special treat, very special experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notyours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Predazzo, Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. Our room was lovely, and had every amenity we could want. There were also cookies and a coffee machine outside our door in the upstairs sitting area. Breakfast was delicious...we enjoyed cheesy herbed scrambled eggs, sausage, and blueberry pecan French toast. This along with great coffee, juice, and fun conversation. We would love to get to stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stacy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fritz Creek, Alaska
Level Contributor
321 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

From one Inn Keeper to another, thanx for a wonderful stay. Becky, you are a wonderful host. Your beautifully restored home is a real treat. The rooms are well appointed and spacious. Breakfast is wonderful, with GREAT conversation all around. But best of all is the 'Waiter in Training', Dutch! Hope to see you in Alaska sometime.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCottonPalace, Owner at The Cotton Palace, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
We loved getting to host you on your trip to Waco and hearing all about your wonderful lodge in Alaska and sharing stories. I would really love to see it in person - maybe one day...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

My wife and I have visited dozens of B&Bs around the U.S., and the Cotton Palace, frankly is the best one. All important B&B factors are in place - setting, rooms, ambiance, breakfast, innkeepers...it has all you expect in a high quality B&B experience.

Room Tip: We have stayed both times in Eren's Suite. Large, comfy and classy with a side sitting room. Bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

The Cotton Palace Bed & Breakfast is a lovely Bed & Breakfast in Waco, Texas. This was our first stay at a B & B, so I was a little leery about what to expect. Becky, our gracious host, put all of my fears to rest the minute we walked through the door. She made us feel so welcomed...like we were old friends!! The rooms were all nice and our room was very comfortable. The highlight of our stay was the wonderful breakfasts and the conversations with the people we met. Our stay at the Cotton Palace was a wonderful experience...we will definitely visit again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargoB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCottonPalace, Owner at The Cotton Palace, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
So glad you enjoyed your first B & B experience! There are some wonderful properties throughout the state and it's great getting to introduce guests to the hospitality of Texas innkeepers. Looking forward to the time when your entire family can come and enjoy the house and all the Waco attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Waco - Baylor
1.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Waco
1.4 mi away
Hilton Waco
Hilton Waco
#7 of 30 in Waco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Waco
Residence Inn Waco
#8 of 30 in Waco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Waco
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Waco, Texas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cotton Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cotton Palace

Property: The Cotton Palace
Address: 1910 Austin Ave., Waco, TX 76701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Waco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Waco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotton Palace is a luxury restored historical landmark in the historic area of Waco, Texas. - Offering seven unique guest rooms all with private baths and some with whirlpool tubs, this Central Texas bed and breakfast is sure to please any traveler. - Complete with luxury amenities, an ideal location for visiting Waco's many attractions, and a gourmet breakfast served every morning - this wonderful Texas bed and breakfast offers a unique opportunity for your next Texas vacation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing