We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressed!”
Review of Cotton Patch Cafe

Cotton Patch Cafe
Ranked #151 of 384 Restaurants in Waco
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
538 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Impressed!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I had chicken fried steak, squash, and blackeye peas. My mom had chicken fried steak with mushrooms and mixed vegetables. Everything was exceptionally good, and no less than four employees thanked us for coming on our way out. I like Cotton Patch in general but this one is a cut above.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ILoveTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    22
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlin Texas USA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband and I were tired of Tex-Mex, and decided to try Cotton Patch for lunch. We didn't have high expectations, but were very pleasantly surprised with the service, food, and cleanliness of the restaurant.
Our waiter was Major, and he was just what a waiter should be--prompt, helpful, and there when you need him and not when you don't.
We both ordered the fish and chips. Good decision! We were asked if we wanted malt vinegar with it--a first in Texas, where malt vinegar usually earns you a blank look. The breading on the fish stayed on the fish, and the fish was moist but well-cooked. The chips (French fries) were crisp and very, very hot!
We enjoyed our meal, the service, and the cleanliness of the restaurant. We will definitely return, since this seems to be the only "fish and chips" venue in Waco.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyofTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“never fails always good home cooking”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

fried shrimp as good, chicken fried chicken good, fried pickles good just a home style restaurant. something for everyone

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lakepeople-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good sit down restaurant”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have been going to the restaurant for several years now. One thing is the food quality and service seldom changes ... Always good. Their menu covers quite a range so if you are by yourself or with a group, choices are always available.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Such a deal!”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

First time here and loved every bite. This is down home cooking at it's best. The chicken fried steak was the most tender I've ever had with a very light and tasty crust. The prices are so reasonable for the generous portions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cotton Patch Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cotton Patch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing