We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun little museum”
Review of Dr Pepper Museum

Dr Pepper Museum
Ranked #9 of 70 things to do in Waco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A museum dedicated to the nation's oldest major soft drink - Dr Pepper! We offer three floors of exhibits featuring information about many different soft drinks, as well as a carefully curated selection of our massive soft drink memorabilia collection. Exhibits change regularly! You can visit our soda fountain and gift shop any time without paying admission. Photo ops outside the Museum include a Dr Pepper Green 1940s delivery truck, one of three original neon signs from the Mockingbird Plant in Dallas, and a hand-painted advertising sign original to the site. Of course the front of the Museum building itself is visitors' favorite photo location. We are a two block walk from Magnolia Market and the famous silos, and about half a mile from the newest restaurants including Torchy's Tacos and In-N-Out Burger.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
poetry
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fun little museum”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

For what you see, it is a little pricey, look for coupons. There is a ton of history there. For me, as a big DP fan, I was disappointed that there wasn't a better supply of souveniors (not really interested in $20 t-shirts that have dust on them). I would have enjoyed bringing home something to my other DP addicts. I remember a lot of the old signs and memorabilia. The air was out on the top floor so i didn't spend much time there. It looks like no one really takes care to keep it up, which is sad. We went to the little soda shop but the souvenior cups were out of stock, we got a bit of ice cream and a small (expensive) soda. This could be a really fun experience with just a little bit of effort on the part of the staff. My recommendation is moderate except for the real enthusiast.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank taffien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    356
    234
    69
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Quaint attraction”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had a groupon for $16 for a family 4. Had we paid full price, I would have felt ripped off. There's not a lot to the museum - an old fashioned soda fountain set-up in the first room and a mechanical man telling you about the history, then a room showing all of the factory equipment, then upstairs to some old soda machines and "Dr. Pepper at the movies," a very small area where kids can pretend to be working at a concession stand (my 8 year old son loved this, small though it was), a bunch of movie posters of movies with product placement, and a TV showing a soda commercial from each decade. That's really about it. There was a fourth floor too but I don't remember much of anything being up there. Quaint, nice to see the old stuff, but surely not worth more than $4 a person, if that. When you are done, stop by the soda fountain for a Dr. Pepper float or a pink cow. It was good, but I wish they'd made the soda fountain a little bigger and a little more thematically old-school. It looked too new - they could have themed-it up. Happy hour from 11-1, sodas are half price.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Motherontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Be a Pepper and see the Dr. Pepper Museum”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Take a trip back in time to see Dr. Pepper through the years. See how lifestyles changed through the decades along with how Dr. Pepper was a part of the American culture. Fun for the whole family. When we were there a local school brought their students for a tour of the museum. Having fun while learning about local and national history in Waco.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dr. Pepper”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

stopped here on our trip from Chicago to San Antonio, Tx. a great place to visit lots of things for kids to do, lots of info on Dr. Pepper

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quitman, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting museuml”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We enjoyed our visit to the Dr.Pepper museum. Cool trivia..loved the life like talking druggist. Watching all the commercials from long ago was very entertaining. It is worth the trip. Neat drugstore fountain where you can get Dr.Pepper or whatever else you might want. I do think the sample size of Dr. Pepper should be free, however.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dr Pepper Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing