We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super seafood”

Sergio's Restaurant
Ranked #152 of 386 Restaurants in Waco
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Super seafood”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The seafood and selection of sauces were delicious and unique. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive. Seafood with a Mexican flair - we loved it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurieTEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentically unique”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Unlike normal Texmex restaurants, this is a truly unique. The ceviche was delicious! Had the trout almandine and it was equally incredible. If you like great food, treat yourself. You will be happy you did!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tmutzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great mexican west coast restaurant”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I had a great time at sergio's restaurant on Austin Avenue. I had the ceviche and it was the best one I ever had. People there were friendly and the check wasn't expensive at all. All in all a very good lunch. I only wish the music was more traditional.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
356 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Could be great, but falls short re lunch; excellent breakfast”
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Excellent menu. Enjoy lunch here and taking out. Really enjoy the whole fried tilapia, but inconsistently cooked (overcooked) last few times. Service sort of like a chain, think Denny's. place appears / feels a bit dingy, but seems clean. Not an appealing dining environment. Excellent breakfast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding fine mexican seafood”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

My wife and I have found this restaurant has quickly become one of our favorite. The fresh seafood is cooked in so many ways with so many sauces options that it may take many years before we will have sampled everything on the menu. My wife doesn't like spicy, and she selects flavorful but non-spicy dishes. I occasionally need a fix of fresh and spicy seafood, and Sergio's can deliver. They have an oyster appetizer that is fantastic, sort of a mexican style Oysters Rockefeller. Seafood doesn't get better than this in Waco!

Service is at times great, but sometimes only "ok." We have been there maybe a dozen times in the past few months and only once did we experience a wait service "hiccup." That was on a very busy weekend night. All other times the service was extremely attentive and timely.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAWhitney_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sergio's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sergio's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing