We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Employee was sitting at the next table with his head down.....”
Review of Newk's

Newk's
Ranked #77 of 392 Restaurants in Waco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Waco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Employee was sitting at the next table with his head down.....”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I frequently visit Newk's for lunch and most of the time we go in after the lunch crowd. The food is good and the restaurant is usually clean. However, this last time we visited Newk's for lunch. It looked like the lunch crowd had been through and the staff was just sitting around. No one had taken the time to refill the condiments or tidy up the restaurant. One of the employees was sitting at the table next to us with his head down on the table. It really was unappetizing. I saw a manager sitting at one of the booths and thought surely he would come over and ask the employee to go sit in his car, or move to a back area that wasn't right by the drinks where everyone would see him as they came in. As a business owner, I personally would have sent him home. We'll see what happens if we go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CLF49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garrison Texas
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Supper with our son”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We had supper with our son at Newk's before the homecoming bonfire at Baylor. I had the half cup of soup, broccoli cheese, which was awesome and half chicken salad sandwich. I really love eating at Newk's.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeri Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fun Menu with a Lot of Variety”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stopped at Newk’s on our drive between Dallas and San Antonio. It was very crowded on a rainy Friday at lunch, but there appears to be very quick service and table turnover. There is a good menu selection, and we thought the roast beef and chicken salad sandwiches were excellent. The classic macaroni and cheese entrée was strong on the cheese but enjoyable. Giant refillable drinks are also a bonus. We were full before we left, but take note that the strawberry, caramel and banana nut cakes in the displays looked pretty awesome. This is a restaurant we’d recommend for a no-frills, good quality meal at a reasonable price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Freshest salad ingredients!”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I absolutely love the simply salad, ingredients are always fresh! Also recommend several of the sandwiches and even the pizza. The strawberry cake is to die for!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherry12186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The CARMEL CAKE IS AWESOME!”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We always make it a point to eat at Newk's! Good food and good service! The CARMEL CAKE IS AWESOME! Good variety of teas also!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Newk's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing