We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Sunday Church Crowd”
Review of Cathay House

Cathay House
Ranked #211 of 391 Restaurants in Waco
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Waco, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude Sunday Church Crowd”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Credit where credit is due...potstickers are made while you wait and are the best we have had! Crispies were stale, and too much breading around small brown mystery chicken meat. Avoid on Sunday or experience mean rude apparently starving after church crowds with wild eyes lunging at the buffet (only on Sundays).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dad_Son_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
1 review
“it's ok”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Not the real chinese food, but I guess it's one of the best in waco. what do you expect?it's waco.。。

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tian X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good as ever”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

I've been going here for 20 years and the food and atmosphere have always been great. Keep up the great job! PS - love the won ton

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCtaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Used to be better”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I returned to Cathay House after a 15 year absence and found it to be less flavorful than I remembered. This could be just a change in taste rather than any change to the restaurant itself. The atmosphere was fine. The food was good, but not exceptional. Service was good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

My wife and I eat here weekly and the food is consistently good. The chicken rice soup is such a comfort food that we can't imagine eating here without it. Service is efficient, music is background and muted, decor is getting a little old but is still appropriate for the surroundings.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JimfromTexas9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathay House also viewed

 

Been to Cathay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing