We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai near Baylor and a short distance from I -35”

Bangkok Royal Thai Cuisine
Ranked #58 of 386 Restaurants in Waco
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Thai near Baylor and a short distance from I -35”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

It was good to get back to this excellent Thai restaurant. Although some have mentioned that this is not a place to go if you are in a rush, we had excellent, attentive service. A great place to try so many good things especially if you are comfortable sharing different items.Especially like the glass noodle salad and the Panang curry. The shrimp fried in a wonton sheet is a must appetizer...#5, I believe. Beer - Wine list adequate. I enjoy this place more in cooler seasons because the AC is marginal for Texas and my personal preference. That said , very attractive decor. The freshness of every selection is welcome into today's world of fast food. As with most authentic Thai restaurants spicy really means spicy, but menu is well demarcated as to degrees of heat. Great owner who is usually on site .

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    48
    20
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
383 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Take Your Time”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I love the food here. It's very fresh and very delicious. My favorite is the Bangkok Cashew but everything I've had has been good. Others have mentioned, but I'll say it again. Don't go here in a hurry. Just relax (they have a very relaxing atmosphere) and take your time. You are getting out of here in a rush, so just enjoy it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kuhllikethat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“BEST THAI FOOD I HAVE EVER HAD!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The food at Bangkok Royal is delicious. Have been in Waco for 5 days and have eaten at B/R 2 times. NOTE: Ginger chicken soup and salad with peanut dressing , made the way it is at this restaurant , are 2 Thai dishes that I had never had before. We ordered Green Curry, Bangkok Chicken with pineapple and sweet and sour chicken. Sweet and sour chicken was not deep fat fried but sauteed w
ith vegetables including cucumber in a slightly sweet delicious sauce.
I plan on eating here again before heading home.
I highly recommend this restaurant. ENJOY
I must warn you that if the restaurant is busy it will take quite awhile to get your food. The lunch prices are very reasonable and the food is well worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FYITEXAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My first Pad Thai - and the curry was good, too”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were attending a conference across the road at the Hilton, and my friend is nuts for Thai food. I ordered Pad Thai, and it was just delicious. I'm pretty picky about what tastes good, and believe me, it was heavenly. My friends loved their food as well. I tasted the curry - so different from Indian curry - and it was delicious, too. I don't remember what our third friend had, but it disappeared pretty quickly. The service was okay, and the decor...well for a Thai restaurant in Texas, it was acceptable, lol. Give it a taste when you are in Waco.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CindiMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
283 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Our number 1 choice in Waco”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I think this was my favourite eating place in Waco, and we were sorry we did not have an opportunity for a return visit. We went for dinner as a party of 12 people, which enabled us to share items that we had ordered. Each one I sampled was really excellent and, being vegetarian, there was ample choice on the menu. The restaurant also served Thai beer, which was much appreciated.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pelagius_Redivivus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bangkok Royal Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok Royal Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing