We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Veggie burgers or veggie "burgers"?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cricket's Grill & Draft House

Cricket's Grill & Draft House
Ranked #18 of 379 Restaurants in Waco
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Walsall
Level Contributor
271 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Veggie burgers or veggie "burgers"?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Veggie burgers or veggie ‘burgers’?
The Cricket Grill has the distinction of having a bar with 100 taps dispensing 100 different varieties of beer, in addition to a good range of wines and spirits. Customers are a beer menu, not just a food one. There are numerous pool tables, and the atmosphere is somewhat dark and noisy. A quieter part can be found upstairs on a balcony, which suited us better.

As with most Texan eating places, vegetarian choice was limited. The menu itemized vegetarian “burgers”, placing the term in quotation marks, as if they were not real burgers! Although I agree that the word “burger” is originally a contraction of “hamburger”, dictionary.com lists cheeseburger (without quotation marks) as an example of a burger, so we slightly resent this form of discrimination! When my “burger” arrived, it was OK – but it was a bit bland, and was improved by the addition of ketchup, which I don’t normally use. I’ve tasted much better elsewhere.

Altogether, this is a great place if you want a distinctive and characterful venue for an evening, if you want to play pool, or if you want to sample unusual beers. We’re glad we went, and we understand why it’s popular. It’s not quite our scene, however, and we much preferred the adjacent Thai place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pelagius_Redivivus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    83
    51
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
397 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“I was starving and the menu is slim to nothing ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We sat ourselves because their was no one around. We waited for about 10 minutes without being greeted and then we finally got the attention of a staff member. I was very disappointed in the menu. I looked online, saw what I wanted to order, and nothing was on the menu that I saw. It was slim! I was stuck getting a chicken fried steak and they didn't even have mash potatoes. The sides are fries, onion rings, house salad or something else fried. Not appetizing. I won't be back to eat that's for sure. The atmosphere is great but the menu was very disturbing. I wanted to leave. They got rid of all their food that was appealing like grilled chicken, steaks, even their pastas were gone. I was just in disbelief.

Helpful?
Thank Sadie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki B, Guest Relations Manager at Cricket's Grill & Draft House, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi Sadie, our from-scratch kitchen specializes in fresh, never frozen USDA choice burgers and handcrafted sandwiches. We also offer a selection of appetizers, salads, tacos and entrée baskets. If you were looking for something on the healthier side (but still filling), our Greek Grilled Chicken Skewers or South Texas Ranch Fajitas would be great choices!

We are disappointed to hear you left Cricket's unsatisfied. We strive to make every guest's experience a stellar one and encourage you to notify our staff if we can do something to make your visit better. We aren't sure where online you found an outdated menu, but when we updated our menu (based on customer demand), we tried to include a wide range of options so everyone can find something appealing. However, if you can't find something you like on the menu, we are happy to accommodate most specials requests. Just let us know!

We hope you give us another opportunity again soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You have to try this place if you come to Waco!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

They have the coldest beer on tap you can get anywhere. You name it- they have it and then some. The appetizer mix tray was the perfect size for the three of us. They have pool tables and a indoor smoking room. Come on by and give it a try, you wont be sorry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaduck3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Visited memorial weekend-Friday . Great selection of drinks and a really unique food menu. But the service really won us over. Staff very attentive to our children which was a pleasant surprise considering the college crowd. Try the tacos! Especially the fish tacos.Games, pool.... We had a great time. This is a very large place with a relaxing atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wilfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki B, Guest Relations Manager at Cricket's Grill & Draft House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Wilfred, we're so glad you and your family stopped in last weekend! The fish tacos are new to our menu and we're happy to hear you enjoyed them. We hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Used to be good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I had been a fan of Crickets since it opened nearly 17 years ago, but it has taken a nosedive in the service area. The food has been hit or miss, more recently it seems to have been improving, but the waitstaff in the bar area needs some serious training on how to wait on customers. On two recent occasions I have been completely ignored by the server to the point where I got up and left, even after asking if someone can take my order. Used to love the place, now it is off of my list of places to go locally.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stargazr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki B, Guest Relations Manager at Cricket's Grill & Draft House, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are sorry to hear we've let you down and would like the opportunity to make this right. We appreciate your business and want to make our customers happy during every visit. Please email us at cricketssocial(at)gmail(dot)com so we can get in touch with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cricket's Grill & Draft House also viewed

 

Been to Cricket's Grill & Draft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing