We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place in Waco”

George's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #4 of 386 Restaurants in Waco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The Place in Waco”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Laid back great food.. country fired steaks are the best and of course help yourself to a Georges Big O draft with some Brisket doesn't get any better Can handle a large part if needed. Not open Sundays

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bud K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    233
    56
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fried Nugget of Nostalgia”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A Waco icon, George’s is really more about nostalgia than the food, but if you’re looking for a smorgasbord of artery-clogging fried food – this is the place. (There ARE a few healthy options, like salads, but that’s not really why you go to George’s.)
Every meal at George’s should begin with a basket of it’s fluffy little rolls (make sure you dip them in ranch for the full experience) and an order of the world famous Crazy Wings. Crazy Wings are balls of chicken, jalapenos and jack cheese wrapped in BACON – ‘nuff said.
For your entree, you can’t go wrong with Chicken Fried Steak (George’s is the reigning, 12-time Best of Waco champion for CFS). Add a Big O of your favorite beer (or margarita), mashed potatoes and fried okra, and you’ll be in a heavenly food coma for the rest of the evening.
For both townies and Baylor grads, George’s has always been one of those places that reminds you that you’re home.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
390 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Waco tradition”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I've been coming to George's for 18 years. Can't believe I never reviewed it before. There have been some changes over the years but the cold "Big O's" and good food have not changed. I like the "Big O" deck if I can get there early before the crowd assembles. When the deck is full the noise level is over the top. Even though the old original main room and the deck allows smoking they are not that bad.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomthbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I were in Waco for a nice road trip visiting the Dr Pepper museum. We ate at George's. A co-worker recommended it. I was a little skeptical. But the restaurant proved itself. They offer a variety of dishes from grilled shrimp to chicken salad. I had the strawberry chicken salad and it was delicious (and huge)! George's is definitely worth the try.

Helpful?
Thank RMcgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty happening place!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my visits to George's, what an atmosphere! Definitely a college hang-out, with lots of regulars mixed in. The atmosphere is just everyone having a good time. Food was about what I expected, good, but nothing extraordinary. You won't be disappointed when you visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobL76579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to George's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing