We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but a little pricey”

Texas Ranger Hall of Fame and Museum
Ranked #3 of 70 things to do in Waco
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
poetry
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Interesting but a little pricey”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Location right off the Baylor camppus so we gave it a try. I had a small discount coupon but it was still a bit pricey. I enjoyed it for a the first few minutes but guns only interest me for just so long. The grandsons really enjoyed it longer than I did. It is well done and full of history...I may have been too tired to really appreciate it...but doubtful that I would go back again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank taffien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    197
    35
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“For history and gun enthusiasts”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This museum was of great interest to my husband. My daughter and I were interested enough, but it could not hold the attention of my eight-year-old son. His favorite parts were the display where he got to assemble and disassemble a gun, the dress-up area (a nice boon for kids), and the gift shop (the gift shop has some cool stuff; cap guns and pop guns and whatnot). It's fairly sizeable for a small town museum and has several exhibits, a video, and plenty to read on the walls. Not recommended for children under ten. There is a discount for military and law enforcement.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Motherontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“guns, guns, and more guns”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

If you are a gun person this is heaven for you. There must be thousands of different types of guns here. Hand to muskets to Tommy guns. Pictures of Rangers---currently 3 women. Well done displays of guns. Lots of info about importance of Rangers in the history of Texas.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GeneaResearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Mess with Texas and see the Texas Ranger Museum”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

See the history of the Texas Rangers as a law enforcement organization that is known world-wide and another reason for Texans to be proud. Also while your there see if any of your ancestors were part of this historical group.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Must See”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I thought I knew a lot about Texas history, but apparently not. This museum was so informative, the artifacts are spectacular and the staff is friendly. This is a must see for sure!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Texas Ranger Hall of Fame and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Texas Ranger Hall of Fame and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing