We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Clean, Friendly Hotel”
Review of Hilton Waco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Waco
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Waco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I have made several trips to Waco related to Baylor and other business. I always stay here at Hilton. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are nice sized, and the beds are extremely comfortable. The last stay, out room was "clean, but not ready" meaning it had been cleaned but not inspected. The front desk called housekeeping on their radio and had the room inspected immediately. We had to wait about five minutes before being told our room was ready. For our "inconvenience," we were given tickets for the breakfast buffet, without even asking. The staff is ALWAYS extremely and helpful and very attentive to any request. The only down side is the breakfast buffet. It is certainly more than adequate, but not quite what you would expect from a Hilton. We had room service one night, and the food was excellent. The breakfast buffet, not as good. It has been like this every time I have been here. Don't know what it is about breakfast. Overall, a great hotel and a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidWB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJMahoney, Manager at Hilton Waco, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Good day -

Thank you very much for the kind comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Waco! We are thrilled that you enjoyed yourself and that our staff was able to meet and exceed your needs!

We look forward to your return to Waco!

Regards,

-Mike Mahoney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

No microwave or refrigerator in rooms, small bathtubs, no snack vending machines - only drinks and it didn't even take cash- only credit cards, no complementary breakfast, below average breakfast buffet was about $13.00 per person, no good views- mine overlooked a roof, "gift shop" was just a small snack bar and a few shelves of magazines and romance novels - not open most of the time, everything was overpriced, leaky around windows, most of the tv channels listed in room guide they didn't have- very few selections, has limited room service but overpriced- paid $2 for a can of soda. Rooms were clean and nice looking, staff was nice. Overall, it was average, but convenience needs were not met.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lem113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJMahoney, Manager at Hilton Waco, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Good day -

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Waco!

I am happy to hear that your thought our property and staff were very nice, however we are upset to hear that you felt your conveniences were not met. We do have refrigerators and microwaves available upon request and our Front Desk has a trove of snacks available when the gift shop is not open. I certainly want to apologize if these options were not offered to you.

Please contact us here directly when your travels bring you back to Waco - we will ensure you have these additional amenities available to you!

Regards,

-Mike Mahoney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Business Trip! Hotel was nice. When I went into the room first thing I notice Lumps in the bed. Not sure why the lumps were there. Seemed as if whoever cleaned the room did not flatten the sheets properly. Sheets looked worn as if someone used them before. Carpet has spots on it and looked like it was not cleaned. The resturant inside the hotel the food is bland, no taste! although the area we were in was scenic and resturants were in walking distance.This is not the hilton experience I was used too!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joniesha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJMahoney, Manager at Hilton Waco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Good day -

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of you recent stay with us here at the Hilton Waco.

I certainly want to apologize that your stay was not up to par with your other Hilton experiences. We strive for consistency in all aspects of our guests' experiences! While I can state that the "bumps" on your bed were the comforter - it is "fluffed" before each guest stay and has a rippled look on the bed - however I cannot explain the condition of the remainder of your guest room. These issues are being addressed with our housekeeping staff!

We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Waco!

Regards,

-Mike Mahoney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The room is nice, clean. The place is well managed and the staff is nice. We stayed there for business and came in late and left pretty early both days. The breakfast buffet wasn't that great. It is walking distance to quite a few restaraunts.

Room Tip: Check out the outdoor patio to relax with a cup of coffee and newspaper. It was pretty nice and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJMahoney, Manager at Hilton Waco, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Good day -

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Waco! We are happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay and our staff was accommodating!

We hope to see you again when your travels bring to to Waco!

Regards,

-Mike Mahoney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

A large gathering of my family came in from all over the US for family weekend at Baylor, with half of us staying at the Hilton. In short, the group of us that thought we were staying at the "nicer" hotel, were quickly disappointed and jealous of the "lower end" hotels the remaining family was staying at.

I personally booked 2 non smoking rooms, one for myself and husband, and the other for our sons.
This room was booked in March, for a visit in October... that’s right, 7 months in advance. When we arrived we were told that room requests were not guaranteed, and they only had smoking rooms left. I proceeded to tell the girl at the front desk, that there were two severely asthmatic people in our party (myself being one) and this was not acceptable. The gal proceeded to tell me that there was nothing she could do, since they were fully booked due to family weekend (precisely the reason we booked 7 months prior). Knowing the entire town was booked solid we were left with a couple of smoking rooms, and the deodorizer they gave us for our comfort!

When the elevator stopped at our floor, the smell of smoke hit us like a brick wall. A 1960’s casino in Vegas is the only reference I could think of to describe the odor. Unfortunately our room was 100 times worse (My mother, who has been a smoker for 40+ years couldn’t even walk into our room, because she said it smelled too bad). After 10 minutes in our room, I was in full blown asthma attack.

I returned down to the front desk wheezing and gasping for air, inhaler in hand. I proceeded to tell the front desk that our accommodations were unacceptable. Since no other hotels had any openings, I was forced to stay where my reservation was… But if I stayed in my room I was going to end up in the hospital and I would personally hold them responsible for my health. The front desk then decided that they would “see what they could do for me.” After going a few rounds, they decided they had a nonsmoking handicap room available, if that was ok. At that point, anything was better than staying in my car or the hospital. This gem of a new room, came with no shower curtain, so the bathroom flooded every time we bathed; no hair dryer; and Ah yes…. And nasty looks from the reception desk every time we passed by. Heaven forbid I have an asthma attack for going to a room I told them I could not be in, in the first place!

I must mention, that I stayed in this hotel with my daughter in June for orientation. My experience then, was not to the level of “service” (sarcasm) that this trip was, but was still nothing short of disappointing.
The ONLY redeeming quality to this hotel was a woman who worked in the hospitality suite on the 11th floor. I wish I remembered her name, but she was a shorter, middle aged colored woman with shorter braided hair.
She was friendly, warm, welcoming, and super sweet. If even a quarter of the employees at this location were that nice, the hotel would be a better place.
Until then, I would highly recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJMahoney, Manager at Hilton Waco, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Good day -

Thank you for contact us regarding your recent stay with us here in Waco.

I certainly want to offer our apologies for your disappointing stay this past weekend. While we make every attempt to accommodate all our guests requests regarding room type, we were unable to honor the non-smoking request due to Expedia.com not making this arrangement. Unfortunately, the third-party internet booking sites do not guarantee this type of request for guests.

I will address your comments to all our staff. Our guests' comfort is absolutely of the utmost importance. We should have certainly offered all options to ensure that your stay is safe and comfortable.

Please contact us directly here at the hotel at 254-754-8484 to arrange your next stay. We can guarantee your non-smoking status and ensure your stay is much more enjoyable.

Regards,

-Mike Mahoney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Convenient to McLennan Community College, restaurants, shopping, Baylor University, etc. Nice hotel with professional and helpful staff. Room service was always delivered on time if not early. Nice hotel room - (refrigerator didn't work), slept well my entire stay!

Room Tip: Stayed on the 7th floor - quiet - nice views of City
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitor76502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJMahoney, Manager at Hilton Waco, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Good day,

Thank you very much for the great comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Waco! It is wonderful to hear that you had enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to Waco!

Regards,

-Mike Mahoney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Great location as its near Baylor and is on the shuttle route to the football stadium. Free self parking is a plus. But rates are higher than I'd expect for a property of this quality. But overall it's my choice when I go to Waco.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJMahoney, Manager at Hilton Waco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Good day -

Thank you very much for the great comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Waco! We are thrilled to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon for another Baylor game!

Regards,

-Mike Mahoney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waco hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Waco - Baylor
2.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Waco
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Waco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Waco
Residence Inn Waco
#8 of 30 in Waco
190 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Waco North
5.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Waco, Texas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waco

Address: 113 S University Parks Dr, Waco, TX 76701-2241
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Waco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Waco
#7 Family Hotel in Waco
Price Range: £111 - £492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Waco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind in the heart of Texas at the newly renovated, Hilton Waco hotel. Situated in the heart of downtown, on the banks of Brazos River, this Waco hotel is close to a range of attractions including Warehouse Entertainment District and Baylor University. Relax in a spacious guest room or choose an Executive Room and enjoy access to the Concierge Lounge boasting spectacular Brazos River views, continental breakfast, and evening hors d’oeuvres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Waco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waco Hotel Waco
Hilton Hotel Waco
Waco Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing