We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel from hell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites Waxahachie
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Waxahachie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is rather new, but poorly maintained. The first room we were given smelled of urine and the second room may have been fairly clean, but the bed was so uncomfortable that my husband got no sleep before his meetings the next morning. The hotel may appear new for the outside, but the inside is poorly maintained. This is the worst hotel from this chain that we have ever stayed in and we don't recommend it at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angie_918809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have stayed at this location 3-4 times in the last 2 years. The location is great, rooms are nicely decorated, and the desk staff has always been absolutely wonderful. They are warm and friendly.

The hotel has always been clean and well care for but that seems to have changed. We were disappointed in what we found. We did not contact management for a couple of reasons: we were tired, the desk was rather chaotic when i went down to get a working iron, we had to leave the hotel within a few minutes of check in and didnt want to be changing rooms at midnight when we returned.

The clerk was doing her best to check people in, give directions to the hotel over the phone and locate a working iron. She had someone else looking for another iron also. After 10-15 minutes of waiting, i told her that i would check later to get the iron. A few hours later, I was given an iron that was so scorched that i was scared to use it on my clothes. I took it simply so i would not get charged for an iron missing from the room.

The bathroom was the worst! The toilet had a lot of hair around the bottom and back of the toilet. The marble countertop was unstable. The bottom appears to have been broken at some point and repaired with silicone. There was a 4' long split in the sheetrock. Some of the tiles had split and moved under your feet when you stepped on them. One of the walls was stained with some type of liquid that had been poured down the wall (Coffee maybe?)

The floor coming into the lobby from the side door was so nasty. It looked as if a herd of cattle had been ran through. A couple of times this area smelled like sewage.

The air conditioning worked great the first night but seemed to struggle the rest of the time.
I am not sure what has happened to this property but it is such a shame.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blandfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The lobby is beautiful. Nice carpeting, couches, computers for guests and large breakfast area. We were greeted warmly by the gal who checked us in. Our room is big. It has a living room and then a half wall for the sleeping area. The room is very clean and comfortable. Air conditioning nice and cold. Big bathroom with a coffee maker. Absolutely no complaints. We will have the hot breakfast tomorrow which includes eggs, sausage, cereal, waffles, etc. A great place to say.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flintstones50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have been loyal customers of this property for years, because of the covenience of its location; the price was always great; and most of all, we were "wow'd" by the hotel's cleanliness and comfort. However, this last stay bordered on big disappointment. We were dog-tired when we arrived after a 10-hour day of hard driving. Hauling our luggage into the room, we collapsed on the couch and preceeded to eat our take-out food. The room smelled musty when we first entered and we didn't pay it any mind. (Usually, after turning on the air conditioning, musty smells disappear.) Not the case in this instance. The couch smelled like an ashtray. We were too tired to care. (Note to self: do not ignore smelly rooms in the future.) I did not get a good night's sleep because I kept waking up with a headache, nostrils burning, and the room smelling like the bottom of a damp laundry basket filled with dirty clothes and cigarette butts. Gross. Not only did my nightstand lamp not work, the desk lamp didn't work and the shelf in the bathtub stall was broken. Who breaks a bathtub shelf? Even the bathroom floor felt a little "greasy" under my bare feet. Skipped breakfast. Yeah, the staff probably would have moved us to another room had we asked, but who wants to go down to the front desk, get another key, pack up and move to another room when you're exhausted? Seems to me the room should have been ready to receive guests in the first place. The rates were higher this time, too. Too bad. This used to be one of our favorite places to stay.

Room Tip: Take the stairs. Slowest elevator in recent memory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghosts_American_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here while visiting Scarbourgh Ren Faire. It is clean, comfortable and the service was good. The rates were average but appeared elevated, I guess due to the Ren faire and other events going on at the time I was there. Also stayed there during the holidays and the rates were a little better.

Room Tip: It is a little quirky to find so watch where you turn off the main street. You have to wind back be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granny322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort-W, General Manager at Comfort Suites Waxahachie, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback and return business. We value your opinion and hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Waxahachie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This might be a nice place but when you show up with your reservation, the Suite is overbooked and they have lost your reservation or have no record of it. You show them your online printed reservation confirmation - still no rooms available. They have overbooked!!! So don't plan on staying at this Comfort Suites in Waxahachie unless you bring a tent and sleeping bag. Will not ever reserve a room at this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 714Bette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort-W, General Manager at Comfort Suites Waxahachie, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Unfortunately from time to time, when booking through a third party site, inventory does not sync, reservations sometimes get lost in cyber space, etc. We did and do, however, attempt to locate another hotel to accommodate when this happens. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and frustration you went through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had reservations and confirmation of reservations for two rooms and when we got to the hotel to check in, they had no reservations for us and my family. It was booked through Booking.com which is who you go through when you book a room here. They supposedly called Booking.com to see what happened and then the guy, Brandon, tells us Booking.com cannot help. He then tells us ALL HOTELS ARE BOOKED because of the special happenings going on in Waxahachie. We drove hours to get there so we had to drive hours to go back home. I called Booking. com this morning and they showed our reservations and was very understanding. What we think happened is Comfort Suites overbooked (on purpose) and was turning people away because the next people that were checking in after us were having the same problems. So if you stay here, better call before you come to be sure they have your reservations! Also, Brandon, the guy at the desk, would not give us his last name!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort-W, General Manager at Comfort Suites Waxahachie, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Once again, my sincere apologies for the frustration and inconvenience you experienced. I can assure you that we do not intentionally overbook our hotel. The last thing we want to do is turn away guests. It was certainly an unfortunate situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waxahachie
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Waxahachie
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Waxahachie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Waxahachie Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Waxahachie
7.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Red Oak
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Waxahachie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Waxahachie

Address: 131 Rvg Pkwy, Waxahachie, TX 75165-5241
Region: United States > Texas > Waxahachie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Waxahachie
Price Range: £47 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Waxahachie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Suites Waxahachie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing