We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Customer Service, nice IHG Reward Member Perks!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Waxahachie
Certificate of Excellence
Kohler, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service, nice IHG Reward Member Perks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Gal at the front desk was GREAT (Kristen, I believe)! She was well informed of the area and was competent in giving us directions, as our GPS took us to the middle of nowhere. She was warm and welcoming upon arrival and greeted us with IHG reward member "gifts" (water and trail mix). She took pride in the hotel. We were also upgraded to a Corner King Suite which was HUGE! Unit had two loveseat sized couches, a chair, several side tables, a desk, a kitchenette, two TV's, a king size bed and a separate bathroom. Again it was HUGE! While it was not perfect (some stains, carpet wear, etc), it was definitely above average. My only real complaint is that the bathroom vanity was not made for a shorter person, it was difficult using the sink because it was quite deep and tall. Also, there was some sort of dirty tubing under the vanity that was visible and not very attractive to look at. GREAT water pressure in the shower! Breakfast was the standard Holiday Inn Express buffet, which has always been satisfactory. Would recommend and stay here again if in the area, especially with the IHG reward member perks.

Room Tip: Corner King Suite was VERY Spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FourPackerBackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenzieShore11, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Dear FourPackerBackers,
First we want to thank you so much for staying with us at our property! I greatly appreciate your compliments to my staff. They thank you so much for that, it genuinely made their day. We strive very hard every day to make guests feel just as you did.
I want to apologize though, that our bathroom was not more accommodating to your needs! I will put in an exception request to see if we can't get something done about the height of our counters.
I do know we will be getting a renovation soon and that may just be at the top of their priority list!
Thank you again so much for your review and for staying with us. We hope to be able to have you and your family with us again soon! Have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    25
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
10
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had tried to check in to the Holiday Inn Express that is a bit further North, but they were booked (sorry can't remember the name of the town, we were very tired from driving) the lady at the front desk was super great! She called the Wxahachie location for us and got us a room for the night, she also let us us the free WiFi to get directions printed off and allowed us to use the restroom. Our Tom Tom did not find the Waxahachie location and so wie called the hotel, the guy was GREAT, don't know his name, but his sister works there too. He guided us in with good directions and was very patient with me when I was stressed out and tired. The only issue was had was with getting the computer to work/print in the business center. They front desk clerk tried to help but could not get it working either. So he went behind the counter and printed out directions for us. The room was VERY nice, clean and the bed was wonderful, felt like it had a padded mattress cover on it. We slept very well. Shower was nice and hot with a great spray to it. Breakfast was good, hot and fresh. We stayed June 2 and then on our way back home we stayed again on June 13. Both times it was great! We did not have time to use the pool, but it was right outside our window and it looked clean. The June 13 visit a very nice girl checked us in.

Room Tip: Call early the hotels in this area seem to fill up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenzieShore11, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 July 2015
Moe B,
We thank you for staying with us here at our location! I am so pleased that the staff was able to accommodate your needs and be as helpful as they were. Our staff here strives very hard to help all out our guests in any way we can.
Thank you again for your time and business with us We hope to be able to have you with us again soon! Have a wonderful day!


Warmest Regards and Safe Travels,
Holiday Inn Express Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Elm, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for 2 nights (Monday, Tuesday June 9 & 10) while I attend a training school in Waxahachie.

I arrived and check-in was a breeze and went to my room on the second floor. My room was nice and I had a view of the pool.

As I unpacked, I remembered I had forgotten to bring shampoo. Luckily, the hotel had those in the bathroom along with conditioner, lotion & even shower gel.

I must say that I found the bed and pillows were excellent and I had no problems getting comfortable and relaxing. The nearby restaurants are within walking distance and the Target located behind the hotel is there if you need anything.

I had brought water bottles and drinks from home and used the refrigerator located in the room.
The water pressure was really good and had no issue running out of hot water.

The only thing I had an issue with was the elevator, there is only 1 and it can be a slow wait.

Check out was as easy as the check-in :)

Overall, I would return to this hotel and stay there.

Room Tip: I would request a room away from the pool or the highway due to any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CozumelCris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Overall this was a nice stay but there were several details that were off. My room had a great separate room with a desk and TV which made it very comfortable for the week. However I didn't sleep well in the bed and there were marks on several walls. It's close to the highway, dining and shopping. I did appreciate the multiple HBO channels offered.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerJay630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear TravelerJay630,

I appreciate that you took the time to leave our property a review. It is nice to know that our room accommodations were comfortable enough for your needs. I regret however any dissatisfaction you may have had with the condition of the bed.

Despite this, I hope that when your travels bring you back to the area you choose us again for your lodging needs.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratt
Level Contributor
154 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at this location as we did not want to stay in Dallas overnight. The good----Location was fantastic. No problems what so ever finding the motel. Room was clean.

the not so good------Very uncomfortable bed (many have commented on this and it is true). Scratchy sheets (the quality wasn't there, maybe our sheet were just old and threadbare. Breakfast was a little iffy. I normally enjoy the cinnamon roll but I took one bite and threw the rest away. I am not a fan of crunch/ dried out cinnamon rolls. I tried to print something on the printer in the business room, printer was off line. I noticed that there were 14 documents pending so it wasn't a new issue. Went to the front desk to ask about it and was told they didn't know how to fix it.

I might consider staying her again, but chances are not.

Room Tip: ask for something close to an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Brittll,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area. Please accept our apologies for the shortfalls you have experienced and any inconvenience you may have encountered which affected your stay negatively. We want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, MS
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Very nice hotel. Love that there is a Target behind it and Johnny Carinos beside it! Did not want to stay in Dallas so this was a great location for us. We stay at many HI Express on vacation. This one is nice but the air conditioner unit made me miserable during the night. It is loud and blew onto the bed .I had read this on another review but did not think we would have a problem. I was wrong. Mattressed were not up to normal HI Express quality. Not a good nights rest!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wpdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Over the past eight years or so, my wife and I have stayed at many of the Waxahachie hotels while attending the Scarbrough Ren Festival. This year we decided to try the Holiday Inn Express because of the nearby restaurants. That convenience is all this hotel has going for it unfortunately.

This place is either aging and definitely showing its age or very high mileage and in need of a bit of refurbishment or both. We booked our room online (king bed with refrigerator and microwave). We never use the microwave but do use the 'fridge. When we entered the room guess what? No refrigerator... only a hole in a cabinet where a refrigerator used to be. My wife called the front desk and was told there was nothing that could be done that night (the hotel was completely booked) but as we were staying for two nights, they could get us a refrigerator the next day. That suggest to me that they may be moving at least one refrigerator from room-to-room rather than equipping each room as it should be equipped.

The bathroom was rather dingy. The steel door frame was starting to rust in the corners. It's nothing that a quick coat of paint couldn't hide but the fact that it's been allowed to get as far as it has tell me that management/ownership isn't examining the rooms often (of at all).

The room furniture looked like it came from a garage sale. The real experience killer was the bed. The mattress was so hard as to be almost impossible to sleep on. I recall thinking that it was rather like sleeping on the ground with only a couple of blankets underneath for padding. My back was sore from the experience.

There are a few other issues that I'll not go into here in the interest of trying to keep this as brief as possible. The bottom line is this: In our experience, all of the hotels in Waxahachie seem to get a lot of traffic but this one is, by far, a lot more tired than the others we've stayed at. We won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor away from vending and the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AustinFoodie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear AustinFoodie3,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments about the bathroom and the room furniture have been documented and appropriate actions will be taken. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waxahachie
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Waxahachie
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Waxahachie
Comfort Suites Waxahachie
#4 of 11 in Waxahachie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Waxahachie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waxahachie Inn & Suites
3.6 mi away
Texas Inn Motel
Texas Inn Motel
#6 of 11 in Waxahachie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
7.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Red Oak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Address: 984 West US Highway 287 Bypass, Waxahachie, TX 75165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Waxahachie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Waxahachie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience theHoliday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in the charming town of Waxahachie, TX; a favorite for our business & leisure visitors. Placed near Waxahachie s newest restaurants & retail stores, this hotel offers convenient dining & shopping along with our friendly Texas service & our attractive, well maintained facility. We are minutes away from Texas Motorplex & historic downtown Waxahachie 30 minutes from downtown Dallas & 45 minutes from downtown Ft. Worth.When it s time to get connected we know just what you need: free wireless high-speed Internet , cable, sports, & movie channels. When you need to burn some energy visit our fitness center & our beautiful pool. Polish that presentation at our business center & utilize our meeting areas. Relax in your room featuring amenities such as a microwave, refrigerator, desk area, & comfortable bedding.Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast that offers items such as omelets, bacon, biscuits/gravy, cinnamon rolls & our hot Smart Roast coffee!Local businesses:Just minutes away from Cardinal, Dart Container, Ennis Inc., Gerdau,Georgia Pacific, Matheson Tri-Gas, NFI, Owens-Corning, Saint-Gobain, Suez Energy, TXI,& US Aluminum.Local restaurants: walking distance to Carino's, Olive Garden, & Chili's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Waxahachie
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Waxahachie
Waxahachie Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing