We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place in downtown waxahachie”

The Doves Nest Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 119 Restaurants in Waxahachie
Price range: US$5 - US$11
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good place in downtown waxahachie”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We went Thanksgiving weekend. If you plan to go on a holiday weekend, you'd better have a reservation. Food was local fare, service was very good. Prices are higher but reasonable. That many people can't be wrong. Will work off the menu for kids or diet concerns.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrpar3pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    41
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leonard, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lunch today”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I were in Waxahachie for an adoption training. I always love to visit the small town squares and looked up restaurants on trip advisor. This place is super cute and everyone is so friendly! There is a store and the restaurant is a separate large dining area adjoined to the store. They serve fresh salads and fruits. I had the artichoke goat cheese soup and a scoop of chicken salad. It was wonderful. My husband had soup and a Rueben sandwich. Cute, classy, Southern place! We will go back if in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimandShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Came in 15 minutes till closing and was still treated like queens. Loved the atmosphere as well as the service. Sweet little place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MandyWortman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not just a lady's lunch spot”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

My wife took me here on our way to Austin and I was pleasantly surprised! ABC dip was really good as was the club panini. Definitely better than fasts food on the highway.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bradjsnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just delightful!”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Doves Nest Restaurant is a wonderful gem nestled in the middle of a quaint vintage looking store. It is only open for lunch. The food is yummy and fresh, the atmosphere is easy going. The service is great. Highly recommend it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanPMcHatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Doves Nest Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Doves Nest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing