We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best food or service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lupe Tortilla's

Lupe Tortilla's
Ranked #4 of 154 Restaurants in Webster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not the best food or service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were staying at a nearby hotel on vacation and decided to eat here because the marquis said, "ES PREEEEETY GOOD". We thoughtt that was funny, so we decided to check it out. The food wasn't bad, but wasn't great. Comparing to our favorite Mexican restaurants back home, it didn't stack up. The service wasn't bad, but it wasn't terrific. If we were in Webster again, I would find somewhere else to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank poktj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    50
    18
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding service & food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We had outstanding service from our waiter, Sal- we also had a visit to our table from the manager, and the chef - not sure what they could've done to make the dining experience better! They rock here!

We shared beef fajitas-the beef (outside skirt steak) was marinated and grilled achieving with a delicious crust. The handmade tortilla (both corn and flour) were excellent
The charro beans were a favorite too-

Helpful?
Thank Polly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
504 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Nobody Puts Baby in the Corner!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Lupe Tortilla's. Three o'clock on a Saturady afternoon for Tex Mex. Not busy. Hostess tried to seat us at a table for two in a dark corner. Didn't happen. Got a better table with lousy service, but we might have gotten better service in the corner. Nobody puts my baby in the corner. Our server seemed to care less about whether we were there or not. HE GOT ZERO TIP. First time I've done that in over 30 years. The food was adequate. But with over 50 Tex Mex joints within 10 miles of my home, suffice it to say we won't go back here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jtchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice TexMex but rude waiter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for a family dinner after a busy day at the Space Center. We were seated on the patio which was cozy. After observing how large the portions were in neighboring tables I and my wife settled for sharing a single portion of fajitas with some sides, which was just about the right amount of food. The fajitas tasted excellent, but the pepper they served along with the dish was extremely hot - not the mild bell pepper we were expecting. This kind of spoiled the culinary experience for us. The managing partner came around and apologized for this and offered us ice cream desserts to cool off which (which did help), which was very kind. Our kids liked their entrees off the kids menu.

We were unhappy with our waiter, Fidel, who acted rudely, rolled his eyes at our questions, spoke back to us when we wanted to make sure he understood our order correctly ("that's what I said"), and instead of being offered alternatives when I asked for a beer brand they didn't have I just got a dry "no" for an answer. Unfortunately this caused our dinner to start off on the wrong foot.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 73_ptr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
107 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in the Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Lupe Tortilla's is always good. Fresh ingredients and great service sums up every visit that I've experienced. I would highly recommend Lupes if in the mood for TexMex.

Helpful?
Thank SamPedro360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lupe Tortilla's also viewed

Webster, Texas Gulf Coast
Webster, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Webster, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lupe Tortilla's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing