We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Motel! Unbelievable Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palm Aire Hotel & Suites
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Weslaco
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I have stayed at "fine resort hotels" costing more then twice the price and not gotten half the value of this Best Western motel. The Palm Aire has tennis, racquetball and hand ball courts, outdoor shuffle board court, a fully equipped work out room, sauna, jacuzzi and a huge swimming pool with different sections for wading toddlers, swimmers and cabana lounging parents. There are also a full service bar and a restaurant located in the main building. The whole property is lined with the signature palm trees and around the massive pool area providing great shade . The grounds are well groomed and clean. The lobby, conference center and other parts of the main building are decorated in hard woods and plush carpeting. Again, more finely decorated then other more expensive hotels I have visited. There is also a gift shop and I believe a salon.
We visited relatives in the area for three days. It was very hot in July but our rooms were chilly cold, quite clean and so welcoming to come back to. This was the first time I have stayed somewhere and really believed that the cleaning staff deserved a tip. The bed linen and towels smelled clean, the room was immaculate, and even though we requested a smoking room (for my roommate) there was no hint of cigarette smoke. Even the windows looked scrubbed.
The unbelievable part of our stay was the breakfast buffet. The motel's restaurant could easily make it on it's own. The food was wonderful. The breakfast buffet includes every kind of food that can be considered "breakfast". They had a large variety of cereals, yogurts, pastries, cheeses, juices and fruits. They also had serve your-self hot buffet with biscuits, gravy, bacon, sausage, fried potatoes, corn beef hash and scrambled. There was a waffle station with an attendant and a couple of full-service, short-order cooks making all kinds of eggs to order, omelets and regular pancakes. The kitchen staff were friendly and obviously very attentive of the buffet; constantly cleaning and replenishing. Each day we managed to have a different waitress and they all were cheerful and friendly and offered to bring us seconds and suggested different things to try. Unbelievably, this whole breakfast experience was included in the price of our room!

The restaurant and breakfast experience has become a highlight of our vacation memories. Next time we come to south Texas we will definitely stay at the Palm Aire. I heartily recommend it to every one and hope others have the great experience we did.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Palm Aire Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here for a family trip. There was no problem accommodating for ADA access and for our other rooms for the family.

Breakfast is the best part!
Way more than just a cheap breakfast bar and it is included for free. We all got to have a good meal together to start the day. Hopefully they will have tortillas by the time we come back :)

Staff was helpful and the rooms were comfortable in size and cleanliness.

Booking the next stay in Westlaco here for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for room close to the pool or main lobby for easier accessibility.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agonzo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

My husband and I had a blast! We couldn't believe all there was to do at this hotel and it just kept getting better!We got up early ate our free BUFFET breakfast then while my husband took care of business I went shopping at the near by outlet mall then back to the hotel to lounge at the pool. When my husband returned we ordered food and had a drink in the hotel lounge where we met crystal the lovely bartender who was great conversation and made my new favorite drink! Just a wonderful atmosphere. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prayerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This lodging has the most awesome amenities-pools, suites, restaurant, bar, lots of grounds for walking, gym, pet accommodations, and a tennis court. It just does not live up to its potential. Our linens were dirty upon arrival although they changed them immediately upon our request. We found a hair in our breakfast food. The rooms need updating. The hotel could be so much more.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsrnorwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Gave up trying to get a room through the hotel(they were busy) and went through Priceline. When we arrived the "non-smoking" room we reserved wasn't non-smoking. Staff didn't care and doesn't have to it seems. After our stay we contacted Best Western Hotels and they said they don't directly administer that hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vsop333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

I have never been treated with more disrespect by anyone in the service industry in my entire life! We arrived at the hotel, check in was fast easy and efficient. Upon entering our rooms, I noticed that both rooms, although both Kings, were entirely different. Although I was under the impression that we would have a refridgerator & microwave, we did not, while the other room did. I walked down to talk to LaShawn and ask her why and she said "Well, you booked through priceline, you will have to deal with them, I can't help you". No problem, I said, wasn't a big deal so we went on our way.

That evening, upon returning to our rooms at 9pm from an exhausting travel day and visiting relatives, sleep was the only thing on our minds. At 9:30 pm the band in the bar proceeded to play and had the bass turned up so high that the windows in the room rattled. Finally, unable to take it any longer, we phoned the front desk and LaShawn was kind enough to tell us that if we had booked through the hotels web site and not on priceline we would have known there was going to be a band all weekend. I informed her that prior to booking on priceline, I had checked out the website and it did mention the band, however it did not mention that they would have no respect for anyone and would have the bass up rocking the windows till 2am, couldn't she please ask them to turn down the bass a bit? The volume was fine, it was that bass... You know, when you hear the car windows shaking from the car next to you, you have no idea what the music is but you can sure hear the bass. She said absolutely not, once again she threw out the priceline excuse. By 10:30pm we went down to see if we could possibly get a room change. The 1st answer was "No, you booked through priceline, we can't help you". The 2nd answer was, "No, we have no other rooms available". The 3rd answer was "Sorry, we only have another room in the courtyard". The 4th answer was oh, we have a room on the other side of the building right behind the room you are in. We were very happy with that answer and we packed up and moved, however LaShawn's directions were a little off and it wasn't where she said it was (was that on purpose?) so we walked around for about 10 minutes trying to find it with all of our belongings in tow.

We also found that when we did have the rooms cleaned, they were darn near dirtier than we left them!.. Now, that could have been a little conspiracy too since we booked through priceline who knows.

Also, we found out that had we not booked through priceline at $55.00 per night, we would have been charged $45.00 per night if we had just walked in! And would have been treated much better.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Smartdupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

In January 2010, we met several couples to go Shopping in Mexico. We couldn't have been more thrilled with our room and it's location to our Mexican crossing. This was our 4th trip to this area and this hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We had breakfast each morning at the hotel restaurant which is only open in the morning. Excellent breakfast of anything you want! The management/employees were always friendly and helpful. The prices are more than reasonable and we would definitely recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntiquesCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weslaco
3.6 mi away
Best Western Town Center Inn
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Weslaco
4.3 mi away
Victoria Palms Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Texas Inn Weslaco
Texas Inn Weslaco
#8 of 10 in Weslaco
20 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mercedes
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Donna
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Aire Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Aire Hotel & Suites

Address: 415 S International Blvd, Weslaco, TX 78596-9138
Region: United States > Texas > Weslaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Weslaco
Price Range: £53 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Aire Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Aire Hotel and Suites Weslaco TX Hotel is located in the semi-tropical Rio Grande Valley, 2 exits from Rio Grande Valley Outlet Mall,five miles from the Progresso,MX, and approximately 20 miles from Miller Airport and Valley International Airport. This location is also two miles from Tower Theater, three miles from the Valley Nature Center and Gladys Porter Zoo, five miles from golf courses PGA rated Tierra Santa, 14 miles from the Santa Ana Wildlife Refuge, 20 the Iwo Jima Memorial, and 40 miles from South Padre Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Palm Aire Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Aire Hotel Weslaco
Palm Aire Hotel And Suites
Weslaco Best Western Palm Aire
Best Western Palm Aire
Best Western Weslaco
Palm Aire Hotel & Suites Weslaco, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing