We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful evening and a great steak”

Four Winds Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Four Winds Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Wills Point
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“a wonderful evening and a great steak”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a beautiful converted ranch house in the middle of nowhere. We were there on a Saturday evening and it wasn't too crowded. The service was excellent and the steaks were better than great. We enjoyed the view of the ranch and an appetizer. We had chicken fried tenderloin, ribeye and the small filet. They were all grilled to our order and drenched in butter. The sides are served family style and we didn't have to pay Dallas Steak House prices. About an hour from Dallas but worth the drive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dallastraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    23
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, TX
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We were given a gift certificate for Christmas and thought it was time to try it out. We made reservations (they recommend it) for 5:30 pm. We were immediately seated near a window with a nice view over a small lake. Our waiter was very attentive without hovering. We first ordered Shrimp Cocktail for our appetizer. There were six very large shrimp, very good. We both ordered the house salad which came with glazed pecans. Yummy! The entrée we chose was the ribeye with fingerling potatoes cooked with onions and creamed corn for the sides. The steaks were cooked to perfection. The sides were good too. We had a blueberry/peach cobbler with homemade vanilla bean ice cream. It was scrumptious! The bread that was served with the meal was good also. We enjoyed our meal so much! We definitely will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fencepost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We heard about this wonderful restaurant at a party and knew we would be traveling East - so we decided to stop and try it. BEST decision we could of made. The owner and chef (formerly from Del Frisco's) has done an OUTSTANDING job by not only building a beautiful ranch house on a picturesque setting but also creating one of the most amazing dinner experiences we have had! To begin the evening - we had some delicious martinis created by the fantastic bartender (mixologist) .... and then the "deliciousness" followed with our appetizers, steaks and sides .... all prepared to perfection! To complete the evening - the wonderful "mixologist" made us Brandy Alexanders. Go as fast as you can to this OUTSTANDING steakhouse!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FF4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One in a million!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I were rv camping at Lake Tawakoni State Park for our first time. Looking on the internet for local restaurants we saw this one and took a chance on it. It is in a picture book setting, on a rolling countryside, just a ways off the road. We had a reservation on a Wednesday evening, but probably didn't need it.
The menu offers a good variety, all individually priced, so you can eat cheaper if you tried. We both had steaks, and they were wonderful. The bread pudding we shared for dessert was equally delightful!
The service was friendly and prompt. We were treated like important guest! The hostess' blouse was too revealing, but everything else was perfect!
We will go again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mamacert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful (& unusual) Venue for Dinner with Friends & Family”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had not yet heard of this place when friends from Van, Texas suggested we meet there as a mid-way destination for us all. It is NEAR Terrell, Texas, but really boasts a Wills Point address that can make it challenging to find. Both Yellow Pages and our GPS failed to pinpoint the location, which is just 1/4 mile North of I-20 on FM47 -- Exit 516 off I-20 about 10 miles East of Terrell.

A turn to the right of FM47 puts you on a long winding driveway that leads up to a classic Texas ranch-house; sitting on 1100 acres of pecan-studded views with a big pond that you can enjoy from the ~100 ft long front porch. This one was once owned by Dallas Cowboy LeRoy Jordan; now the current owners have transformed into a warm, welcoming and wonderful restaurant.

Since we arrived early, we took the porch option with a cool drink in hand and waited for our friends to arrive. During our wait, we chanced a conversation with fashionably dressed young lady named LeeAnn. As it turned out, she is one of the proprietors with life-and-business-partner Chef Frank Rumore' -- former Executive Chef for Del Frisco's, the famous Dallas steakhouse. She gave us a warm welcome as first-timers and made sure all our questions were answered.

We learned a lot about the Chef and his philosophy, and total commitment to satisfying his patrons; that EVERYTHING is made fresh and on-site, even the staple breadbasket and all the desserts. And better yet, everything she told us was verified 10x over by the meals we experienced.

Appetizers ordered were Crab Cakes and Fried Oysters. There was almost nothing but crab in the cakes (no fillers, etc.) and they were topped with a orange-tinged glaze. The oysters were lightly breaded and fried to absolute perfection. Both were top of their class, and enjoyed by all.

For dinner, we all ended up ordering some version of their signature entree': STEAK. ((Although they also offer some wonderful fresh seafood, we were all beef hungry)). The meats were well-seasoned, cooked to order -- and to perfection -- with wonderful sides of green beans, sauteed mushrooms & onions, and the house mashed potatoes. Each night features a different version of the classic comfort food; that night they were lightly laced with Blue Cheese.

Although none of us really had room for dessert, we had to try the home-made Bread Pudding as a shareable. It is one of my wife's perennial favorites, and I usually don't eat it. However, even I WILL be ordering this one again: it was light and fluffy, delicious and topped with an extraordinarily tasty whiskey sauce. We both agreed it was absolutely THE BEST we had ever tasted. I can only wonder what the Creme Brulee' was like, but I'm sure it would also be a chart-topper!

The food, atmosphere and service makes it easy to understand why this place -- kind of 'in the middle of nowhere' -- now draws folks from as far away as Shreveport and Ft. Worth... and why, after just 9 years in business with nearly NO advertising the reservation book is nearly always FULL!

Service is always an important factor to me in any dining experience. Our table server "J.B." was knowledgeable, personable, courteous and prompt. The reception staff was friendly and helpful, and of course the proprietor LeeAnn was top shelf. The only negative was the bartender: her seeming lack of personality and total disinterest in me as a customer when I ordered our drinks for the porch wait (one of which was mis-made) was a blemish; hopefully that will be remedied.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobW75087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Four Winds Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing