We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Leaning Pear

The Leaning Pear
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Wimberley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very unusual menu but what we ordered was really good. I had the 3 salads and a cup of soup which was super. Service was really good; restaurant was very nice with a beautiful view.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    153
    54
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It used to be much better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We wanted to love this new location but we have been disappointed 3 or 4 times. Once they were out of 3 different items on the menu and the next time the food was expensive and not very good. We tried to give them The benefit of the doubt during the transition but...our friends felt the same way so we haven't gone back. We are locals.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stonelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place for A Meal with Girlfriends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

About 10 of us girls met up at the Leaning Pear while waiting for check in at our weekend accommodations this past weekend. The restaurant looks fairly new and the design and architecture of the place is wonderful. It's a great place to hang out for drinks and a meal. Our table ordered pizza, salads, and the BBLT. All were delicious! We also ordered a couple of bottle of champagnes and beers and were pleased with their beer and wine selections as well.

Everything was so good that my sister and I went back on Sunday on our way out. I had the fried quail sandwich which was just okay. My sister stuck with the BBLT which was again very good the second time around.

My only complaint is the slow service. It seems both times we were there our waiter seemed to have too many tables to keep up with.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ella-Berella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hill Country Fare ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

No complaints at all. I ordered the chicken and grits--it was perfect. Husband ordered the meatloaf and loved how his slice was pan - fried after baking. One of our children eats grain-free and we were happy to see a "Small Bites" plate on the kids menu with choices like chicken, dried figs, fruit, etc.

Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Outstanding Dinner and half price wine night. I had the meatloaf and grilled veggies. Very tender and well seasoned meat perfectly cooked. My son had the cheese and salami pizza. Nice size - thin and crispy crust, perfect sauce, cheese and meat mixture. He said it was the best he ever had! Big complement coming from a picky eater.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CRCollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Leaning Pear also viewed

 

Been to The Leaning Pear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing