We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful find.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain View Lodge
Ranked #4 of 19 Wimberley B&B and Inns
Dallas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
“A delightful find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

My husband and I watched the Perseids Meteor Shower in August on the pool deck. . I searched on line for a place to stay in Wimberly to watch the shower and discovered this wonderful place. It was the perfect place. Clean, comfy, and dark enough for a great view. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tpat30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    22
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Amazing view, relaxing pool and great value. Rooms were comfy and clean but lacking in some basics, i.e. coffeemaker, shampoo. It's a remote location (which is a good thing), but there is no coffee immediately available. I would stay here again, but would come better prepared. One of perks that I didn't take advantage of was a nature trail. I hope that on my next visit I'll have more time to explore.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

I travel frequently for both business and pleasure. We ended up booking a stay here as we literally couldn't find anywhere else other than big chains that were overpriced. I cannot remember staying somewhere as scenic and accommodating as the Mountain View Lodge. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are basic but nice and spotless, and the staff is the friendliest you will encounter anywhere. The view is about the nicest you will find anywhere in Texas!

We were with our two young kids and they loved staying right by the pool (though the poolside rooms are only single queen beds). The bigger rooms on the other 'end' of the property (it only has 16 rooms so everything is very close) appear to have great views but are on the end opposite the pool.

Wimberley is a great little town to hang out in. Visit blue hole or the river by Frontier Town for a nice relaxing splash in the water.

We will definitely come back as this place would be as great for couples as it was for kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdbohannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

We normally stay at very high end places but this IS Wimberley. Nevertheless, the managers of this lodge could not have been friendlier or more helpful. When we needed a humongous document printed out for work, they graciously said no problem. When we needed lotion, they gave us a giant new bottle. Every thing we asked for, they graciously helped. The rooms are small yet clean and have great expansive hill country views. Wimberley is a great jumping off point to visit Gruene, the Salt Lick barbeque restaurant and the Wimberley Cafe which is another much for breakfast or lunch. And did I mention Wall Steet Western? Another fab shopping spot for upscale western wear.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jennyklovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forney, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

My family stays at Mountain View Lodge a few times each summer, and we just returned from our first trip this year. The owners have really done a lot of work on the place since last year, and it shows. The rooms have been updated, and they've built a new pool deck. A great place to stay is now even better! If you're visiting Wimberley, or even San Marcos, check out Mountain View Lodge. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDF71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

This could be just an ordinary older motel, except it's nestled charmingly into its Hill Country landscape and obviously meticulously tended by a very pleasant retiree couple. The rooms are not spectacular but are nice enough with balconies overlooking the lodge's own private acreage (with nature trail) and the Blanco River valley beyond. A large deck with a lovely swimming pool also overlooks this great view. Unpretentious and totally enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed here for two days with my husband and two kids, ages 3 and 1. It was a great location, very close to the town of Wimberley. My boys loved the pool and the management team was very courteous. i will recommend this place to friends at work.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin-ital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimberley
10.3 mi away
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
#3 of 3 in Canyon Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
16.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Dripping Springs
Sleep Inn & Suites Dripping Spri...
#1 of 2 in Dripping Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
10.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 31 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
4.5 mi away
The Lodge at Cypress Falls
The Lodge at Cypress Falls
#11 of 19 in Wimberley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.0 mi away
Creekhaven Inn
Creekhaven Inn
#5 of 19 in Wimberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Lodge

Property: Mountain View Lodge
Address: 10600 Ranch Road 12, P.O. Box 877, Wimberley, TX 78676
Region: United States > Texas > Wimberley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Wimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mountain View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Wimberley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing