We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely inn.”
Review of Square Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Square Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Wimberley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We spent two nights here. The inn is nicely decorated and lovingly cared for by the innkeeper. The room was very comfortable and met all our needs. The inn is located in the square and is within easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants. This all contributed to a lovely weekend away from it all. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcilia B, Owner at Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We greatly appreciate it! We've made so many improvements since you've last stayed with us and we hope to see you again so we can show you how much we've improved since your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Square Inn was the perfect place for a relaxing time in Wimberley. We stayed in the Chandler Suite and it was perfect for 4 adults. It has a king size bed and another room on the side with a double size bed and a twin size bed. The restroom was big and very spacious. Marcilia the InnKeeper was a wonderful lady and she treated us like family. She made some delicious breakfast every morning. We really appreciated that and it was just right to get us going in the morning. All the shops and restaurants are walking distance. The only time we used our car was when we went Ziplining. We had a very good time and everyone there was super nice.

Room Tip: The Chandler Suite is on the inside of the building so you can hear everyone else coming in and out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria2515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcilia B, Owner at Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We greatly appreciate it! We've made so many improvements since you've last stayed with us and we hope to see you again so we can show you how much we've improved since your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My wife and I have stayed in all types of lodging but I have to say that this place had to be the worse, first of all they should never be listed as a B&B as they are, at best, a 1star motel with a feeble attempt at a lame "continental" breakfast but even without the breakfast we had issues with thin walls to the extent that I had to call the innkeeper 2 times around midnight just to ask if she could ask the room next door to turn down their television in which on the 2nd attempt she had the nerve to ask if I had gone next door and knocked on their door. When morning finally came the room was ice cold with no thermostat for adjustment so when we attempted to take a hot shower to warm up there wasn't enough hot water for 2 showers. When we checked out there was no one at the desk to address our concerns. I sent the innkeeper an email in regards to our dissatisfaction and to this day the only response I have received in an automated "thanks for your stay" email and it's been 3 days now. With that being said I hate to be completely negative about a stay so I will say that is great for location to Wimberley shopping. Just take my review as a warning is all I expect.

Room Tip: beware of the thin walls if you are a light sleeper and don't expect your typical B&B breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcilia A, Owner at Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

This guest stayed for one night during the Spring Break week. They left while I was putting breakfast out in the Lounge (around the corner from the front desk) and without saying anything to me. I give my phone number to all guests that check in. The next day I received an email asking for a refund. Below is the email I sent this guest of which he declined my offer.
Clearly there was a miscommunication regarding the neighboring guest. He called me Tuesday night to complain about the neighbors TV. I understood him to say that he had approached the neighboring guest so I asked, 'Did you speak with her?' The next morning at breakfast, the neighboring guest apologized and said she had turned up her TV to drown out the exceptionally loud noise from her neighbors (the complaining guests) then she fell asleep.
The Inn was full and other guests during this same time expressed that they had a wonderful stay, asked for a breakfast recipe and would return.

"We appreciate your input and apologize that your stay did not exceed your expectations of our Inn. It seemed that we got off to a good start with your compliments and positive comments to our family.
The elderly woman staying next to your room has stayed with us during the week for the last 6 weeks and was very apologetic for falling asleep with her TV on (she had taken out her hearing aids and could not hear our calls. We had not had this issue with her before. It was probably me you heard her taking to briefly when asking her to turn down her TV, as she was alone).
I wish you would have brought your other concerns to my attention when we spoke or mentioned it to my family when you saw them in the hallway, as we would be happy to address them. We hadn't had any issues with the shower before and have checked it.
Your experience is not typical of our guests and so we would like to offer a complimentary future stay to compensate you for any inconvenience. Please contact me for a week date that is convenient for you."
Sincerely--
Marcilia, the Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was a great experience for all of us! I booked 3 rooms, & all 8 of us thought it was a great place to stay, clean rooms, big rooms, comfortable beds. The Innkeeper said it was a continental breakfast but it was much more than that! She made us omelets, quiche, there was flavored coffees, fresh fruit, juices, milk, hot & cold cereals. We thought it was perfect & we will be staying there again. It is right in town, so you can walk to all the in town eating areas & shops.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcilia B, Owner at Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We greatly appreciate it! We've made so many improvements since you've last stayed with us and we hope to see you again so we can show you how much we've improved since your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We recently spent a few days touring Hill Country with relatives visiting from Europe.
This place is a great find and exceptionally good for the money. Hospitality outstanding and rooms clean and elegantly furnished.
Do not be deterred from the outside appearance as the inside is very warm and welcoming.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SB1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcilia B, Owner at Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We greatly appreciate it! We've made so many improvements since you've last stayed with us and we hope to see you again so we can show you how much we've improved since your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Square Inn is located in the heart of a bustling Wimberley, Texas, a small tourist mecca between Austin and San Antonio. It's quiet, around the corner from the main street, and unimposing on the outside. Inside, however, it is amazing. Large rooms, large antique furniture, and PRIVATE. Our room was off the inside courtyard, complete with a covered sitting area. We followed a wedding party--and what a wonderful place this would be for a group to get together.
The town is charming. Many country restaurants and great eclectic shopping from hill country collectables to art and one-of-a-kind sculpture galleries. It also is a stop for motorcycle tourists. They add a fun flare to the area.
The B+B has a wonderful inside sitting area with a big screen cable TV. They have all sorts of home made snacks, with coffee, fruits and drinks available. We were the only ones there so breakfast was a hot sausage an egg sandwich with fruit, cereals and various goodies. Most people probably choose to eat at one of the unique restaurants nearby--we tried Wimberley Cafe one morning.
We walked along beautiful Cyprus Creek that runs through town. A local explained a huge old cottonwood was a hundreds-of-years old tree used by the native Indians. They repeatedly splashed water into the interior then burned it to hollow the center. It is known as the "changing tree" because it was where Indian women would change before bathing in the creek. The week before we arrived a fawn had been born inside the tree.
Robin McCullough runs a perfect get-away. WeLoved it!

Room Tip: We loved our room that was off the inside courtyard. Others are off the main hallway inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcilia B, Owner at Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We greatly appreciate it! We've made so many improvements since you've last stayed with us and we hope to see you again so we can show you how much we've improved since your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The Square Inn is literally just steps away from shopping and dining. You can't ask for more convenience. We came back to the room several times to drop off shopping bags or just to make a "pit" stop. We booked their Chandler Suite which sleeps 6 for my family of 3 adults and 2 teenagers. The room was huge and clean and had all the conveniences. The beds were extremely comfortable and the kitchenette and dining area were a plus for pizza, drinks and snacking (teens!) Marci, the owner/innkeeper was up every morning making fresh coffee and a hot breakfast. There was also plenty of convenience food offerings for those that wanted to sleep in or get up early and on their way. Wine was offered in the evening. If you needed anything - you just had to ask - more soaps, shampoos, towels, hairdryer was all available ... just ask. This may not be the most romantic B&B .... definitely more family oriented - which is great for us. The price was reasonable for the size of the room and the B&B feeling of hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jo_coch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcilia B, Owner at Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We greatly appreciate it! We've made so many improvements since you've last stayed with us and we hope to see you again so we can show you how much we've improved since your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wimberley hotels
2.6 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#5 of 19 in Wimberley
85 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Cypress Falls
The Lodge at Cypress Falls
#6 of 19 in Wimberley
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wimberley Inn
Wimberley Inn
#3 of 4 in Wimberley
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
BellaVida Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center
0.5 mi away
Creekhaven Inn
Creekhaven Inn
#4 of 19 in Wimberley
126 reviews
1.1 mi away
7A Resort
7A Resort
#1 of 7 in Wimberley
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Square Inn

Address: 110 Oak Drive, Wimberley, TX 78676
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Wimberley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Wimberley
Price Range: £85 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Square Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Square Inn, the perfect Hill Country getaway conveniently located on Wimberley Square! We’ve been delighting Wimberley guests since 2010! Square Inn offers upscale accommodations and warm hospitality in six custom designed suites. Square Inn accommodates you with home comforts, luxurious linens, and bed and breakfast hospitality. Each room features pillow-top mattresses, Egyptian-cotton sheets, flat screen televisions and complimentary WiFi, mini-frig and microwave. Savor breakfast in the expansive lounge or relaxing patio, all just a few steps from the dining and shopping and natural beauty of Wimberley. Enjoy shopping, dining, hiking, wine-tasting, zip-lining, swimming, and more! Wimberley activities offer something for everyone. Stay the Wimberley Way and experience all that this charming Hill Country retreat has to offer the jewel of the Texas Hill Country! We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing