We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amangiri
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lake Powell Resort(Page)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
417
107
37
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
107
37
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaman resortsmesa viewlake powelldesert viewantelope canyonsheer beautygreat lakesbroken arrowprivate poolslot canyontour of the propertynatural landscapehorseshoe bendremote locationsurrounding desertthe entire resortrock formations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
452 - 457 of 576 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We have heard of Amangiri hotels in Asia, best of the best. The Amangiri in Utah was a bust for us. We were very excited about staying at this hotel with its reputation being "the best". When making our reservation we were asked about any food preferences. Food choices were very limited. We had a beautiful view of the desert although when taking a shower kids came by outside our room and stared in. We had to climb over the bath-tub to try to close the blinds. Our bed frame extended past the mattress and we ran into the bed-frame quite a few times and we had to be careful getting out of bed. We asked to have a pkg federal expressed and instead it was mailed. We waited in the restaurant for quite some time for our order to be taken and the menu was very limited. We have stayed at most luxurious hotels, Amangiri needs better management.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
26  Thank 101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We had waited two years for the opening of Amangiri, which we had heard about while at one of our stays at the Amanyara. We waited until the summer hoping some of the "kinks" had been worked out. Unfortunately, our hopes did not meet our expectations. We were not greeted in the manner we were accustomed to from our travels to other Aman resorts. Some guests were; we were not. That and the picturesque views aside, it was like arriving anywhere else. Our five days were a little to long.

I had to inquire about our day trips, which I booked through the resort at least 1 1/2 months before our arrival. There was no itinerary in the rooms and nothing was said when we checked in. The front desk staff had to track it down. The excursions were ok. The slot Hummer tour with Jason was great as was the trip on Lake Powel with Rusty. The senior staff at the desk never followed up with us for any feedback on the excursions, one of which turned out, to our surprise, to be unsafe. When our main excursion hot air ballooning was canceled we were told, the supplier did not feel like going because it was a Saturday,:the day the hotel had chosen to book the excursion for us. On our departure we were told by the resort, that had they known we had booked it so far in advance they would have made sure it happened for us (?)

The food was good and there were several of the local staff in the dining area, Mike Ashley, Anita, Fran (pastry chef) and the chef's that made our dinners memorable.

We had 2 rooms, with Mesa' views, one with a pool and one without. Housekeeping was very good. The spa was nice but nothing exceptional for us.

We did not realize how far away from everything Amangiri is. The travel times Amangiri lists as the time to travel to the parks is about right and it may take a little longer to get to some of the places.

While there you must see Horseshoe Bend. Go into Page and have lunch. Check out the photos by the local photographer in Amangiri's gift shop. He has got an eye for the area.

If you go to Amangiri with no expectations you will be swept away by the stunning views through the breezeways and the casual atmosphere of the Amangiri. A lot of the staff will be like most other resorts in the US. If you have waited in anticipation, as we did, you might be disappointed. The General Manager and senior staff John and Jade, fell short of making our stay feel special.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank 3browndogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

one of the most beautiful places we've ever visited. their respect for the desert landscape and their attention to every detail of their aesthetic was amazing. food was excellent, sevice impeccable and the twice daily hikes led by knowledgable guides meant that we never had to leave this beautiful property. clientele and staff were international which also added to the experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulu072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

The Amangiri is one of the most beautiful properties we ever had the pleasure to enjoy. The rooms, public areas, and the exterior design are perfect and maximize on the what God and nature created around this property. The setting of this resort is spectacular--so much that one cannot capture it with a camera. The buildings fit right into the topography and our dyed in a color to match it. Wow. Walking through the property is like walking through a painting of the desert southwest.

We found the food to range from delectable to in only one instance inedible ( really salty and fishy scallops) . Most of the food wad good to excellent . The restaurant at the Amangiri has a good chance at becoming the best restaurant in southern Utah at some point although we think that such honor currently goes to the "Rocking V" about an hour or so west in Kanab, Utah.

We experienced a real range in the quality of service but the service glitches were small kinks. The glitches we encountered were probably a result of the resort being fairly new. Positives included 1) a very nice welcome, 2) very attentive poolside service, and 3) a friendly staff that was well-meaning, eager to help, and which comprised a neat mix of folks from southern Utah and from other parts of the U.S. ( and the world). Negatives in service included 1) sitting at the gate for about 5 minutes after our first call to be permitted access to the property and having to call a second time before the gate opened; 2) asking whether we could have a brush to brush off our muddy hiking boots and never hearing back ( heck, most Amanresorts would probably just take your boots and brush them off although we were willing to do it ourselves); 3) negative comments from staff there about our hometown ( enough with the Cleveland jokes already); 4) malfunctioning of one of our shower heads; 5) failure to refill the shower gel container in our suite; 6) confusion at checkout concerning which bags were ours ; and 7) having to check out for a second time the morning of departure after having asked the night before that our dinner and following morning's breakfast charges be be placed on what we thought was the final bill that we signed that night. These little glitches added together illustrated to us that there is still some work to be done in the service department. All in all, these service glitches are not a reason to stay away from Amangiri and with Amanresorts' track record, the service will improve.

I want to commend John, who was ever present around the pool and dining area for his fine service. He is a star.

We did not partake in any of the organized or guided activities since we are pretty experienced outdoor people and prefer independent activities but we we enjoyed walking the beautiful trails around the resort. As indicated earlier, the setting is magnificient.

In summary, despite the fact that we experienced some kinks in service here and there, Amangiri is still a very, very special place and is sure to become even better. We recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BigBrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

A perfect blend of austere modern design in the desert. The pool built around a rock outcropping is really special. Just an amazing design for a desert setting. I've found other Aman resorts cold but this one works perfectly in its setting. I thought the food was great unlike some other reviewers below. The service is a little more relaxed than other resorts but I enjoyed the friendly nature of the servers/staff. Many seamed to be from the local area (warned me about watching for rattlesnakes on my hike :) ). This really is a special place. I agreed with the one review though that some of the bigger public spaces didn't work as well as the pool and spa area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews