We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected for a Super 8 - except the breakfast”
Review of Super 8 Blanding

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Blanding
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Blanding
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We usually stay at motels that are one notch up from the Motel 6, Super 8, Regal 12 class. However, as Blanding UT is not a well traveled stopping point the offerings were somewhat sparse so we opted for this Super 8.

It was better than we anticipated. Maybe that's because we hadn't tried this chain for several decades or this one is just a better iteration of the chain. Either way, except for the breakfast, it was better than expected.

The check-in was good, WiFi was very good, We had a single king room that was quite large. The room had TV, Fridge, Coffee Maker, etc. as is common nowadays. There was no desk, but there was a small table with a couple of chairs. The toilet, tub/shower area was a bit on the small side.

The breakfast though was not very good. The only hot thing was cook yourself waffles. No eggs or bacon or sausage. Another thing that was quite annoying in this day and age was the ONLY dry cereal they had was full of added sugar (Frosted Flakes, Raisin Bran, Froot Loops, Frosted Mini Wheats). Now, I know that many places in the country are not as health conscious as others, and that kids love this stuff so I expect to see some "sugar" cereals but I also expect some non-sugar ones as well for those who prefer to not eat all that refined sugar. Perhaps, Corn Flakes, Cheerios, non frosted shredded wheat, etc.). There was a very small selection of breads for toast and they had an assortment of muffins-pastries but not much variety and the Danish's were prepackaged store bought - not fresh. There was virtually no fruit, etc. Anyway, this knocked my rating down from Very Good to just Average and I was toying with Poor due to the breakfast. But, the room and all else was very good so I left the rating at Average.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Califdan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanna V, Marketing Representative at Super 8 Blanding, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our motel. We are always working towards upgrading and improving and your feedback is very much valued and appreciated. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Bryanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Blanding
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bryanna V, Marketing Representatives at Super 8 Blanding, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We had stayed at this motel before some years ago when we were in Blanding, and we usually go to a Super 8 when travelling, or another one of the Wyndham Group … but DEFINITELY never to this one again! Well, the room was fine, what you expect at a Super 8. Comfortable bed, large TV set, fridge and microwave, large chest of drawer, spacious bathroom, all very clean and in order … but do NOT go to this motel if you need to work on your laptop. One of Super 8’s 8 selling points is free high-speed internet in your room – a condition this motel does NOT meet – at all!
What was more when we first walked into our room, Even though outside it was barely warm, the AC was blasting an arctic freeze at us, creating an atmosphere where only polar bears or Adelaide penguins could have felt at home. Any exothermic creature would have gone into instant freeze. To make this more habitable and survivable for us we had to turn the heater on full blast for a bit.
Neither our two tablets nor my notebook managed to get online – so it was not an individual device that caused the problem, it was the system itself. The system never asked for a password and then just came back with an error.
When I went to the lobby to inquire, the motel’s guest computer was free, so I used that. It worked, sorta, but the connection was weak and slow … just plain bad. During the short time I was sitting there I heard the lady at front desk field several phone calls from guests in other rooms inquiring about this problem. All she did was refer them to some generic Super 8 phone number – I doubt this did any good. This was particularly annoying as I had some work to do I needed the Internet for.
The breakfast room is fairly large and there is a nice choice of food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esty666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanna V, Marketing Representative at Super 8 Blanding, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We apologize for the inconvenience, you endured during your stay here with us in Blanding, Utah. We were notified about the problem and immediately worked to fix it. We are glad you enjoyed our continental breakfast and the cleanliness of the room. We hope you choose us for future lodging needs.

Sincerely,

Bryanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This must be a fairly new motel. The room was spacious, very clean, wonderful bed and pillows. My husband uses a CPAP machine, at night, and it's, usually, hard to find a close electrical outlet. This motel had 2 bedside tables, outlets by each, and outlets on the other two walls. We could charge our cell and computer without using the extension cord. Also, we had a very quiet night. The breakfast was great and they, even, had yogurt. The internet worked well. We will, definitely, stay here the next time we are in Blanding.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanBurenZgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanna V, Corporate Office Manager at Super 8 Blanding, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear VanBurenZGirl,

Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad to hear that your stay was pleasant. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us, and we hope to see you on your next visit to Blanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Probably your best choice for lodging in Blanding. There's not much else to choose from in this remote location. If you don't mind traveling about 70 miles south, it is much less expensive than staying in Moab when visiting this part of the country.

The facility is very clean and the beds are comfortable. All the amenities you really need for a short stay are here. It is very good for what you would want or expect during a one-night stay in this town. The service was great. Carmelita at the front desk was very friendly, and did a great job checking us into the hotel. The only major complaint I have is the very slow wi-fi. Be prepared for a challenge at best with this issue. Also the refrigerator was non-functional.

Like I said...not much to choose from in Blanding, but this seems like the best option. It's quiet, friendly, and clean. The room and facility seems to have been recently renovated, and does not appear a bit run down or shabby. A word of advice as well about dining in Blanding...you have very few options...so be prepared to get what you can. Yes, I would stay here again if I ever passed this way again.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor would offer a much more quiet stay.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCosmicTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanna V, Corporate Office Manager at Super 8 Blanding, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear TheCosmicTraveler,

Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad to hear that your stay with us was pleasant and enjoyable. We hope that you decide to choose us on your next visit to Blanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

During our holiday road trip from Denver to San Francisco we staid in this hotel. In such a small town as Blanding, this hotel is all what you want. The great and clean rooms and the familiar SuperStart breakfast. Also has this hotel a great service. While we were planning our trip, there went something wrong with the reservation. There were 4 rooms booked, while we needed only 2. We must say that they solved it perfectly! Super 8 Blanding is really super.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiMa208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanna V, Corporate Office Manager at Super 8 Blanding, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear LiMa208,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope that you will choose us during your next visit to Blanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stopped here coming from the Grand Canyon on our way to Moab. Not a bad place to stay-beds were comfortable, and the breakfast had waffles, cereal, apples, yogurt, toast, bagels, english muffins, juice, coffee. Walls were very thin, could hear everything our neighbors next door were saying. Internet didn't really work well even for loading normal pages. Didn't look like there were many other places around to stay, so I think you're paying mainly for location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blanding
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn &Suites
Rodeway Inn &Suites
#4 of 7 in Blanding
268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stone Lizard Lodging
Stone Lizard Lodging
#1 of 7 in Blanding
498 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#7 of 7 in Blanding
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Four Corners Inn
Four Corners Inn
#5 of 7 in Blanding
170 reviews
23.7 mi away
Desert Rose Inn & Cabins
23.4 mi away
Kokopelli Inn
Kokopelli Inn
#3 of 3 in Bluff
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Blanding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Blanding

Address: 755 S Main St, Blanding, UT 84511-3925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Blanding
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Blanding
Price Range: £63 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Blanding 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Blanding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanding Super 8 Hotel Blanding
Super Eight Blanding
Blanding Super Eight
Super 8 Blanding Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing