We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Top Class Home with Amazing Views”
Front porch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front porch
View View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Front porch
View
View
View
Parking
Front Porch
Living room
Kitchen
bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Living room
Living room
Entrance
Bar
Kitchen
Bedroom
Washer/Dryer
Shower
Bedroom
Bedroom
Half-Bathroom
Bedroom
NEW 3D Virtual Tour! See Below
Floor plan (Cabin is one level)
(National Park Service Photo)
(National Park Service Photo)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Blanding, Utah

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
greatspac...
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
“Top Class Home with Amazing Views”
Reviewed 4 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Perfection! When you retreat to this great home you'll relax and enjoy amazing views from your private deck east to Mesa Verde and west to the Henry Mountains. The floor plan is spacious and attractive. We easily explored the Bears Ears area from Valley of the Gods to Natural Bridges and took in a day of golf at nearby Monticello. We'd love to visit again!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smkstl
St. Louis, MO
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Home Base for Exploring This Spectacular Landscape”
Reviewed 6 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

My wife and I stayed at Mustang Mesa for three nights in late April - a very comfortable 3-bedroom cabin in a beautiful setting just outside Blanding, Utah. The location is excellent for day-tripping in any direction, or to just hang out and enjoy quiet solitude, wide vistas and brilliant night skies. The cabin is well-appointed with great passive solar design and an in-floor heating system, wrap-around deck, beautiful great room, and a well-provisioned kitchen. It's also off-grid, with a solar array and propane generator tucked away down the hill, a feature we appreciated. If the generator ever came on during our stay (doubtful), we never heard it.

When we return again to Southeast Utah, this property will be the yardstick we use to evaluate alternatives - a highly recommended choice!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2018
Thank you so much for your stay. This truly is a gem of a cabin!
How many of these were you able to visit during your stay?
*Arches National Park
*Canyonlands National Park South Entrance
*Monticello Temple
*Bluff Fort
*Hideout Golf Course
*Ancient American Ruin Sites
*Edge of the Cedars State Park and Ruins
*Newspaper Rock
*Wilson Arch
*Mule Canyon Ruins
*Grand Gulch Hiking and Ruins
*Hovenweep Ruins State Park
*Valley of the Gods
*Bears Ears National Monument Site
*Needles Overlook of Canyonlands
*Natural Bridges National Monument
*Goosenecks Overlook State Park
*45 Major Trailheads, over 5000 miles of roads and trails
*Mesa Verde Ruins
*Monument Valley National Park
*John Wayne Movie Museum
*Four Corners National Monument
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahrenmik
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Far Away From it All, But Worth It”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Mustang Cabin is really a house with a large deck all round the place. It is new, really nice, and has a full kitchen, laundry and 3 bedrooms. It is far away from the national parks and monuments, but if you don't mind driving, it is a great place to rent. It is very isolated, and if that appeals to you - this is the place for you.
Plus, some of the parks we visited were north of the cabin, and some were south - so it worked out ok.
We rented it for 9 days, and were very happy with it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the place was new and well stocked
Liked least: it is quite far away from the national parks and monuments
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Thank you for enjoying this authentic log cabin with us. It is truly a paradise of solitude and beauty, with incredible views! Hurry back if you can. Thanks, Jerry and Tina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDm452
Grootschermer, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Spacious, great deck, would love TV in living room”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This house is very spacious with a lot of natural light - I love that.
Kitchen had most of what you might need, WiFi worked perfectly.

What I loved most about the house was the wrap around deck.
When I was here the weather was not very good. There was only one day with sunshine.
But on that day the wind was very strong.
Because the deck is all around the house *and* very wide you can always find a spot where you can enjoy the sunshine without being too bothered by the wind.
In this case that was the North deck.
I loved that!

One thing I really appreciated: when I checked in the TV was not working properly.
I called the manager's cell phone that went to voice mail.
She called me back within 30 minutes(!) and told me her husband could be with me an hour later - would that be convenient?
Her husband was there exactly at the time promised, he fixed the TV (someone had changed the settings) and he was very, very nice.

There is just one thing I would have liked differently.
The TV is situated in one of the bedrooms. There is no TV in the (very large and beautiful) living room.
Me, I usually watch TV when doing something else as well - like cooking or checking out information about where to go on a trip.
I like to be able to spread out a map while having the news channel on in the background.

Here it was: either watch TV or do something else.
There are worse things! but that explains the 4 stars instead of the 5 that this house could easily deserve.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Hi,
We had the TV in the living room and someone wanted it in the bedroom. We will now have a TV for both locations. Thank you for the heads up and for enjoying this incredible place with us! How did you like being completely alone?
Jerry and Tina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Disap0int...
Frisco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disapointed”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The website indicated that there were two bathrooms. When we arrived, there was only one bathroom and a room with a toilet and sink. With seven people, we were constantly delayed in our plans waiting on bathsand restroom time. There was a room upstairs that was locked and not available for our use, and I can only assume there was a bathroom in that area we were not allowed to use. Nothing was ever communicated that the entire house would not be available. There was a basement that was locked with no access, but we could hear cats being kept down there because they were houling at the door every morning. This was very disappointing since we had two of our family that is allergic to cats and they were constantly dealing with puffy eyes and sneezing. Not to mention, there was cat hair on all the furniture in the living space were we were staying. No pets are allowed, but there were pets in the house. How do you figure that???

WIFI did not work, satellite system stopped working half way through our stay.

This is a very nice house/cabin and we really enjoyed our stay, but with all of these things we had to deal with that were not disclosed we will look somewhere else the next time we need to rent in this area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and scenery...very beautiful!
Liked least: WIFI was not working, satellite system stopped working in the middle of our stay.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2013
We're very sorry to hear that you had a un-happy experience. We are available 24 hours a day by phone and email, yet we never received a single email or call indicating that there were any problems... Had we been notified that there were issues with the wi-fi, satellite, cats, etc. we would have acted promptly, as we always do, to fix the problem! I would have come to the house personally - but how could I know if nobody said anything?
The upstairs and downstairs of the house are not accessible to guests. That's why there was no description of them or photos of those areas. I will clarify this better in the description for future guests.
The description says very clearly that there are 1 1/2 bathrooms - so we're sorry it was difficult, but the description was not misleading!
Again - we're sorry for the problems you encountered. We'll do our best to correct them for future guests. And future guests please note: anytime you're staying in a vacation rental, if you encounter problems, please contact the owner/manager immediately. Only after doing your part to allow them to fix the problem should you leave a negative review.
Thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EthosPath...
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: La struttura in sé stessa: è bellissima
Liked least: La lavastoviglie non funzionante!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Thank you for your stay,it is an amazing place!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing