We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“run, don't walk away...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prospector Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Blanding
Reviewed 14 May 2013

unless you prepaid like we did. this place has no redeeming value whatsoever. poorly run, dirty, run down and ill maintained. good lesson for: you get what you pay for, except @ $ 65.00 this was a rip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoobsAspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanna V, Marketing Representative at Prospector Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We are unable to redeem value due to our policy. We value our guest and keep our property very clean. We hope to see you on your future trip to Blanding, Utah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

The check in woman was very nice and gave ud a list of local eats. Make sure you eat before 9 pm or everithing will be closed. Spotless room and less than 1 hour from monument valley. Also convenient to Moab and Lake Powell. Loved it and will defenitely be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanna V, Marketing Representative at Prospector Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to review us. We are pleased to know of your pleasant stay with us. We strive to deliver a comfortable and wonderful experience to every costumer that walks through our doors. If there is anything more the staff or myself can do to make your stay more pleasant please do not hesitate to ask. Once again thank you and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Bryanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I booked this motel online, when we reached there no one was at the front, no sign nothing. I waited for an hour than I left. I was very upset that I didn't get a room that I paid for. Terrible customer service. I DON'T recommend this dump to anyone. I never got my $ back and I ended up staying at Blue Mountain which has staff at the front all the time.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
Thank rio r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We booked this motel online through Priceline. We were looking for a cheap place to stay for one night ($55+tax) near Monument Valley on a motocycle trip. We arrived into the place at 17.30 pm. Front desk clerk was out, paper on the door said "back in 15 minutes", 20 minutes it was, fine for me (same clerk still was in next morning, 24/hrs is too much without rest, 20 mins is fine to me.)

Room was clean and so was the bathroom, towels were fresh, the bed slept VERY well for the price, even the TV worked, as did coffee machine and the (free) internet. I rated the Prospector Motor Lodge 3-star, this is a budget accomodation, where people try to make your stay as good as it can be. This was a very nice clean room including free internet for a very low price, there's a lot of (more expensive) hotels that make you pay for a worse internet connection still. The service was good, and the tip for a good meal was very nice and clear also. We were happy to find a place that cheap IN THE WEEKEND near to Monument Valley, where as it was possible to have a nice meal on walking distance too. (Fattboyz grill)
For the ones that want a pool, free access to a near pool is offered (did not use this time)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sto7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

black mold and mildew in the shower (use some bleach, people!), bare lightbulb in the ceiling fixture, the one lamp in the room was broken, the mattress was old and hard like a rock, and was inside a bag so we couldn't check it for bed bugs, the wifi doesn't reach the rooms, the curtains are opaque so the lights come in the room, we kept our flip flops on so we didn't have to walk on the carpet

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Apart from the wooden coating of the walls, this place has no specific charm and could use a little bit of improvement. However, it's OK for a night. Finding a place to eat can be a problem, it seems - most places were closed at nine in the evening, so we ended up in Subway ;-( ...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnapurga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

After collecting the key from the hotel next door, we got into our room. The whole place needs demolition and rebuild. Some ancilliary room doors stand open and are full of junk. The rooms were big enough, but were carpeted with really thick pile carpets. You could sense the wildlife in there!
Just not well maintained. Some serious investment is needed here.
In the morning, we just ran for it without breakfast. We actually considered not staying there, but we had booked and decided to stay. We slept fully clothed!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 58RichardM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blanding
0.6 mi away
Four Corners Inn
Four Corners Inn
#5 of 7 in Blanding
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn &Suites
Rodeway Inn &Suites
#4 of 7 in Blanding
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stone Lizard Lodging
Stone Lizard Lodging
#1 of 7 in Blanding
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#7 of 7 in Blanding
150 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Monticello Inn
The Monticello Inn
#3 of 6 in Monticello
307 reviews
23.9 mi away
Desert Rose Inn & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospector Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospector Motor Lodge

Address: 591 S Main St, Blanding, UT 84511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Blanding
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Blanding
Price Range: £50 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Prospector Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Prospector Motor Lodge, a Blanding hotel close to the airport, Monument Valley and Lake Powell, is ideally located near many popular area attractions, including Edge of the Cedars State Park many famous Utah parks and monuments are an easy drive away from this Blanding, UT hotel, including Canyonlands National Monument, Natural Bridges National Monument Hovenweep National Monument, The College of Eastern Utah-San Juan Campus and Cedar Mesa Pottery are located near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prospector Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prospector Motor Lodge Blanding, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing