We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a small town....its Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stone Lizard Lodging
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Blanding
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I typically do not stay in Blanding when working in the area, but found myself booked out of Bluff; this little remodeled lodge was pleasant, quite and fun. I'm not a fan of the everyday chain, I found this unique and comfortable. The only thing that was a bit strange was the water, it was hot and cold and hard to keep consistent. Note this is an old remodeled lodge so there may be some funcky plumbing.

I would stay here again!

Room Tip: I stayed in a King room, small if you have lots of bags, not a ton of space on the desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M840435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were relieved to get off the dusty trail and check in to this gem of a motel. The owners, Craig and Kathy, are knowledgable about the area and helpful when asked for info on activities and hiking. We were traveling with another couple and both of our rooms were very clean and comfortable, with plenty of amenities. It was a pleasure to sit outside in the evening and chat with other guests. This is a very friendly setting. We liked it so well that we stayed an additional night, canceling our plans at another location.

Room Tip: The room with a kitchenette was what I would consider a full kitchen. Very nice for meals in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiteyzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed one night on the way from Canyonlands National Park to Monument valley.
Comfortable, clean room with fridge, microwave and coffeemaker. Even found hairdryer hidden in the drawer. Internet was slow to connect but after connection was established went smoothly. Bought groceries in Moab City Market, so didn't have to look for restaurant to have dinner and breakfast next morning. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable if a bit cramped. The wifi worked most of the time, but we would occasionally drop off and have to reconnect to get access again. We unplugged the fridge, microwave, etc since they were all connected to the same power strip and the fridge was noisy enough to keep us up at night. The most frustrating thing, though, was the bathroom/shower. The bathroom was pretty tiny with a stall shower built into the wall. The plastic handle had been broken, there was some black mold (from lack of proper ventilation), and the shower would switch from freezing to hot whenever anyone else in the building used the water.

There's no breakfast, so the price seems a bit high for just a bare-bones motel in the middle of nowhere, but it was adequate for a one night stopover between destinations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoneLizard, Owner at Stone Lizard Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

I am so sorry your stay was not as enjoyable as we would have liked. We thank you for your input and have taken steps to alleviate the problems you have experienced. We have upgraded our wifi to a mesh topology network so it covers every corner of the property. In addition to that we have merged two separate ISP together to effectively double our bandwidth and prevent outages.

Because the motel is over 60 years old, we have been systematically replacing all the water lines with state of the art PEX lines and just this last week installed a new high flow hot line which we hope will alleviate the hot/cold temperature changes.

Thank you for your feedback, it helps us re-evaulate priorities, and makes us aware of issues that we may have overlooked. We strive to give our guests 100% satisfaction, and appreciate all the positive encouragement we have received.

Craig and Kathy Simpson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited the Cedar Mesa area and stayed one night at Stone Lizard Lodging. Next time I would stay longer and use it for a multi-day base camp.
The management and staff are very friendly and welcoming, and have great advice about off-the-beaten-path sights. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and quiet. The hotel grounds are really nice, with shade trees, planters, and well kept grounds. The hotel is in an old motor lodge, so of course the rooms/fixtures are dated, but totally clean and adequate.
Now for the five star kicker: It is in Blanding. Have you been to Blanding or Monticello? This place is an absolute oasis of charm and hospitality. The rest of that area could take some lessons about courtesy and communication towards outsiders. As long as they don't become Moab in the process.
If only Stone Lizard had a little cafe.....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballardbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Blanding, Utah, is a very small town which may explain the high price for just adequate accommodations. This place is pleasant enough, a friendly welcome, clean rooms and comfortable bed. However, there is no electric outlet in the bathroom and the hairdryer does not have a long enough cord to reach a mirror. The shower is small and very slippery with the water handle very low on the wall, making it hard to adjust the temperature when the water suddenly turns very hot or very cold in the midst of your shower. There is wifi but no table or desk in the room. If we return to Blanding, we will try another place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayentaGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Blanding is a fairly isolated little town, so I was not expecting much, and the approach to Stone Lizard Lodging didn't promise anything but the basics. HOWEVER ... credit to the relatively new owners in turning the place around. Hospitable welcome, very good refurbished double room, with decent bathroom and kitchenette. The overnight cost did not include breakfast, but the owner had recognised that breakfast on Easter Sunday in Blanding was not going to be easy so had laid out some melon, grapes, muffins, and decent coffee from the rooms. Convenient location for the Natural Bridges NM about 30 miles away. I would stay again, which is a much better outcome than my initial impressions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKDiver2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blanding
24.4 mi away
Desert Rose Inn & Cabins
19.1 mi away
Inn at the Canyons
Inn at the Canyons
#1 of 6 in Monticello
485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn &Suites
Rodeway Inn &Suites
#4 of 7 in Blanding
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Corners Inn
Four Corners Inn
#5 of 7 in Blanding
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#7 of 7 in Blanding
152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Blanding
Super 8 Blanding
#2 of 7 in Blanding
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Lizard Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Lizard Lodging

Address: 88 W Center St, Blanding, UT 84511-3704 (Formerly Blanding Sunset Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Blanding
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Blanding
Price Range: £61 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stone Lizard Lodging 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the late 1940's, and Blanding's first motel, our quiet, restful, home-like adobe lodging is located in the heart of downtown Blanding. Lodging consists of seventeen smoke-free cozy guestrooms each furnished with smart HD flat-screen televisions, direct tv satellite, free high speed wifi, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator. Our family suite boasts three bedrooms, a spacious living room, dining room and kitchen equipped with a stove-double/oven and dishwasher;sleeps 7 adults comfortably. One two-bedroom executive suite with full kitchen and living room is perfect for four. We offer one queen kitchenette, a compact home away from home. We do have a very limited number of dog-friendly rooms. Situated in the midst of the four corners are Canyonlands, Arches, Mesa Verde, Natural Bridges, Goosenecks, Lake Powell and Monument Valley within a two hour drive from Blanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stone Lizard Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Lizard Lodging Blanding, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing